We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New Favorite Place”
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elk Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
coastal new jersey
1 review
“My New Favorite Place”
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The Elk Mountain Lodge is both elegant and laid back, perfectly located on a quiet street within immediate walking distance of the many great restaurants and galleries in town. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable (especially the bed!) with a great view of the mountains. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and has all the beta on the best places to hike and bike, including trail maps they are happy to share. From the great cocktails on the porch in the evening, to the wi-fi in the lobby/great room to the full breakfast in the morning, it was just an overall terrific experience. We are looking forward to staying at the Lodge this winter while we x-country ski some of the incredible and easily-accessible trails we hit this summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    56
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
130
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We enjoyed our larger room on the 2nd floor which contained all the necessary amenities that travelers enjoy and expect. The friendly staff attended immediately to our special requests. Breakfast is an added plus as they serve the usual Continental breakfast with a delicious hot dish that is different every morning. They also serve snacks in the afternoon and have a bar where one can purchase alcoholic and coffee drinks.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cjhid0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Accomodations were great. Service and hospitality, the finest in Crested Butte! Thanks to Mike Nolan and staff.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ottobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2009

My husband and I had such a wonderful experience at this B & B! The staff went above and beyond to make sure we were always happy and the views from our top floor room were amazing! It was so peaceful and relaxing, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdunlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed in room #15 at the Elk Mountain Lodge and weren't very comfortable, I'm afraid. The room (their smallest) was VERY small, with room only for a queen bed, a dresser and a chair. Moreover, the ceiling was sloped so as to remove a good portion of the space. As a guy, I literally hit my head when standing to use the toilet, The shower was similarly cramped with elbows easily hitting the ceiling. We also needed to keep the windows closed to keep the noise down which made the room (even with the noisy ceiling fan on) somewhat stuffy. That having been said, the location is nice, and the staff is very friendly and helpful, The common area downstairs is attractive, especially the sun room where you can have one of their pretty good breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_McGuire_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolan72, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2009
I wish this guest would have booked one of our rooms with 12 foot ceilings when he booked online. It is posted that 3rd floor rooms are quaint.
The lodge is a historic building in a national historic district. A phone call would have prevented this problem. It should be noted that this guest did not here noise from our building. Considering it's been 30 degrees at night, stuffy rooms are not a problem or complaint that we have. We are located in the quietest part of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

A wonderful and gracious place. After a terrible experience down the street, we landed at Elk Mountain and the staff couldn't have been more accomodating. They even knocked a few dollars off of the price. Lovely room, quiet setting and delicious breakfast. Highly recommended and we will return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathys101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Our stay at Elk Mountain was punctuated by the extremely helpful staff. We particularly commend Brian (with a "y"?) and Erin (spelling?), with whom we had most interaction. They are extremely knowledgeable and responded to every question we had with exquisite detail and color. They obviously know & love the MCB area. Our room was clean and adequate. Next time, we hope to reserve early enough to get a room on the second floor. We wish you all the well-earned success that you deserve. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcmlgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.3 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
786 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
268 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Property: Elk Mountain Lodge
Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing