We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This B&B is a cozy and comfortable one. Chris prepares a beautiful and delicious breakfast each
Morning, and we find ourselves wondering "what will we have next"? Afterwards, he tells us the activities for the day in town, or directs us on hikes, etc. He is so helpful. We really enjoyed our stay there, and it's good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
126
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Crested Butte is a nice place to stop. Lots of quirky shops, restaurants and bars. Our favourite was the Dogwood Cabin with very tasteful and inventive cocktails. The B&b is very close to town...and is dog friendly. Breakfast is one sitting at one table, but very friendly. You are given lots of ideas for hikes and events each morning. Room was small, but its an old house and some walls are thin.

Crested butte is a nice town, no one locks anything, front doors open,bikes left out, slightly hippy.

If you want modern and boring than go to mount crested butte.

Gothic is up the road where you can have some nice hikes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Great location, comfortable, excellent breakfast, and very helpful with local information. Based on our visit in July, we'd recommend this B&B to anyone. The town and surroundings are also great, in any season.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Colorado
Level Contributor
210 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Crested Butte is an exceptional destination, with its quaint downtown, mountain village at the base of the spectacular skiing mountain, and in the heart of some of the finest mountains and densely flowered meadows in Colorado. Purple Mountain Lodge and Spa is in a house (actually an old mining headquarters building) on the eastern side of town, near other B&B accommodations…within walking distance to the rest of town. It has many fine features, including an array of bicycles to ride, a well-maintained outdoor hot tub adjacent to an attractive back yard, an indoor spa, and lots of amenities in the living room and in the separate guest rooms. Our room, in the middle of the expensive price range, was rather small, but had a comfortable bed, a couch, and adequate space for our belongings. The bathroom had a shower, but no tub. Other houses were very nearby, but the shades worked well for privacy. The breakfasts were good (but the orange juice wasn’t fresh-squeezed). The owner, Chris, emailed us in advance to inquire about food allergies and preferences, but seemed to forget our responses (as did the replacement cook the next morning while Chris had left town for a day with his son). Of course, our allergy requests were eventually accommodated, but it was a bit awkward. Chris is knowledgeable and friendly and guests can be guaranteed a fine stay for a price that is reasonable for Crested Butte, but steep by most standards. Almost a 5-star.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Chris runs a very tight ship and provides a very chill experience. He is very responsive to requests and makes sure you have a positive experience. Each morning, he cooks a sit down breakfast where all of the guests eat together. He presents the meal and then gives an overview of the activities going on in town and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyinKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Purple Mountain Lodge was a great introduction to Crested Butte. For a couple or singles, I can't imagine a better place to get acquainted with this offbeat town. It's not Aspen nor Vail. Hurray! It's REAL. Real people who love their town and take pride in its character. This B&B is everything you'd expect. Quirky accommodations in a Victorian age building, interesting fellow travelers who gather around the dining room table for breakfast and share stories about their travels, their interests and their stories. The host, Chris Haver, is a gold mine of information about the town, the hiking trails and anything else you might want to know about Crested Butte. Do not expect the Four Seasons. This place is more authentic. Breakfasts, prepared by the Owner, were outstanding. We did not need lunch. This was one of our best weeks ever in Colorado. Skip Vail; CB is a real town, not a development...

Room Tip: Try Whetstone. It's good size and the balcony is a nice place to have lunch or an early evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EljayNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayview, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We came into town around 8pm without a room booked. After making numerous calls and getting answering services or a no-vacancy reply, we ended up calling Purple Mountain B&B. Chris answered and even though he was out of town with his family for the evening, he invited us in, walked us through the place and even gave us great suggestions for dinner...ALL OVER THE PHONE! His hospitality was incredible and it didn't end there. We woke to a generous gourmet breakfast. He gave detailed information about hiking and biking trails-which we later experienced. The wild flowers are in full bloom and it was breathtaking! He even took the time to know that we were leaving later that day and shared the best route out of the state. The place is adorable and so very comfy, while at the same time high end details are not overlooked. Would definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa

Property: Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa
Address: 714 Gothic Ave, PO Box 1879, Crested Butte, CO 81224-8700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Purple Mountain Bed and Breakfast is Crested Butte's exclusive boutique lodging, conveniently located in the heart of downtown. We are a historically modern bed and breakfast featuring six plush rooms, each with its own private bath, perfect for a cozy, authentic experience. In the morning, you will awaken to the aroma of freshly brewed Camp 4 Coffee, a local Crested Butte mountain brew. Daily we offer a gourmet breakfast providing the fuel your body needs to enjoy paradise. Customizing each guest's stay, we work closely with our clientele when recommending and scheduling activities to make your stay truly memorable. In the winter, you may choose to ski, snowboard, snowshoe, and snowmobile, and in the summer, there is endless hiking, biking, jeep tours, fly fishing and golf. Located within walking distance to Elk Avenue, Crested Butte's National Historic District, and the free town bus shuttle to the base area of Mount Crested Butte Resort, Purple Mountain Bed and Breakfast is Crested Butte's premier setting to experience "Colorado's last great ski town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing