We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a beautiful Mt. Crested Butte, but no A/C!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel in September over the Labor Day holiday. The room was roomy and well-equipped. It was a studio with a king bed. Had a mini-frig, mini-stove, mini-dishwasher, and mini-sink and a microwave. There was a murphy-bed in the sitting area. Bathroom is small. The room and hotel was clean. Warning! There is no A/C!! Even Crested Butte gets warm in the summer and early fall, so this might be something you would want to consider. Overall the room was very nice. The hotel was clean and well-maintained. Hotel is close to the shuttle stop that takes you to the town of Crested Butte for FREE!
Also was charged a resort fee when I was ready to check out. Was not told about it during my reservation or at check-in. Would like to see the resort company a little more upfront about this charge.
I would stay here again, but in the late fall or winter so the lack of an A/C wouldn't be an issue.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor away from elevator and ice machine. No noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FitTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel has a great location on the mountain but reservation information on pricing was very poor. The first agent gave us the wrong pricing but could not reserve the room at the time and told us to call another number the next morning for that night. The price was much higher when talking with the agent but gave us 3 lift tickets. When we arrived at the hotel the room was not ready at almost 4pm. The room was ready an hour later but had the wrong name on the room. Was told that the room was 2 king beds and when we opened the door we only saw 1 king and we left the room to let the desk know. At the desk they tell us that the 2nd king was in the wall. Should have mentioned that at check in. A table & 2 chairs had to be moved before the bed could be used and the 2nd bed was not the same good quality mattress as the regular bed. We were told that is was the same type mattress (not). Upon checked I asked for a copy of the bill and was told that it was not available at the desk but only on an email that was sent at the time the reservation was made. After accessing the email it was discovered there were many hidden charges......resort fees. etc. that we were not informed of at the time of booking. We were informed of the room rate and a very tax rate of over 16%, but not the other charges! The desk clerk said she was sorry but she could not adjusted our bill from there but we could call reservation number to talk to them about it. She did say she would give us 3 free breakfast buffets but we had just eaten! (cost us about $35). Good Grief! The area is beautiful but beware of some of the sloppiness in billing and lack of information.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at Grand Lodge Crested Butte, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry there was confusion regarding our rates, taxes, and fees. To clarify, all of our rates are based on double occupancy, and any additional adults beyond two are subject to a $20 per person fee, which is a standard hotel practice. Children 17 and under always stay free at the Grand Lodge. Since we are part of Crested Butte Mountain Resort, we are able to offer complimentary scenic chair lift rides with summer reservations. However, this promotion is only available when booking through Crested Butte Mountain Resort’s on-site central reservations office. Our tax rate in Mt. Crested Butte is 16.5% as mandated by the State of Colorado, the Town of Mt. Crested Butte, and the Mt. Crested Butte Town Center Community Association. In addition, we have a $9.86 nightly resort fee (inclusive of tax) that provides parking, high-speed wireless internet access, access to the pool, hot tub, and fitness center, in–room coffee and bottled water service, a daily USA Today newspaper, and business center access to every guest. By including all of these amenities in one discounted resort fee, our guests are able to take advantage of all of these great amenities at a reduced rate instead of purchasing them a la carte per use. All of our taxes and fees are outlined clearly on our confirmations, as we pride ourselves on itemizing all charges to avoid hidden fees. Because our central reservations office uses a separate booking system than the property management system used at the hotel front desk, all receipts are emailed directly from our central reservations office. While the front desk cannot print a receipt from our system, we are always happy to contact our reservations office to send an itemized itinerary upon request.

Check-in time at the Grand Lodge begins at 4:00pm daily. We try to accommodate all early check-in requests as often as possible, but there are times when the hotel is at capacity that we cannot accommodate early check-in requests. I apologize that we were not able to check you in prior to our 4:00pm check-in.

The Emmons Studio Suite that you described does have a king bed and a second king Murphy bed that folds from the wall. I am surprised to read that this was not satisfactory, as we typically receive great praise for these accommodations because they provide floor space during the day, and the comfort of an actual mattress instead of a sleeper sofa at night. I am sorry that the room configuration did not fit your needs.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may assist further. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Lodge in the future.

Best regards,

Sarah Burke
Front Office Manager
sburke@cbmr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We got married in August 2013 at Uley's cabin on the mountain and all of our guests including the two of us stayed here. Great hotel, super accommodating and always friendly staff. The rooms are perfect, most are suites so you get a little extra room with a frig and small kitchenette. Great place to stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine_travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

From the moment we arrived we were pleased with the Grand Lodge. This was our first stay in Crested Butte and at this hotel. We had a King Suite for our group and we were very pleased with the layout of the suite. One of the members of our party is a huge snorer but we did not hear her. We had a few ideas to make the huge bathroom more guest friendly but all in all we had a great time there and hope to return this next ski season. We also dined at the restaurant and were very pleased with the service and the food. I would recommend they offer a happy hour and pull in more guests since it did not seem very busy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjespinoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Offers free WiFi, but not breakfast in normal room stay. The room was pleasant, offered in room safe which is always a bonus, the bed was comfortable and nice location to ski resort. Town was only a short drive away...2 minutes maybe...

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ozchick5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Practically perfect in every way. Beautiful place in a beautiful place! A balcony would have made it ideal. Comfort and convenience made for a lovely weekend. No AC, so follow the instructions for keeping your suite cool during the heat of summer and you will be fine. A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of The Mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farmbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked the Grand Lodge Crested Butte along with four other families. We all chose the King Suite (either Corner or not Corner) since we were traveling with two adults and two children. In our case we got the King Corner Suite. Our son slept on the pull - out couch. We paid an extra $25/night for a roll away twin bed for our daughter which was also in the kitchenette area. It was a little packed, but it worked. The kitchen is really not designed to make hot meals. We were able to have breakfast of oatmeal and cereal with smaller container for a mini-fridge. We did stock the pantry with bread, deli meat, snacks so we packed our lunch every day.

The walk from the lifts is not slope side or really Ski In. Once you walk out the lobby, you cross over the street, through the main plaza, past the ski retailers, and then get to the first lifts. We stored our skis near the slopes and that worked out fine. We wore our snow boots in to close by the lifts, then put our gear on.

Crested Butte is all about the snow and the lifts. It was awesome. We never had to wait more than five minutes tops even at the peak times. I asked a few of the chair operators if it was slow and they said No. I don't know how many runs we did a day but it had to be over 15 full mountain runs as a result and may another half dozen half-mountain runs. We had skiied Copper Mountain the year before and had 'Secret Pass' so we could skip the Spring Break lines, and I was worried we'd wait at CB. Not at all. Great snow, no wait, lots of Blues and Greens to ski, and a few doable Blacks. I did get into the weeds on a Black that was hardly skied at all so too much powder and too big moguls but if that is the worst you can say - good grief! The town was great. About the only downside is the restaurant at the Grand Lodge was below average. I think we ate their once and it was not good. Otherwise it was a terrific trip. Planning a return trip this year~!

Room Tip: Corner King Suites may be smaller than non-Corner King Suites - at least eye-balling it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boycearama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
833 reviews
0 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Plaza Condominiums
The Plaza Condominiums
#4 of 7 in Crested Butte
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
21.9 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lodge Crested Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Address: 6 Emmons Loop, P.O. Box 1369, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range: £104 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge Crested Butte 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Lodge Crested Butte features 226 oversized hotel rooms and spacious suites to accommodate all types of travelers. Every room is surprisingly affordable and includes comforts and conveniences to make your stay ideal, any time of the year. Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Climate Control Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Consistent with most Colorado mountain resorts, the Grand Lodge does not offer air-conditioning in guest rooms. Pet Friendly Property The Grand Lodge welcomes well-behaved dogs of all shapes and sizes. Pet friendly rooms are limited, so please reserve in advance. A nightly $30 fee for each pet will be charged to your room, and a portion of this fee will be donated to P.A.W.S., a local animal rescue service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Lodge Crested Butte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Resort Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing