We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great long weekend unplugged getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pioneer Guest Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Pioneer Cabins for a long weekend (Thurs - Sunday) to celebrate our anniversary. The idea was to go somewhere with no cell service, no tv, and no internet access-- and this fit the bill perfectly. (Though if you need it, there is wifi in the office.) We stayed in the Cottonwood cabin, which has a bedroom with one double bed, a loft with 2 double beds, a living and kitchen area, and a very small bathroom. The cabin was certainly big enough for the two of us, and would also do nicely if you were with a few kids. But, even though there is sleeping room it might be tight for 6 adults.

The kitchen was adequate and reasonably well equipped (though there is no dishwasher and none of the pans were nonstick-- but that was fine because we wanted to "rough it" this weekend). There is also a gas grill available for the Cottonwood (the only cabin that has one-- the others are charcoal) which made cooking a breeze-- and cudos to the owners for providing two propane cans so you don't have to worry about running out.

The cabin has a thermostat controlled gas stove, as well as a guest controlled wood burning stove. We lit the stove every night, and it made the cabin toasty warm. And, it was also very nice that the cabin was stocked with a bin full of wood cut to size for the wood stove, a bucket of kindling, a pile of newspapers, and matches.

The location is great-- about 15 minutes from Crested Butte and about 30 from Gunnison-- so if you start longing for a town, you don't have far to go. But, you are also right at several different trail heads so it is just a hop from the cabin to the start of a hike. And, at night you can't beat just staring up at the amazingly bright stars.

The owner checked us in, and that was the last we saw of her-- but that was just the way we wanted it. I'm sure that if we had a problem they would be there to help-- but we didn't have any, and they fully respected our privacy.

All in all, a great place to leave work behind for a few days and just hang-out.

Room Tip: If you want a gas grill, go with the Cottonwood cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhep_11720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pioneer Cabins during the first weekend of June, 2013. We had a great time hiking, mountain biking and exploring the area around the cabins and in Crested Butte. The cabin was perfect, clean, quiet and the beds were fantastic. During the day the hummingbirds were fun to watch and in the evening the stars were fantastic. We will definately be back and in addition will recommend the cabins to anyone we know that wants to spend some time in the Crested Butte area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Had a great stay at the Pioneer Guest Cabins - just a quick weekend getaway from Denver and this place fit the bill perfectly. We stayed in the Alpenglow Cabin, which had more bedroom space than 2 people needed, but that being said I wouldn't stay there with more than 3-4 people, since it's still a small (cozy) space. The huge picture window let in a lot of natural light which brought the place to life.

Overall beautiful corner of CO to be for a couple nights, and I would definitely go back.

Pro tip: stop by the Mt. Princeton hot springs if you are driving back to Denver.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexDenver1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This was our second winter stay at PGC. We stayed in the Sunshine cabin last year and tried Wild Rose this year. Both are very cute, clean, well maintained and true to their rustic nature yet with all the creature comforts. I would have to say that the bed in Wild Rose is considerably more comfortable than in Sunshine but both are well worth the stay. The lofts are great for afternoon naps. Our dog enjoyed playing with Kita the resident Husky. While the snow wasn't nearly as good this year we still were able to do some snowshoeing in pristine, quiet wilderness. Matt and Leah are receptive, layed back and helpful. We are looking forward to a summer stay later this year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We spent 4 nights in the Wild Rose cabin, and had an absolutely delightful time. The cabin was gorgeous and maintained the "quaint" feel of a cabin in the middle of nowhere whilst not sacrificing on modern conveniences. For example, the stove is gas and works great, there's lots of hot water and the fireplace looks original but is thermostat controlled and so much more convenient than a real fire.

The scenery from the cabin is great! We woke up every morning and stared at the snow-covered alpine vista out of the windows, no hoards of tourists or skiers around, just quiet and solitude in a great setting. Yet the ski fields are close by and easy to get to, and there's great snowshoeing from just outside the cabin door.

Our hosts were lovely, and addressed anything we mentioned quickly and efficiently but never intruded. The trip was perfect, and we're definitely hoping to go back.

Room Tip: The Wild Rose room has Internet -- a big plus if you need to stay in contact with people whilst you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0hn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This was our first trip to the Pioneer guest cabins. We really enjoyed the snowy scenery and the wood burning stove (along with thermostat). The cabin was perfect for our relaxing getaway. Tucked in the National forest, but just min. from Crested Butte for time out and about in town. It was truely relaxing and perfect for napping and just enjoying each others company. Kita the husky even came down for a visit each day, and gave a little bark to let us know she was there for a petting. LOL. We will be back since I was struck with a horrible cold on the way up to Crested Butte, especailly to get out and do some snowshoeing and the hubby and I agree that winter or summer this is a lovely place to stay to get away from the hustle and bustle and just get back to your roots. We stayed in the Red Fox cabin which was great for 2-4 people, and had just the right amount of space. Leah & Matt were wonderful hosts, and accomidated a last min change in plans without hassel, or concern. Can't wait to book our next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDS312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This is our 2nd visit to these cabins. Both experiences have been excellent. The cabins are clean and cozy. The only disappointment was from our 9 year son who was hoping for a wood fired stove. The gas stove on thermostat control is much more convenient and keeps the cabin warm all night. Both of our trips have been in the winter. Great snowshoeing or XC skiing directlly from the property. We plan to return again in the summer for more Crested Butte fun.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
8 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
275 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
821 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
656 reviews
10.9 mi away
Three Rivers Resort
Three Rivers Resort
#1 of 1 in Almont
143 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crested Butte
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Guest Cabins

Address: 2094 County Road 740, Cement Creek Road, Crested Butte, CO 81224-9605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Crested Butte
Price Range: £145 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pioneer Guest Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 cabins surrounded by the Gunnison National Forest with Cement Creek running through the property. Just a 12 minute drive to Crested Butte. Cabins feature fully equipped kitchens, baths, fireplaces and all linens and firewood provided. Outside cabins are picnic tables, grills, fire rings and adirondack chairs. Snowshoe and xc ski trails out your door in the winter and hiking and mountain biking in the summer. Pet and kid friendly. Open year round. Free wi-fi in all cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Pioneer Guest Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Guest Cabins Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing