We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Place to Stay”
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elk Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 November 2008

The Lodge was nice but not as good as we were expecting after being really WoWed by some other stellar places in Colorado. We were assigned a very tiny room, but due to the historic age of the property they all may have been that small. The ceiling slanted at such an angle that my boyfriend (at an average height for a man) had a tough time in the shower. However we were in an end room so the view of the stars at night was the best during our 3 week trip!

The hot tub is unfortunately indoors and not very well lit or ventilated. The breakfast was average as well, but the staff were incredibly friendly! Overall, the property lacked a bit of personality for such an old place, but we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2008

8/24/2008
We just got home from a wonderful time in Crested Butte Co. The Elk Mt. Lodge was a joy to stay at. We arrived late the key was waiting fro us along with a nice welcome letter. Next morning we had a great breakfast. The offer of loaner townie bikes. The lodge is close to town so it wasn't a problem to go to town to do a little shopping or eating. I would stay here again anytime I'm in Crested Butte.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ColoradoBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Laid back - great friendly staff - adequate rooms with a very nice indoor hot tub and sitting areas.

Its in a quiet residential area, yet close to all that CB has to offer. A filling breakfast with both cold and specialty hot items included to start the day.

When I booked for a 2nd visit 5 months after visiting they knew my name and story - which adds to a nice personal touch.

Not fancy, but warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DrRoy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

This was our second stay at the Elk Mountain Lodge in Crested Butte CO, and it won't be our last.

We travel extensively for work and play, and know a great deal when we see it.

If you need a marble foyer to greet you, the honest rustic energy of this establishment isn't for you. If you appreciate an insane breakfast (hot entrees, fresh fruit - literally something for every dietary preference) served with Camp Four coffee and a plethora of herb teas, walking distance to killer restaurants and shopping in town - including the free bus to the mountain for some epic skiing - and a happy hour where you can sit in front of a toasty wood stove and tip one while some guest or local plays on their lovely grand piano - then look no further.

Our rooms were immaculate, and the beds are wonderful. The employees greet you with a genuine smile and some good old fashioned kindness that kicks off your get-away time the moment you walk in the door.

It's cozy,comfortable and warm in every sense of the word. If you like to spend the bulk of your hard earned vacation money on play, cuisine and shopping - book your stay at the Elk.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank Eringobragh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2008

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Elk Mountain Lodge in January and we can't wait to go back! Our room on the first floor was small, but it was quiet and comfy and the bed was more comfortable than any I have ever slept in before. The bathroom had a heated fan that kept the room wonderfully warm during showers, and the corridor in our room provided lots of appreciated storage space for our boots, snowboards, etc. The breakfast in the morning was tasty and it changed every day, and we really enjoyed the 24-hour hot chocolate and tea that was offered in the lobby. We spent a lot of time by the fire and made good use of their game selection and reading room....the whole place had such a wonderful welcoming feel to it. The staff was extremely helpful in giving us tips for good restaurants to try and ideas for activities we could do, and when I sustained a snowboarding injury that forced us to check out earlier than expected, they even refunded us for our cancelled nights (we hadn't asked them to and so it was quite a pleasant surprise when they offered). Overall, I can't imagine that there would be a nicer place to stay in Crested Butte; the comfort , price and location of the Elk Mountain Lodge surely can't be beat, and I would absolutely recommend this place for anyone looking to stay in this picturesque and charming town.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KatieBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2008

The Elk Mountain Lodge is simply a gem in one of the prettiest towns in The US. It provides a rare combination of old world charm with modern convenience. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is the kind that is normally reserved for upmarket hotels.

Tucked just away from the town's main street in a quiet locale, yet only a minute's walk to great shopping and the bus that takes you straight to the ski resort. There are lots of surprises inside too. SIt in front of the fire in the big cozy chairs or enjoy the quiet of the 'library room'. There is plenty here for everyone. It is one of the town's best kept secrets.

If you want to avoid a "sterile, zero charm" hotel but still be in great surrounds then the Elk Mountain Lodge is the place. Having travelled all over the world this is highly reccomended.

Brendan Nichols

Stayed: January 2008
Thank mantrabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Just returned from our third winter visit to Crested Butte and stay at Elk Mountain Lodge in the past three years. EML is PERFECT for couples and families alike. Its attractive attributes include...
> EXCELLENT VALUE
> UNIQUE, COMFORTABLE, CLEAN AND WELL-MAINTAINED ACCOMODATIONS
> FRIENDLY, PERSONAL SERVICE FROM THE PROPRIETOR
> CONVENIENT LOCATION
If you appreciate the charm and advantages of an historic western inn over cookie cutter condo rentals and crowded "slope-side" hotels, Elk Mountain Lodge is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BornToTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
808 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Plaza Condominiums
The Plaza Condominiums
#4 of 7 in Crested Butte
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
376 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#9 of 9 in Crested Butte
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range: £103 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing