We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer patio nirvana”

Montanya Distillers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Montanya Distillers offers locally made rum cocktails, a delicious selection of locally-made appetizers including Colorado Goat Cheese, Colorado-made fried ravioli with basil, tomato and balsamic reduction, Warm Dips with chips made in house, Seared Polenta, Filet Mignon Tips, Cheese platters, and more. Check out our menu of exceptional Artisan Rum cocktails featuring Montanya rums made right here in our distillery in Crested Butte, CO.
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Summer patio nirvana”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Yes, nirvana. Crested Butte is a happening little ski town in the summer, being a gateway to the Elk Mountains, which are arguably the most beautiful, and perhaps dangerous, in the great state of Colorado.
As such, it was fitting that on my first visit to Montanya, we were celebrating a good friend's birthday on the eve of an epic 30-mile Four Passes loop trail run. With that said, we hardly got to scratch the surface of the cocktails crafted from Montanya's incredible Oro (dark, amber) rum or their Platino (charcoal distilled clear), having the desire to perform well and actually enjoy the run the following day.
We watched the sunset on their small but cozy patio, enjoying the passers by and the samples of Oro and Platino before making our drink decisions. Our waiter, Scott I believe, hooked us up with the birthday shot--a Maharaja. SO tasty--I especially remember the Cardamom finish. We shared some of the house chips (french fries), and they were also really good. Had we the time, we would've been there till close. All the more reason to head there again!
There's a reason their obsessively-crafted mountain rum has multiple awards--it'd be a crime for you not to drop in and find out why. Cheers!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    33
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum - Exquisite Rum”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent rum and interesting concoctions with extraordinary creativity! The new location is more intimate and lends itself to a friendlier atmosphere. Thus far I have tried Teocalli, Basil Paradisi, Strawberry Jive and Thai Boxer - all are worthy! Montanya's artisanal, infused rums are delicious. My husband is a purist and has settled on Oro on the rocks with a twist - a simple drink that stands on its own. Live music adds to the fun and for people-watching you cannot beat the patio seating. Check it out!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SavorEveryBite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruita
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“A must stop if you are in CB!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stopped here on a Saturday afternoon and I'm so glad we did. The drinks were delicious! The service was great and the free popcorn was an added bonus. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenLCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bartender Craftsmen”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I am not typically a fan of rum or the sickly sweet cocktails it goes with, but after visiting this distillery/bar/restaurant I may be a convert. The service was incredible, the rum was excellent, and the cocktails even better! They test, experiment, and come up with NEW recipes and combinations on a weekly basis. It's hard to find a venue that promotes and fosters creativity. If you haven't visited yet, you are missing out.

Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rum drinks extraordinaire”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

All of the rum drinks we tasted here were terrific - we tried the Mojito, the Maharaja martini, and the Pina Colada (over 3 different evenings!) On your first visit they even give you samples of their 2 different types of rum so you can taste them straight. Since it was summer, we enjoyed their darling little patio where you get a great view of the action on the main street in town. It was a great spot for a pre-dinner drink after a hard day on the trails. Yummy rum!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montanya Distillers also viewed

 

Been to Montanya Distillers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing