We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pioneer Guest Cabins are the best kept secret in Crested Butte!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pioneer Guest Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Texas
1 review
“Pioneer Guest Cabins are the best kept secret in Crested Butte!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This a picture perfect mountain cabin resort! Well maintained and managed, it offers the perfect get away from cell phones, TV and every day noise while bringing nature to your front door step. Each cabin is different sleeping 4 to 6 guests. All cabins are fully furnished and appointed to a picture perfect wood cabin finish.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
86
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband, sister-in-law, and I (and my Great Dane) traveled to Crested Butte for New Year's Eve. We spent our first night in the Cottonwood cabin and it was perfect -- cozy, clean, warm, and with enough utensils in the kitchen to cook a proper NYE dinner. Matt and Leah were gracious hosts and check-in was quick and easy. We love that they allow dogs at the cabins, with the one rule that they aren't allowed on the furniture (not a problem for us because we have a senior pup who can't jump on furniture anyway). The woods around the cabins are beautiful and utterly serene, and the property lies at the end of a long, snowy road. The main "village" of Crested Butte is only a short drive away, but Pioneer Guest Cabins feels pleasantly removed from the hustle-and-bustle of the ski area. Unfortunately, our trip was cut short due to an emergency back home. We were supposed to spend two more nights in the Sunshine cabin. I had just moved our things into that cabin when we discovered that we had to leave, but I loved it even more than the Cottonwood cabin. It was spacious -- plenty of room for four people -- with a decent amount of counterspace in the kitchen and a nice little dining table. We were really upset that we had to cut our stay short, but Matt and Leah were incredibly kind and understanding and we will definitely be returning to PGC to re-do our trip as soon as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderluster214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dripping Springs, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Quintessential cozy, quaint and peaceful. Leah and Matt take excellent care of these unique cottages. Kitchen is simple but enough supplies to cook a Turkey dinner. The Gunnison National Forest is literally out your front door. Beautiful trails that we took walks on and snowshoed (great rentals from Pioneer) with our dogs! Also loved the CB Nordic Center. They have great rental equipment and fantastic well groomed trails for both Skate and Classic cross country...dog friendly also! I just wish I could have stayed longer...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Harbor, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We are blessed far beyond our due with heath, wealth and happiness. PGC is in the book of special family moments that we can count on one hand (well maybe both hands). Leah, Matthew, their children and Kita came into lives for a reason. The setting, the simple yet very comfortable cabin accommodations, the first winter snow fall and the warmth of our family being together far exceeded hoped for expectations. If you want, or need, to be reminded, or find, the simple pleasure of being together as a family then make your way someday, some how, to this wonderful place. Your only regret will be if you don't get here.

Room Tip: Oh-be-joyful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

To pull up to your cabin and hear the Slate River rushing by is a gift in and of itself. We found the cabin quaint, well decorated and filled with amenities. The staff (Matt) was exceptionally friendly and helpful, even though we showed up two hours before check in. He stopped what he was doing to help us and get us checked in. If in Colorado put Crested Butte on your to-do list then treat yourself by staying here.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Pioneer Guest Cabins are truly unique and cozy. They welcome pets and everything is super clean and comfortable. Lots of privacy, great walking trails, and just a beautiful area if you want something that is off the beaten path. I plan on going again very soon. I felt so relaxed and re-energized after my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We loved it here. The cabins are absolutely charming with a great homely, rustic feel and yet they have all the modern amenities that you may need. We cooked for ourselves both evenings in the tiny wooden kitchen and enjoyed eating at our little candlelit table. The weather was really warm when we were there so unfortunately we didn't get to use the wood burning stove but it looked great and I think if we lived in the States it would be a good place to visit in winter.
The outdoor space was well thought out and my husband loved relaxing in the hammock in the trees. We did walks right from the door, one in particular Walrod Gulch cut off trail [ I think that was its name ] was spectacular with all the wildflower meadows and we loved looking down from above on our cosy little cabin in the woods.
Visited Crested Butte one afternoon, it has a lovely friendly vibe and is very cute. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolasmum78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
7.9 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
255 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
738 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
613 reviews
10.9 mi away
Three Rivers Resort
Three Rivers Resort
#1 of 1 in Almont
110 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Guest Cabins

Property: Pioneer Guest Cabins
Address: 2094 County Road 740, Crested Butte, CO 81224-9605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pioneer Guest Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 cabins surrounded by the Gunnison National Forest with Cement Creek running through the property. Just a 15 minute drive to Crested Butte. Cabins feature fully equipped kitchens, baths, fireplaces and all linens and firewood provided. Outside cabins are picnic tables, grills, firerings and adirondack style chairs. Snowshoe and xc ski trails out your door in the winter and hike and mountain bike in the summer. Pet and kid friendly. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pioneer Guest Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Guest Cabins Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing