We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, and comfy beds”
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elk Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I was coming in town to ski and look at real estate in Crested Butte, and the realtor mentioned this place first. It was just what I was looking for.

The included breakfast is very good and makes it a great value. The staff made me delicious eggs my last morning there.

The location really couldn't be better. It is just 2 blocks from the main street in town and 2 blocks from the bus stop, so I never used my car while I was in town.

My bed was super comfortable, with a white down duvet. And I've never had such fluffy towels at any hotel, ever.

The one thing you should know is that this is an old historic building, so it is a little creaky. If you are a super light sleeper, bring earplugs and you'll be fine. I'm not, so it was no problem at all. I slept like a baby.

Great value! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austinsurfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2010

We choose Elk Mountain Lodge in Crested Butte, CO mainly for the location and the value. We were so happy to find this little gem tucked away in the middle of town; the people were exceptionally friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was quaint and cozy, and we were able to enjoy a weekend of skiing for a great value! It was so nice to ski for the day and come back to the hot tub and a relaxing atmosphere to enjoy a glass of wine before a fantastic night on the town. Thank you Elk Mountain Lodge....we are hoping to make your hotel/inn our yearly Crested Butte Geataway!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiebruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Elk Mountain Lodge is the perfect small inn located in Crested Butte for a ski holiday - either downhill or Nordic. The lodge and rooms are inviting, tastefully decorated and comfortable, especially after a long day of skiing! It is convenient to the mountain for alpine skiing using the town's free shuttle bus, within walking distance to Nordic trails and all the best restaurants and fun that Crested Butte has to offer! The staff is warm and welcoming and will help you with any questions and provide honest recommendations. Crested Butte is a hidden gem for skiing and Elk Mountain Lodge is a gem of a lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaoAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We've stayed at the Elk Mountain Lodge since we sold our house in Crested Butte several years ago. It has such a warm, friendly atmosphere, and we love the proximity to town!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabbyUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We just go back from our stay in Crested Butte with our 6 and 8 year old sons. The Elk Mountain Lodge is right in the heart of Crested Butte, 2 blocks from the main drag (Elk Street) and right off the free shuttle route to the slopes. The lodge is a cool historic building with 19 rooms. This is GREAT - small enough that the guests socialize and the staff can give everyone the personal touch. They were GREAT with our kids, extremely helpful in helping us sort out various activities. Mamey (?) went the extra mile to make sure we were cared for (ski school, veggie meals,etc). Brian was a hoot to chat with about his CB experience, and Mike (the owner) was wonderful as well. Breakfasts were hearty and varied. Rooms were small, but very nice - clean, comfortable, everything you could want. Price was a little lower than other places we found. Highly recommended all around! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nivrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We stayed 3 nights at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast. We were in room #20, right at the top of the lodge. We had a balcony with an amazing view of the town and mountains. The bed was comfy and the room was spacious, with plenty of room for all of our ski gear. The feel of the whole place is so cozy and quaint...it's like a home away from home. We loved to come back in the evenings to have a hot chocolate (complimentary) and sit by the fire in the livingroom. Breakfast was served from 7:30-9:00am and was delicious and varied each morning. The staff and owner were all fabulous to talk to and a big help about the town itself and things to do and places to eat. We would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Crested Butte. It was a fantastic vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgarrad24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

The Elk Mountain lodge is my favorite place to stay in town when traveling to Crested Butte to ski. It's walking distance to the free mountain shuttle bus, all the restaurants and shopping. The lodge is historic, cozy and the staff is friendly and accommodating .

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdeguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.2 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
807 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#9 of 9 in Crested Butte
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range: £119 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing