We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ginger Cafe

Ginger Cafe
Ranked #19 of 67 Restaurants in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

It is not often I find a restaurant where I must go through a process of elimination, there are so many delectable appearing choices. The Ginger Cafe in Crested Butte is one of these, however. Even the non-Asian dishes are prepared with the right Asian spices and flavoring resulting in a new flavor for a "non-Asian" dish - I'm thinking of the Moule et Frites prepared with a red curry sauce and unique restaurant prepared fried potatoes. The spring rolls are custom prepared with fresh veggies. The Biryani and the Thai Green Curry are excellent. A very enjoyable dinner seated outside on the porch on a summer's day while watching the people and bikers passing by.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    69
    39
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good but Not Exceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Average to above-average Thai and Indian cuisine. Good but not great. Time between ordering and being served was inexplicably long. I had a lamb dish and my wife went with a veg curry dish. It wasn't disappointing per se, but it wasn't anything remarkable either. Perhaps the experience would have been more satisfying if we hadn't eaten at Django's the prior night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddieC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Get the Fried Rice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We heard good things about this place and it was so good! We tried the Chicken Fried Rice and the flavor of the rice was amazing! The crab cakes were okay but the spring rolls were great and so fresh!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tcuckt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a cozy setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My daughter is a vegetarian, gluton free, and lactose intolerant. It is usually difficult to find a place to eat for her dietary needs but this place made for a large variety she could enjoy and that she dis!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
394 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Okay Thai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had lunch here yesterday and it did not live up to the recommendations. I had green curry shrimp and the portion was smallish and not very spicy. There was a black pepper flavor which I did not expect. A companion had the tom kha gai soup which was reportedly excellent, if not generous. The place is small but bright and cheery. Nice atmosphere and efficient waitstaff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank climber_in_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginger Cafe also viewed

 
Crested Butte, CO
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to Ginger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing