We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at the best for an awesome rest......it's a definite beaut in Crested Butte!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Broomfield, CO
1 review
“Stay at the best for an awesome rest......it's a definite beaut in Crested Butte!”
Reviewed 14 August 2009

My husband and I spent two days recently at the Purple Mountain Lodge B&B while mtn biking in the area. Loved the relaxing atmosphere and very homey feeling of the B&B. Being able to sleep with the windows wide open and having the cool mountain air lull you to sleep was wonderful.

Chris Haver the owner/proprietor was very helpful with information on biking routes and local establishments to dine at in town. Very "green" in being able to walk everywhere from the B&B to the town area.

Chris is an excellent cook and his breakfast selections were impeccable! Especially enjoyed his blue cornmeal blueberry pancakes. Yummy, yummy. The parfait glasses with fresh fruit and yogurt were very nice touches.

Those travellers that love dogs will become fast friends with Chris' trusty home companions Makayla and Zoe.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoots133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
126
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We had a wonderful time in Crested Butte and loved staying at the Purple Mountain Lodge! Chris was extremely helpful and the Inn was the perfect place to get away. We would recommend this spot to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wywywywy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, CO
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Chris was a fantastic host - the breakfasts he prepared were wonderful - frittatas, eggs florentine, banana-nut waffles! The Purple Mountain Lodge is conveniently located within walking distance of all the great restaurants and shops in Crested Butte. We parked the car and walked everywhere. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, CO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We loved the Lodge and Crested Butte. Chris was an excellent host, advisor and chef. Breakfasts were great. Chris gave excellent guidance on where to hike and how to get there. He also gave great and accurate recommendations on restaurants in town. Crested Butte is an incredibly beautiful place. The hikes and wild flowers were inspiring, beautiful views everywhere we looked. We also loved being able to bring our dogs on the trip. Chris allows dogs over 30 pounds. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbitgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We spent six nights here to do some early season mountain biking and had a hard time choosing between the B&B's in town, but we were completely satisfied with our choice to stay at PML and will definitely stay here next time we return.

The house and rooms are all comfy and clean. The living room is a great place to hang out before breakfast or after a day out. Chris takes a lot of care in personally planning and preparing breakfast each morning (which we're trying to re-create back home now). He'll also take the same care in helping you plan your day - skiing, biking, shopping, dining, or anything else you can name. Chris clearly loves this town and will make sure you enjoy CB as much as he does, particularly if you're an active traveler.

Heather is an extraordinary massage therapist and we highly recommend a session in the spa room in the house during your visit. Make your appointment early - it seems she also has a loyal local clientele and stays busy. Between Heather and twenty minutes in the hot tub out back, you have no excuse to not sleep soundly each night.

Finally, Makaylah is the nicest, mellowest dog I've ever met. But Chris wouldn't let us take her home with us - that was the only disappointing part of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Had a great time here. Innkeeper let us in on all the sweet powder stashes on the mountain. Rooms and amenities were cozy and the inn is a good value as an alternative to big loud on mountain resorts.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelpkutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

Our trip included Valentine's Day and what a treat to return from a long day of skiing to find chocolate covered strawberries and prosecco waiting for us! Owner/host Chris really puts the personal touch on everything, from substantial, delicious breakfasts to advice on skiing, restaurants, and anything you want to know about this great little town. We stayed here last summer and kept our vow to return, and were not disappointed. The breakfasts were so filling that we didn't need to buy lunch while skiing. We really looked forward to the new menu each morning. Yes, we'll go back again!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#6 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa

Property: Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa
Address: 714 Gothic Ave, PO Box 1879, Crested Butte, CO 81224-8700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Purple Mountain Bed and Breakfast is Crested Butte's exclusive boutique lodging, conveniently located in the heart of downtown. We are a historically modern bed and breakfast featuring six plush rooms, each with its own private bath, perfect for a cozy, authentic experience. In the morning, you will awaken to the aroma of freshly brewed Camp 4 Coffee, a local Crested Butte mountain brew. Daily we offer a gourmet breakfast providing the fuel your body needs to enjoy paradise. Customizing each guest's stay, we work closely with our clientele when recommending and scheduling activities to make your stay truly memorable. In the winter, you may choose to ski, snowboard, snowshoe, and snowmobile, and in the summer, there is endless hiking, biking, jeep tours, fly fishing and golf. Located within walking distance to Elk Avenue, Crested Butte's National Historic District, and the free town bus shuttle to the base area of Mount Crested Butte Resort, Purple Mountain Bed and Breakfast is Crested Butte's premier setting to experience "Colorado's last great ski town". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing