We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“didn't even make it there....”
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elk Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“didn't even make it there....”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

in trying to make a reservation i was so turned off, we went elsewhere even though friends were staying there. i spoke with a gentleman over the phone after researching online - perhaps someone was having a bad day, but felt like it didn't need to be shifted to anyone else. then again maybe it wasn't meant to be but we never got the chance to see.

the person answering the phone and working the front desk is the frontline of a business and the first impression anyone will have - hope they realize this.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tartufo10013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolan72, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
I'm sorry your phone experience did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately we have policies that do not accommodate your needs. Our lodge is Historic and we do not allow 4 young kids in one room out of courtesy to our other guests. Our rooms only hold 2 people and it's more of an adult atmosphere at the Elk Mtn Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    56
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
128
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our second stay at the lodge solidified why we love this town. The owner and staff make you feel like home. The breakfast is excellent as the food is always fresh and delicious. We loved that the breakfast time was flexible and we did not have to be at a table for a set eating time. For the skiers out there, they have a locker on the mountain for ski and boot storage. There were always fresh cookies or cake in the lobby for those wanting a snack during the day.

The location is perfect. It's a short walk to the town and bus stop. The views of the mountain from the room were spectacular. The rooms were clean.

Hopefully this will sum up our stay here...the staff and owner spent time to get tot know us and inform us of all the great things this town has to offer. We even spent a great happy hour with the owner at their bar. What a great evening!

Thanks for a great trip. We can't wait to return to Elk Mountain Lodge and CB SOON!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a recent visit. Originally booking through hotwires low rate guarantee rooms so we didn't know whet the hotel was until after we paid. We were very happy with the location we got. The rooms were cute, beds comfy, and overall even with a packed house it was quiet. I suggest you request a room that isn't on the top sides because the ceiling are sloped and my husband hit his head numerous times. The staff set the front desk was friendly, and this location was so close to everything, not to mention free parking in a hard to find parking time of year! Great value for the money, definitely would stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ltr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We've been coming to this treasured B&B for the past 10 years during the winter season.
The rooms are comfortable and very clean. We always select the larger rooms to have more space. The breakfast is very good and you'll never go hungry.
The staff is the most teasured aspect of our stay. Coming back yearly has enabled us get to know the staff well and enjoy having conversations with them to learn more about the lifestyle of Crested Butte. This great little town tucked away in the mountains offers a unique experience unlike all the slick ski resorts in Colorado. The Lodge is located in the town only 2 blocks from the main street where there are many great restaurants and the free shuttles to the ski mountain about 10 minutes away.
The Elk Mountain Lodge feels like our home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank RKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere!
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The rooms are nice, they're warm, nice bed and descent bathroom in what appears to be some sort of early 1900s hotel? Wooden inside, very old school. The breakfast is plentiful, they make snacks and coffee/tea throughout the day. The hot tub seems to never be used, which is great for us! Only 2 blocks from downtown, and a great value as compared to other hotels. The owner was willing to work with me on a last minute booking. Thanks! I would recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Man_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We came to Crested Butte just before the Lodge was about to close for the season. Which to me is the best time to go. Along with our traveling companions we had the Lodge to ourselves. The owner was very helpful in getting our luggage up the stairs... we had booked rooms on the 3rd floor but after arriving decided the 2nd floor would work much better for us.. climbing stairs at that altitude was much harder than we had expected! The Lodge built in 1919 was in perfect condition , the owner works very hard to keep it up to date and you can tell it is a labor of love. We had a wonderful view of the mountain, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was great!!! We walked to the downtown area, just as we left the lodge it started snowing, soon the flakes were huge as we headed back, we were covered in snow by the time we returned!!! It was like Christmas in October! I would recommend this for couples of any age.

Room Tip: This lodge has no elevator be ready to climb some stairs. Try to get a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macombsboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Elk Mountain was an average B&B. Location was good, 2 blocks from Elk Street, the main street in Crested Butte. Room was very small. Breakfast was OK for a continental breakfast. Nothing special. Wireless internet was not good on the 3rd floor. We had to leave our room to get a connection. Room key did not work properly and we had to pull it out of the lock. Staff was very friendly and quite helpful. Biggest complaint was the overall price. Even in Crested Butte for the size of the room the overall price was way to high. We had a balcony on the 3rd floor, total price was in the $160 range after taxes. We feel this should have been in the $110 range. Balcony had very cheap chairs and no table. Very small.

Room Tip: Don't pay for a balcony. Not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtisRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolan72, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. It's unfortunate because if you mentioned your concerns we could have moved you to a bigger room that is closer to the Wi-fi signal. Our web site is quite clear that 3rd floor rooms are small. Our second floor rooms are much larger. I would like to mention you decided to stay in a Historic Inn in a National Historic district. That is the charm for most people. Not sure how you missed the full breakfast, it's not a continental breakfast. Maybe you cam down before everything was set out? Online reviews are very important to small owner operated businesses. Please re-consider your 2 star reviews, which most of yours are, when evaluating properties that are better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Property: Elk Mountain Lodge
Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing