We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, rustic atmosphere, delicious dinners”
Review of Maxwell's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Maxwell's Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
393 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Warm, rustic atmosphere, delicious dinners”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were a party of 5 with 8 o'clock reservations on a Monday evening. We had a nice large table near the fireplace and enjoyed prompt and friendly service. I had the pulled pork stuffed, bacon wrapped chicken, which was excellent. Two companions had the steak salad, which was large and tasty. Our table had one filet which was also reportedly nicely done. I especially enjoyed the large timbered interior and western décor. A very pleasant evening's dining.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank climber_in_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    43
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great meal”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Wonderful family reunion/birthday dinner Sunday night (3/2/14). Great atmosphere, conducive to visiting and relaxing, and everyone's meal was fantastic. Great service too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit underwhelming”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I've eaten here four times over a few years--three times for company party or invite; once by choice (it was off-season, and Maxwell's was one of the few places open). The food in general is OK. However, they seem to have issues with steak temps. It's inconsistent, leaning toward more underdone than you'd expect of a steakhouse. On three of our four visits, we ordered our steaks Medium, and they came out Rare, raw in the middle, charred on the outside, with blood pooling on the plate as the steak was not rested properly (sad the expediter didn't notice this). Each time, we returned the underdone steak; however, the cook put it back on the grill, heated it for a few minutes, and returned it to us, still raw on the inside but more charred on the outside. A good steakhouse fires a new steak (and sometimes offers the customer a small bite while he's waiting) and makes sure it's at the right temp. They do not put the undercooked steak back on the grill; it doesn't work. The service is OK as well. Nothing remarkable. I would love to direct visitors there and say it's the best steak in town, especially for a steakhouse. However, it's inconsistent and lacks the service and quality for the prices they charge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ps970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost a 5 star Find”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Maxwell's has everything that I want in a restaurant.Great food is paired with very good service and ambiance that delights.The menu has several wonderful dishes so it's hard to choose your entree.It was snowing heavily when I arrived, but then the snow abated.It was too warm in the restaurant with my apres ski boots on.More fresh air and i'd give it 5 stars.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valburger
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steak!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great steak in town. A nice ambience for a night out. Very nice selection of wine and cocktails and good food for every taste.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank valburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maxwell's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Crested Butte, CO
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing