We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elk Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Lodge at Mountaineer Square(Crested Butte)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Elevation Hotel & Spa(Crested Butte)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Lodge Crested Butte(Crested Butte)(Great Value!)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Gunnison)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A-B-C Motel(Gunnison)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
184
58
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
58
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streethistoric buildingtwo blocksegg casserolein townthird floorhot tubwalked everywheregranolaevery morningfresh fruitbreakfast was deliciousblueberry pancakesplace to stayfellow guestsbed was comfortablecruiser bikes
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Just returned from our third winter visit to Crested Butte and stay at Elk Mountain Lodge in the past three years. EML is PERFECT for couples and families alike. Its attractive attributes include...
> EXCELLENT VALUE
> UNIQUE, COMFORTABLE, CLEAN AND WELL-MAINTAINED ACCOMODATIONS
> FRIENDLY, PERSONAL SERVICE FROM THE PROPRIETOR
> CONVENIENT LOCATION
If you appreciate the charm and advantages of an historic western inn over cookie cutter condo rentals and crowded "slope-side" hotels, Elk Mountain Lodge is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BornToTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at the Elk Mountain and loved every minute of it! It is not even 2 blocks from the main street, so it's convenient to everything. They have off-street parking and it is very easy to find.

From the moment we arrived the staff was courteous, friendly, and exceptionally flexible and helpful. They went out of their way to suggest trails, restaurants, and excursions. Aarin made a fantastic breakfast each morning, complete with great espresso. Mike and Nina (the manager and receptionist) are both so helpful and engaging.

The Elk Mountain Lodge itself is very nice. We had a room on the third floor with a mountain view and balcony that came equipped with a queen bed, cable, and just the right amount of furniture to be comfortable. It felt very private. The hot tub was immaculate and private (below the main level and not outdoors so we weren't freezing!) The lodge has plenty of great breafast seating near the windows facing the mountains, and there are a few "living rooms" to lunge in, one with Internet access. They also have a cute little bar that is well-stocked and well-priced.

Since we were there mid-season (too late to bike, too early to ski), we just enjoyed wandering around the area and the cute town. We got in a few hikes as well. It was so relaxing!

I highly recommend this B & B- I am already dreaming of another visit!

Stayed: November 2007
Thank AnneyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2007

PatnLarry, England
Stayed four nights in probably the best room in the hotel (over the hotel sign, with a balcony overlooking the town and with views of the mountains is all directions).
Staff were without exception effortlessly friendly.
The buffet breakfast in the sunshine of an enclosed "patio" was a delight.
Within minutes walking of the wonderfuly picturesque main street and of misty morning meadows overlooked by snow dusted mountains.
If you are going to Crested Butte (and you should, particularly in the golden light of fall) then you must stay in the rustic ambience (with all modern conveniences!) of the Elk Mountain Lodge to fully experience to flavour of this lovely little mountain town.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatnLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

The Elk Mountain Lodge was simply a great place to visit. Located just off the main street running through historic Crested Butte, the Lodge offered easy access to trails, dining, shopping and more.

Mike and his staff were extremely friendly from the moment we entered the Lodge. From the useful information about local trails, to suggestions for the best restaurants in the area, they were knowledgable and sincere.

We enjoyed the comfortable rooms, took advantage of the on-site hot tub, sipped hot tea next to the fireplace and borrowed the Lodge's townie bikes to cruise through the streets. The Lodge was warm and inviting on the cool, crisp days.

I would highly recommend the Elk Mountain Lodge while visiting Crested Butte.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

The Elk Mountain Lodge is a charming, relaxed, and comfortable bed and breakfast/inn. I visit Crested Butte for business and pleasure often and always stay at the Elk Mountain Lodge. The owners are incredibly friendly and accomodating, and always take the time to say hello and inquire how one is doing. It is a great spot to enjoy breakfast in the sun in the morning or sit by the fireside at night with a glass of wine after a long day of recreating. The historical nature of the building and decor adds to the quintessential Crested Butte experience.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SanJuanMountainGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews