We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous...heaven in the mountains...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pioneer Guest Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This was one of the best rustic adventures I have ever taken. The cabin is quaint and well equipped, in a setting too breathtaking for words. The cabin was even supplied with fire wood and kindling for the wood burning stoves and fire pits. The hosts keep a hummingbird feeder outside and our window was buzzing with fleet winged beauties all day long. The camp was quiet and kid friendly. My three year old repeatedly said, "I wish we lived here forever!"/ I can hardly wait to stay here again, my only regret is that I couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelbirdflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2010

We had a beautiful White Christmas at the Pioneer Guest Cabins property, near Crested Butte, Colorado. The cabin was small and cozy, and the two pot bellied stoves (one gas and one wood) kept us warm. Our stay was delightful, with snow falls, beautiful stars and moon at night, and daily visits by the owners' friendly dog. We enjoyed a Christmas Eve church service in town and meals at McGill's and Le Bosquet. There are many other restaurants in town that we hope to try on future visits. The owners are very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We loved our stay here, and recommend it to anyone who enjoys the beauty of a rustic location in the forest, yet being close to town.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csaDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We had an excellent experience with the Pioneer Guest Cabins. The property and cabins are every bit as nice as the pictures on the website. The perfect place for a quiet getaway by the campfire/fireplace.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This was our second time staying with Matt & Leah... and we had a great time! We stayed in the Oh-be-Joyful cabin, which is set up on the hill but we can still hear the creek down below. The cabins are clean, well equipted, cozy and wonderful. I especially love the flannel duvets on the beds. Plus they have added a funky croquet course, that the kids loved. So! if you are looking for a wonderful, classic Colorado get-away... look no further!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coloradobeachbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

My husband and I just returned from our First Wedding Anniversary trip. We decided to try somewhere new - Crested Butte and the Pioneer Guest Cabins. Words cannot explain how much we loved our time in the Red Fox cabin. The Pioneer Guest Cabins 'resort' was all we had hoped for and more. The descriptions and photos on the website describe the resort perfectly. We did enjoy some time and meals in town (McGill's is AWESOME...and wish we could be locals so we could frequent The Steep)...though I think we could have spent days if not weeks just hanging at the cabin and exploring all of the awesome mt. biking (and hiking) trails off of Cement Creek Road. One of our favorite rides this year was just riding 15 miles or so on Cement Creek Road...the scenery is spectacular! We can't wait to plan a trip for some skiing this winter...and we no plan on making it a tradition to visit the Pioneer Guest Cabins every year for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We've stayed at the Pioneer off and on for 24 years. We love it! Tucked back in the Gunnison Nat'l Forest, , but CB and Gunnison are easily accessible. Cabins are spaced a good distance apart; not close together like you see so many other cabin rentals. The cabins are quaint and cozy. Not big, so don't expect a lot of space. But perfect for an authentic Colorado mountain experience! The owners have kept the cabins as authentic as possible, but still adding some nice and accommodating touches.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmond_OKDee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed in the Alpenglow cabin at the end of June, first of July and just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed your cabin and grounds. It was the perfect location. We met our daughter and future son-in-law there for 4 days and it wasn’t nearly long enough. We spent time in Crested Butte, fished and took a white water rafting trip on the Taylor, drove to Blue Mesa and the Black Canyon and fished in the Gunnison at the bottom of the canyon. And we have a long list of all the things we want to do on the next visit. The cabin was perfect. We had everything we could have possibly needed. I just wanted to say thank you for the great hospitality and the wonderful cabin. We will definitely be return visitors.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
Thank bgertsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
7.9 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
809 reviews
8 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
651 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
377 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crested Butte
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Guest Cabins

Address: 2094 County Road 740, Cement Creek Road, Crested Butte, CO 81224-9605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Crested Butte
Price Range: £150 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pioneer Guest Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 cabins surrounded by the Gunnison National Forest with Cement Creek running through the property. Just a 12 minute drive to Crested Butte. Cabins feature fully equipped kitchens, baths, fireplaces and all linens and firewood provided. Outside cabins are picnic tables, grills, fire rings and adirondack chairs. Snowshoe and xc ski trails out your door in the winter and hiking and mountain biking in the summer. Pet and kid friendly. Open year round. Free wi-fi in all cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pioneer Guest Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Guest Cabins Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing