We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Cook is an excellent choice for sandwiches and soup”
Review of Why Cook?!

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Why Cook?!
Ranked #38 of 66 Restaurants in Crested Butte
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Boerne, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Why Cook is an excellent choice for sandwiches and soup”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Well-made, delicious sandwiches on fresh baked rolls. Create your own or try the daily special. Service is usually outstanding - quick and friendly. Tomato gorgonzola soup is really good. In fact the soups are so good, my aunt ordered 12 pints to take home to Texas. That was a lot of soup! They also offer prepared entrees and desserts, but we usually get soups, sandwiches, and a drink. The blood orange San Pellegrino is awesome. My last several visits to Why Cook have been excellent. I am very happy doing business with this food shop and recommend it as a great place for reasonably priced, tasty sandwiches and creative soups.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Iloveprongies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and good service”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I'm convinced everything on the menu is fantastic. Also, surprisingly, a great place to take kids.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Why Cook?! Rarely Disappointed, Friendly Service”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Have been visiting Why Cook?! for several years. The Hungarian mushroom soup is superb and my most recommended item. Call ahead to make sure they have it or place an order for it. A large order may be placed for families, etc. This is the best place in town to get a normal sandwich - one without specially concocted dressings or 15 different ingredients. Today we got tuna salad sandwiches for a picnic - came with chips, drink, and cookie. Sandwiches are fresh and made while you wait. Good bread. Nice selection of quality ingredients. The entrees are good, too. My husband likes the stroganoff. Large portions can be ordered, too. I have only been disappointed in the egg salad and desserts - especially the lemon bars. Except for these two things, and the fact that they no longer make the chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwiches which were sooo good, Why Cook?! would rate 5 stars.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Iloveprongies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great picnic takeout”
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We were visiting the area and had eaten at the restaurant the night before. The food was so good that we decided to try out the "takeout" side at Why Cook. We were going to Black Canyon for the day and needed a lunch and they fixed us up with a gourmet sandwich with chips, a drink, and a cookie. It was a fantastic lunch and better than anything we could have picked up at the grocery store. We also went away with a piece of chocolate cake and cheesecake for a snack went we got back to the hotel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2fly2everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnison
2 reviews
“We frequent Le Bosquet more than any other in the Valley”
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Why go anywhere else and pay higher cost for food that doesn't compare? Le Bosquet is our favorite couples restaurant hands down. The interior could use a little update to go with the world-class cuisine but we keep coming back and I admit to ordering the elk every time. The staff is relaxed and friendly. You will not be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GunniLocals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Why Cook?! also viewed

 
Crested Butte, CO
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to Why Cook?!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing