We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Chris was a great host in every way, at a great B&B! !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Longmont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic! Chris was a great host in every way, at a great B&B! !”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My wife and I were very pleasantly surprised at the accommodations and service at the Purple Mountain Lodge. We found it online, but called and talked to the owner, Chris and found him to be so friendly and helpful. He made sure we were comfortable in every way and gave great tips for restaurants which made our stay even more enjoyable. His breakfast was delicious - every single person at our table finished every bite it was so good!
We'll be back on our next trip to Crested Butte for sure!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toddi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
134
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed in the largest room with a couch, balcony and claw foot bathtub. The tub is great for soaking after a long hike. The lodge is warm and inviting, comfortable, and relaxing. The owner truly thinks of everything....coffee, tea and trail mix all day; vitamin boost pakets, homemade cookies at night; a fridge upstairs for the guests to use, self check-in if he's out;, daily weather reports and local happenings posted in lobby; massages in spa are also available. There are two friendly resident dogs which add to the ambiance. .

The owner is a superb host who cooks hearty, delicious, gourmetish breakfasts suitable for vigorous local activity (hiking, biking, etc.). One day the lodge was filled with the smell of rasberry jam being made which was served for breakfast the next morning. The next day, blueberry jam was brewing.

This is truly one of the most hospitable, memorable places we've stayed in and we travel frequently. As a matter of fact, we liked it so much we extended our stay by one day instead of going on to Vail as planned.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Zooland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

The Purple Mountain B&B was everything we'd hoped for and more, a wonderful B&B in a great location close to an equally wonderful town. Our host was gracious and helpful...and an exceptional chef. Room was cozy and comfortable and the lodge was bright and airy with a welcoming atmosphere. We stayed two nights and loved Crested Butte and the surrounding area. We will definitely return to the area and this lodge will be our home when we do.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bundini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2010

This was a very comfortable and homey place to stay. A welcoming host, excellent breakfast and relaxing environment that I look forward to returning to. One day of our stay we ended up being rained out of our plans but Chris had other ideas and destinations for us as well as a lobby that we were perfectly happy to lounge around, read a book and munch on the fresh-baked cookies. We also appreciated the acceptance of big dogs.

Thanks Chris! Hope to see you again ...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IACrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Purple Mountain Lodge is a great place to stay in Crested Butte. The room was fantastic, breakfast was delicious, and Chris is an amazing host. He knows the best places to go and see and turned us on to some great drives.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johncrilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2010

First time in Crested Butte, loved the town and the Purple Mountain Lodge. Chris, Zoe and Makaylah are excellent hosts! Breakfast is amazing, all the restaurant/hiking info from Chris is very helpful, and the rooms are a great value for the quality and location (and free wi-fi for those of us who can't abandon our internet habits!). Will definitely be back next summer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

My husband and I were in town for a wedding and were recommended by our friends to stay at this B&B - Chris did not dissappoint. The only other B&B we stayed at was old, uncomfortable and with fruit for breakfast - This was no where near that experience. the rooms were clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was amazing. The eggs, fruit parfait and homemade buscuits were delicious. We also loved Zoe and Makalya. All in all we would reccommend this to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.0 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
767 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
265 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa

Property: Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa
Address: 714 Gothic Ave, PO Box 1879, Crested Butte, CO 81224-8700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Purple Mountain Bed and Breakfast is Crested Butte's exclusive boutique lodging, conveniently located in the heart of downtown. We are a historically modern bed and breakfast featuring six plush rooms, each with its own private bath, perfect for a cozy, authentic experience. In the morning, you will awaken to the aroma of freshly brewed Camp 4 Coffee, a local Crested Butte mountain brew. Daily we offer a gourmet breakfast providing the fuel your body needs to enjoy paradise. Customizing each guest's stay, we work closely with our clientele when recommending and scheduling activities to make your stay truly memorable. In the winter, you may choose to ski, snowboard, snowshoe, and snowmobile, and in the summer, there is endless hiking, biking, jeep tours, fly fishing and golf. Located within walking distance to Elk Avenue, Crested Butte's National Historic District, and the free town bus shuttle to the base area of Mount Crested Butte Resort, Purple Mountain Bed and Breakfast is Crested Butte's premier setting to experience "Colorado's last great ski town". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing