We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a wonderful experience. It was everything I needed and all I had hoped for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pioneer Guest Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, AR
1 review
“Thank you for a wonderful experience. It was everything I needed and all I had hoped for.”
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed in the Alpenglow cabin at the end of June, first of July and just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed your cabin and grounds. It was the perfect location. We met our daughter and future son-in-law there for 4 days and it wasn’t nearly long enough. We spent time in Crested Butte, fished and took a white water rafting trip on the Taylor, drove to Blue Mesa and the Black Canyon and fished in the Gunnison at the bottom of the canyon. And we have a long list of all the things we want to do on the next visit. The cabin was perfect. We had everything we could have possibly needed. I just wanted to say thank you for the great hospitality and the wonderful cabin. We will definitely be return visitors.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bgertsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
86
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I just returned from a stay at the Pioneer Guest Cabins in Crested Butte. The location is excellent - about 8 miles from Crested Butte. The cabins are secluded but not remote - with quick access to hiking or biking. We stayed in the Teocalli Cabin - it is small and rustic but has everything that you need for a comfortable stay. Each cabin has a fire pit outside with beautiful views of the mountains and Cement Creek. The prices are a little high but comparably to other cabins in the area - and with a much better location! This is the perfect place for a quiet, restful vacation!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Just wanted to say how nice the Whetstone and Teocalli cabins were. They were clean, comfortable, and quiet. Our family looked forward to the evening campfires for card-playing, conversation, and some-mores. We very much enjoyed our week's stay there in mid-July. The cabins were convenient to Gunnison (golf, shopping, and shooting range), Almont (river rafting), and Crested Butte (horsebacking riding, shopping, and ice cream at the Rocky Mt. Choc. Factory). And, yes, the wildflowers were still beautiful in bloom.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank jlynn030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

A friend and I stayed in the "Everest" cottage for two nights while snowboarding at Crested Butte. We were very impressed, very happy. Our expectation was an inexpensive, woodsy, near-nature place and we got that, but we got much more than we expected. Unlike many similar cabins I've stayed in, this one actually looks as good in person as it does in the pictures on its website (maybe better); there was Wi-Fi Internet access and free long-distance telephone service at the office (and I'm embarrassed to say I did get on the Internet once while there); there was a real shower and bath with plenty of hot water (great after snowboarding). Everything was clean, and even the towels were a pleasant surprise, "hotel quality" rather than "lodge quality." The owners were very friendly and left us entirely alone after we checked in. A possible downside for others is that the lodge is maybe fifteen minutes from downtown and twenty minutes from the ski area, but that was fine with us. Overall, it was a great experience -- we'll go back.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tripnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, NC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2005

I have been to Crested Butte once and I'm planning another trip in January. I fell in love with the town last year. My husband and I stayed in the Pioneer Guest Cabins. They are one Cement Creek Road about 2 miles out of Crested Butte toward Gunnison. They are in the Gunnison Forest. Let me set the stage...You turn down this snow covered road and drive probably 2 miles back into the forest. The road has snow BUT it is cleared regularly. There was No problem driving. When you arrive at the cabins and get the key, the hosts are the best. A cute couple with a young child. The cabins were built in the 30's as a ski camp for Gunnison Forest. They are incredible. There is a gas wood stove for heat. A full bath and a double downstairs and a double in the loft. There is a kitchenette with a full stove and fridge. It is peaceful and absolutely the most beautiful place I have ever been. The furnishings are timber beds and quilts. There are no frilly furnishings. It is exactely as you think Colorado should be. We skied, snow mobiled, dog sledded, snow shoed..everything. We ate in town each night and then retired to our cabin in the woods. I can't wait until January to return. It is very reasonable and a dream come true. There is a website also.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank salt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
7.9 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
8.0 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Three Rivers Resort
Three Rivers Resort
#1 of 1 in Almont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
7.7 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Guest Cabins

Property: Pioneer Guest Cabins
Address: 2094 County Road 740, Crested Butte, CO 81224-9605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pioneer Guest Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 cabins surrounded by the Gunnison National Forest with Cement Creek running through the property. Just a 15 minute drive to Crested Butte. Cabins feature fully equipped kitchens, baths, fireplaces and all linens and firewood provided. Outside cabins are picnic tables, grills, firerings and adirondack style chairs. Snowshoe and xc ski trails out your door in the winter and hike and mountain bike in the summer. Pet and kid friendly. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pioneer Guest Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Guest Cabins Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing