We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, Perfect for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pioneer Guest Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cozy, Perfect for families”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This is a family-friendly way to enjoy the stunning Crested Butte area. We stayed in the Doubletop Cabin. It was super-clean, well-appointed for cooking, cozy and had just the right amount of rustic charm: hummingbirds at the feeder every day, plenty of firewood for smores and lots of cozy down quilts and blankets when the nights got chilly. The size was perfect for a family with two kids who spent a lot of the day outdoors. We were just minutes from town by car with hiking and fishing literally at a our doorstep. The owners have a wonderful visitor room filled with lender books, games and maps and even extra camp chairs. They were always willing to offer suggestions for places to visit. We were lucky to have several other families there on our stay, and our kids had instant playmates. The cabins were nicely spaced apart, and each had a Weber Grill, firepit, Adirondack chairs and a hammock by the delightful cement creek. If you like the outdoors, hiking, mountain biking, rafting, beautiful scenery and some nice authentic shopping and dining nearby, this is a great choice. When the kids are older, we'll go back so we hike around the Maroon Bells to Aspen!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nanecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
86
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

This is our third consecutive year to stay at the Pioneer Guest Cabins. The cabins are what we would categorize as modernized rustic and very charming. The cabins are located alongside the Cement Creek so there is the lovely sound of the water to listen to 24/7. Each cabin has a firepit and the owners supply cut wood. The evenings are cool enough to have a fire each evening in the firepit. It is simply a wonderful place to stay, just far enough outside of Crested Butte to be away from people, yet close enough to CB to enjoy dinner and/or shopping in town. We could go on and on about the Pioneer. In our opinion it is the greatest place to stay in Colorado. The owners, Matt and Leah, are extremely nice and helpful as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The Pioneer Guest Cabins are eight small cabins built along Cement Creek, 8 miles south of Crested Butte. They have all been recently renovated, while still retaining their historic charm. The cabins have both two and three beds. We've stayed here three times, each time in one of the "newer" cabins, (circa 1970), which have one bed in a bedroom, and two beds in a sleeping loft open to the central living space below. The cabin has a small bathroom with a shower, a small but functional kitchen with a dining table that seats 4 easily, more if you are very cozy. There is a woodburning stove and a propane heater (looks like a woodstove, too) for plenty of warmth. The woodburning stove is flanked by two loveseats, making it the perfect place to cuddle up and enjoy the fire at night, or to read on a (rare) rainy day.
Outside each cabin, there is a hammock, picnic table, Weber grill, and a fire ring surrounded by as wooden adirondack-type chairs. The creek is easily accessible for fishing or exploring, and there are hiking trails that start right at the property. One of the trails leads 1400' up the mountain to an antique warming hut, a remnant of the property's history as the site of Colorado's first ski lift (dismantled in 1952). Other hikes are along the creek, or a short distance away from the cabins accessible from a dirt road.
Matt and Leah, the owners, bought the place around 2000, and take great care of it. They've put a lot into it, and obviously are in it for the long run. They are both extremely nice and helpful. They have a dog and two young children, and make everyone feel at home. The small office has a lending library (and TVs and VCRs and movies to borrow, if you must). They keep the cabins stocked in firewood and sugar for the hummingbird feeders that hang outside the windows, entertaining everyone.
We've always stayed in the summer, but I'm sure it's gorgeous in the winter, a great place to play in the snow and retreat to a cozy cabin when you're done.
For off-the-information-grid fun, this place can't be beat!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BldrJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The deep forest beauty, the sound of the water, and the warmth and graciousness of it's hosts make this a perfect getaway, summer or winter.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank larossen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We loved our week and have recommended to all our friends. My husband was painting in the Rocky Mountain Plein Air National Art Show in Crested Butte. It was a perfect place to come back to after starting his paintings in your gorgeous part of Colorado.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joannsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This was one of the best rustic adventures I have ever taken. The cabin is quaint and well equipped, in a setting too breathtaking for words. The cabin was even supplied with fire wood and kindling for the wood burning stoves and fire pits. The hosts keep a hummingbird feeder outside and our window was buzzing with fleet winged beauties all day long. The camp was quiet and kid friendly. My three year old repeatedly said, "I wish we lived here forever!"/ I can hardly wait to stay here again, my only regret is that I couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelbirdflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We had a beautiful White Christmas at the Pioneer Guest Cabins property, near Crested Butte, Colorado. The cabin was small and cozy, and the two pot bellied stoves (one gas and one wood) kept us warm. Our stay was delightful, with snow falls, beautiful stars and moon at night, and daily visits by the owners' friendly dog. We enjoyed a Christmas Eve church service in town and meals at McGill's and Le Bosquet. There are many other restaurants in town that we hope to try on future visits. The owners are very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We loved our stay here, and recommend it to anyone who enjoys the beauty of a rustic location in the forest, yet being close to town.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csaDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
7.9 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
255 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
738 reviews
8.0 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Three Rivers Resort
Three Rivers Resort
#1 of 1 in Almont
110 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
339 reviews
7.7 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Guest Cabins

Property: Pioneer Guest Cabins
Address: 2094 County Road 740, Crested Butte, CO 81224-9605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pioneer Guest Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 cabins surrounded by the Gunnison National Forest with Cement Creek running through the property. Just a 15 minute drive to Crested Butte. Cabins feature fully equipped kitchens, baths, fireplaces and all linens and firewood provided. Outside cabins are picnic tables, grills, firerings and adirondack style chairs. Snowshoe and xc ski trails out your door in the winter and hike and mountain bike in the summer. Pet and kid friendly. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pioneer Guest Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Guest Cabins Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing