We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Fabulous”

Lil's Sushi Bar & Grill
Ranked #21 of 67 Restaurants in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$34
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are known as having the highest quality fish in town. Our fish is flown in 6 days a week within 24 hours from the docks. We offer a nightly happy hour every night at the bar from 5:30-6:30. In the summer we have a beautiful patio with heaters...and soon a fire pit table! We are a casual restaurant with a warm friendly charm, just like our town of Crested Butte. Private parties available and reservations are recommended but not needed.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always Fabulous”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I've been coming here for quite a while. It never disappoints - and that is something special. The sushi is always exceptional. The service is professional and the price is right. The last time we were there, a close friend's fiance revealed that he had a severe shellfish allergy. Lil's made every possible accommodation, resulting in a glorious, delicious night had by all! The sizzler is a new classic, the godzilla was refreshing, and the rainbow roll? Sexy. It's my favorite place to eat in CB and that's saying something.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristiYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    28
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cioppino WOW”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Shashimi was nice. Cioppino was outstanding. My son had the trout which was nicely prepared.
Service average. Comparable restaurants in town are more attentive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BHWoodlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't be skeptical of sushi in the mountains!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

We came in a little skeptical about there being amazing sushi on the mountain in Colorado. However, we wanted something on the lighter side and something different. We were pleasantly surprised by the rolls. We enjoyed the house roll, sizzler, and the rip tide. Hose roll is a must, sizzler was different than any rolls (in a good way) we have had in the past, rip tide was also good. Sat at the bar and enjoyed talking with locals. A must stop in Crested Butte!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjashortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Great atmosphere, food, and service! It was my favorite place to eat in CB! The sushi is excellent. The service was fantastic. I will definitely be visiting Lil's every trip to CB!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
164 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Food with highs and lows, so-so service”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Lil's was a mixed bag for us.

Highs:
The sushi was quite good. Don;t let the landlocked location scare you away, there are several good sushi eateries in CB, and Lil's didn't disappoint. i had one of their house rolls that was tasty, and their preparation of a salmon-skin hand roll was the best i have ever had (and I'm a big fan of salmon skin)-the skin was somehow grilled/fried to be crunchy and flavorful without the more typical salmon skin on the grill flavor.

My wife's salad was underwhelming. I was expected nice presentation of tempura flash-fried ahi tuna on a sparse bed of veggies and what was presented was tuna with a mushy crust and a giant bed of greens and veggies drowning out the tuna. this is a dish which needs some revamping,

As a frequent visitor to CB, my expectations on service have already been tempered to expect slower than average service, however, the service at Lil's was too slow. on a Monday night that saw the restaurant 50% full, it too forever for our waiter to make it over to our table to greet us and tell us about specials. There were equally long gaps between future encounters making me wonder at times if our server forot about us.

Bottom line: if you wanna try Lil's think about sitting at the sushi bar and sticking to sushi.....for a more full service experience there are better options in CB

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoulderTravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lil's Sushi Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Crested Butte, CO
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to Lil's Sushi Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing