We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elk Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Elk Mountain Lodge is a great outfit. The owners are mellow and fun - excellent sources for local info on food and whatever outdoor recreating you're into. The location allows you good views, walkability to the core of the historic town, and access to trails. Free townie bikes get you anywhere you can go in town. Can't beat it.

Rooms and bedding are good. The common areas are a great place to hang out for conversation or a drink, and the breakfasts are tasty. The spaces are warm and historic - intimate in scale.

I've stayed here for work several times, and brought my family as well. It's great on all fronts. These guys have been very accommodating - exactly the way you want to be taken care of while in CB. They really represent the local character.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony...or not. They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    56
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
127
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We only stayed one night, but it was delightful. Our son suggested we stop in Crested Butte on our way from Durango to Denver. It was a little out of the way, but worth it. The accommodations were lovely, clean & the bed was comfy. Reception desk was very helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Within walking distance of downtown. We were very happy we made the stop.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyons, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Even this being the 'shoulder or mud' season, the hotel was clean, my room ready and inviting, and the breakfast very good. The main level has many places to sit and read, gather and chat, or find a corner all to yourself. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: I chose the 3rd floor room with a view. If you are tall, you may want to get a more traditional room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apachesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had a lovely weekend in Crested Butte and enjoyed very much our stay at Elk Mountain Lodge. We were on the third floor and had a great view from the balcony. The room was clean, warm and very adequate. Breakfast was plentiful with many options to choose from. The staff was friendly and provided helpful information regarding local trails for skiing and snowshoeing. Restaurants were a short two block walk away. Great location and unique lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Elk mountain Lodge is a perfect spot for enjoying what Crested Butte has to offer without breaking the bank. The lobby is large and filled with antiques and co for table furniture to have friends stop in for a glass of wine or a beer before dinner. The rooms are simple yet fresh and clean. The breakfast was served in a warm inviting dining room and the tables were located in a bright, cheerful sun porch. the food was ample - an egg dish, fruit , cereals and tasty breads and homemade jams- and offered espresso drinks for a little extra cost. We didn't use the hot tub but towels were provided and it looked clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckleUpGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We needed to be in CB for the weekend and our regular cabin was booked, so we decided to stay Elk Mountain Lodge for a couple of nights. Built in 1919 by Colorado Fuel & Iron as company hotel and boarding house for local miners, this structure was sold in the early 1950s to private owners. Passed through several more proprietors, the current owner has been improving the property steadily and significantly since 2000, and it shows. Lots of great details combine to make this a very pleasant and unique place to stay. Love the John Muir quote carved into the fireplace mantle.

One of the best things about CB is the laid-back attitude of most residents. Brian at EML epitomizes the folks who live and work here. Clerk, bartender, breakfast chef, and all-around chill host, Brian makes every guest feel at home. Co-worker Dara took over these duties the next day, and was equally friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet drew everyone into the dining areas with a friendly chatter among Texans, New Yorkers and Coloradans alike. Skiers soon departed for the mountain, and those of us left easily found a quiet nook to read and enjoy another cup of coffee.

The first morning's included breakfast was simple and delicious featuring blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit & juice, hard boiled eggs, grilled ham, bagels & muffins, cereal, yogurt and of course bottomless coffee. Our second morning featured a delicious Southwest egg, cheese and black bean casserole in place of the pancakes & ham. Breakfast is available from 7:30 to 9:00 each morning.

Our room seemed a bit tiny, probably because it sits over the entrance stairs. The queen bed was very comfortable, with a varied selection of pillows. This part of town is pretty quiet, but you can definitely hear other roomers thumping around during the night and early morning. Modern hotels are constructed with sound dampening in mind, but we're talking about a hundred-year-old wooden building here, so we can cut it some slack. Apparently ghost stories are associated with our room (#11) but there was no spectral evidence during our stay. The occasional ticking sound we attributed to the baseboard heater. The bathrooms have been updated and ours was just fine.

Free WiFi was strong throughout the hotel.

The lodge is on the corner of Gothic and Second, only two blocks from main drag Elk Ave. and the free town shuttle stop, which takes you up to the mountain ski area. BTW, Crested Butte ski area offers the best all-around skiing terrain in Colorado, in our opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmitchco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

We spent there 6 days. Our trip without car was easy, Alpine Express took us from Gunnison airport to door step of the Lodge. We had a first floor room, on the back side of lodge which slopes, so it was like being on second floor almost. Views on the mountain Crested Butte and more was fascinating every morning. Room was very cozy, but enough for 2 people tired after skiing all day. Bed was very comfortable, nice warm bedding, heater worked great. The only negative I would say it was, tv was on upper shelf right beneath ceiling, so only way to watch it you had to lay completely down to look up. So, may be in the next upgrade flat screen mounted on the wall would be nice.
Location was great 2 blocks of the main drag ( Elk Ave) and for us walking distance to Nordic center was perfect.
Breakfast every day was a little different, full warm dish served along with cold fixings( cereal, baggles, home made preserves etc...). Wonderful service, thank you Mike and Valerie for being great hosts. We will return for more skies next year.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozenaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Property: Elk Mountain Lodge
Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing