We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beer but didn't feel like a brewery.”

The Eldo Brewery and Happy Trail's Cafe
Ranked #34 of 67 Restaurants in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
new mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great beer but didn't feel like a brewery.”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We love breweries and have been to about 30 in Colorado alone. We visited the Eldo on a very busy weekend night in July and it was very crowded with young drunk people. It seemed like we were the oldest people in the place (we are in our mid-late 30's). There was a DJ playing techno (which I happen to love so that wasn't a problem) and we had a great time dancing it's just that the whole place seemed more like a small club/bar vs a Brewery. Everyone was nice although it was hard to get through the crowd to get a beer. We are coming back for Christmas so I'm hoping to visit again during the day or a night with a smaller crowd and a different vibe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weird and wonderful food!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I had a tempura avocado dish and it was so good. So weird but oh so good. The atmosphere is total dive bar (I think it was in the design plans...) but the food is this weird fusion cuisine that makes it a truly funky place to eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kerri_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almont, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GREAT PEOPLE, GREAT TIMES!!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

If you are looking for the local hang-out, with a great line-up of live music, the Eldo in a must stop on your trip!!! There is a restaurant and brewery also at the Eldo!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great mountain brewery”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great selection of brews.....just needs more outdoor seating! No waiters, so serve yourself from the bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptMorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hang with the locals”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

What a fun place!! If you want to get away from the more touristy spots, this is a great place with great beers. Only microbrewery in town!!! Be sure to go to the end of the bar and grab some grub off the grill. Dave is the proprietor of the grill with a great personality and cooks up great burgers and chicken. Nothing real fancy, just real good. They do have live entertainment on many, if not most, weekends. Some pretty big name people, e.g. we happen to just miss Willy Nelson's daughter the weekend prior to our visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank heron48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eldo Brewery and Happy Trail's Cafe also viewed

 
Crested Butte, CO
 
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to The Eldo Brewery and Happy Trail's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing