We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay Near The Ski Lifts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plaza Condominiums
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay Near The Ski Lifts”
Reviewed 10 December 2010

The place was easy to find, a short walk to the ski area. From our arrival until are departure we were very pleased with the friendliness from the front desk staff. In fact, I can't remember encountering more friendly staff, especially the brown-haired girl (knitting) always a big smile. We were very pleased with our unit which included 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, full kitchen, balcony and fireplace. The only hitch was that some of the baseboard heaters were broken and not fixed though there was a prompt attempt to do so. They offered space heaters or a different room. We opted to stay and get a space heater for one of our friends since we were already settled. We were kept warm with the working heaters and fireplace fueled with firewood already stocked on the balcony. Speaking of, the veiw was beautiful from the balcony but was flooded with water. The building is aging but has a large public area with a bar and other common activities. We had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogurt777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2009

The Plaza was a very nice place to stay with family and friends. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed anything. Linens were provided everyday and it was extremely clean. We were really impressed with the accomadations. It was close to the lifts. The bus driver that picked us up at the hotel at night was not pleasant and this was our only negative experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimwwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

I booked online through Expedia six days before a ski trip with a friend. I had to pay for the three nights when booking. The friend broke an elbow and ankle the day before the trip. Expedia was fine with refunding the prepaid three nights and I only had to contact the Plaza to get a confirmation number to give to Expedia for the refund. Calls to the Plaza went to Crested Butte Mountain Resort Properties. They would not allow the cancellation. The reservation had to have been canceled by February 18 -- no matter that I hadn't booked until March 13. Not only that, they wouldn't even down size the reservation to a one bedroom. So, I ended up; going alone rather than lose out totally and had a two bedroom unit. As it turned out the second bedroom only had youth size twin beds. A second adult wouldn't have fit in it.

I was told I should have purchased trip insurance. If it was on the Expedia site, I didn't see it as an option. For anyone else thinking of booking, be sure to consider the insurance. Better yet, skip Crested Butte until they change property management companies.

This same management company seems to run the show for all bookings in Crested Butte. Based on that, I will never return to Crested Butte and I most certainly wouldn't go back to the Plaza. Their focus seems to be on selling real estate and NOT in servicing rentals. Having skiied for 55 years, this is the absolute worst customer service experience ever.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Espiritu98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

We have stayed at the Plaza several times, all during the summer. We got a significantly better price last year through the owner via VRBO (each unit is individually owned--and decorated). While comfortable and nice, the Plaza is aging, and the common areas are going to need more work/renovation soon. There is a covered garage, but you have to walk a short distance in the open between the garage and the main bullding. It has elevators, but the individual units are on open walkways exposed to the elements--why, I have no idea. The two- and three-bedroom units are on the small side, but have "all mod cons." There has been a shuttle bus stop at the building; the bus is a bit noisy if you're trying to nap on that side of the building. At the least in the summer of '06 the major construction of the new village center up the road wasn't too bothersome. The building cafe/bar has never been open when we were there (maybe only during ski season). The staff is friendly and helpful. Check on the terms for maid service if that's important to you: it varies.

  • Liked — quality/value
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2007

We shared a 3 bedroom, 2 bath unit with friends. Overall, we enjoyed the unit, and will probably stay at the Plaza again if we go back to CB to ski again.

First, the plusses (which greatly outweigh the minuses): the unit had a nice woodburning stove and a huge supply of firewood on the outdoor balcony - we had the fire going several hours a day for three days, and didn't make much of a dent in the wood supply. The unit also had lots of humidifiers, which was much appreciated. The unit wasn't huge, but it was well laid out - it had a full kitchen, which we made good use of for breakfasts and apres ski snacks. We had a pretty good view of the slopes, although there was a parking lot and other condos between us and the view. There are ski lockers downstairs, and it's an easy walk - even carrying gear - from the condos to the lifts. There is also a covered garage, which came in handy when it snowed six inches overnight and we didn't have to work to get the car ready to go. The indoor spa/sauna/steamroom were nice, and well maintained. The downstairs bar/restaurant was decent (even if the pool table wasn't at all level!), and the bar gets a good-sized local crowd later in the evening once the mountain's operations are shut down.

Minuses: the condos are individually owned, and some of the dishes/utensils definitely looked like a hodgepodge of left-overs from a family kitchen. The linens were pretty poor quality, and one of the bedrooms had a "view" of only an interior hallway. The common space ambiance is fairly utilitarian (exposed sprinkler pipes, e.g.). Finally, because this is a condo, rather than a hotel, cleaning services were very limited.

All things said, though, it was a good stay for a reasonable price, and we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank awdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2005

We stayed at the Plaza condos twice - nice 2 bedroom, 2 bath units. We stayed Jan. '04 and Dec. '04 for skiing trips. The units are individually owned and vary inside quite a bit.
The Plaza has an outdoor hottub as well as an indoor one along with a steam room and sauna. The outdoor tub was frequently too cold because the cover was left off and also very icy around it - dangerous! There is a restaurant in the lobby that has good pizza and hot wings. Also onsite is ski storage.
You have to hike through a couple parking lots to reach the slopes, but we felt it was worth it compared to some of the older condo units that are considered slopeside.
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay - although the first unit we stayed in was furnished much nicer than the second unit we had. Good value for the location and quality of the units.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank powersms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
268 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#8 of 9 in Crested Butte
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Condominiums

Property: The Plaza Condominiums
Address: 11 Snowmass Road, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Plaza Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Condominiums Hotel Crested Butte
Plaza Condominiums Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing