We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Customer Service Lacking”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Grand Lodge for two nights, on the last weekend of the "official" summer season. It is a comfortable lodge in a beautiful Colorado resort town. The fall colors were amazing. We stayed in a King Suite. The room was nice, by no means luxurious, and had a small kitchenette. The bedding was not very comfortable. Not sure how to explain it, but it made a lot of "noise" any time you moved in the bed. It was a very "stiff" cotton. What we were most surprised at, was the lack of customer service throughout the lodge. The front desk staff was not very knowledgeable about the Crested Butte Village and what restaurants were available. I went to the front desk to get a map of the local hiking and biking trails. Apparently the person that assisted me had just come off of their break, as the overwhelming smell of cigarettes on his breath was nauseating. The maid staff came in early and cleaned the room. However, they failed to leave us a bath mat for the floor, so we had to use one of the towels. The restaurant that is on site was VERY challenged. We went down for a drink the first night and the bartender had no idea what was on their wine list. She said she had just come off of a week's vacation and couldn't remember. Really?? They were also understaffed. The second night we were there was very busy and they only had the bartender on staff and one waiter. They simply could not keep up! We observed one hotel guest come down to order food to go. He told the bartender he had tried four times to call for room service, only to be hung up on every time. She said it was because "she was slammed". The bartender appeared to hate her job and it was apparent in the way she dealt with customers. We would happily return to Crested Butte for another visit, but would choose to try another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinglm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    206
    59
    21
    26
See reviews for
229
210
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at the Grand Lodge for only two nights, but would have happily stayed longer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bellman who brought up our bags thoroughly explained all of the features of the room and of the lodge as a whole, and he gave us some good tips about the town. The room was clean and comfortable. It had a good view of the surrounding mountains, but did not have air conditioning. The restaurant served a good breakfast buffet. A stop for the free shuttle that takes people to and from the main part of town was just a short walk from the hotel's entrance The exercise room was small but had an acceptable amount of equipment. The indoor/outdoor pool was large and easy to access.

We were unable to purchase a jeep tour of the mountain sides around the town, which were blanketed with colorful wildflowers. However, an attendant at the front desk outlined a route that we could drive in our own car, and we were able to spend several hours driving through some of the most beautiful scenery we have ever encountered.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RALNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Classy lodge living! Great room with very comfortable bed. Quiet. Ask for a room with a view of the mountain. The room was a suite so there was extra room with a frig, small stove, sink and microwave. Friendly staff, we would stay there again. Living area with option of using Murphy bed. A most comfortable experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Yes, the hotel rooms have no AC, but in September, this is not much of a problem. The room layout is nice, with a small kitchenette, a murphy bed, and sitting area, and a king bed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorIkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel in September over the Labor Day holiday. The room was roomy and well-equipped. It was a studio with a king bed. Had a mini-frig, mini-stove, mini-dishwasher, and mini-sink and a microwave. There was a murphy-bed in the sitting area. Bathroom is small. The room and hotel was clean. Warning! There is no A/C!! Even Crested Butte gets warm in the summer and early fall, so this might be something you would want to consider. Overall the room was very nice. The hotel was clean and well-maintained. Hotel is close to the shuttle stop that takes you to the town of Crested Butte for FREE!
Also was charged a resort fee when I was ready to check out. Was not told about it during my reservation or at check-in. Would like to see the resort company a little more upfront about this charge.
I would stay here again, but in the late fall or winter so the lack of an A/C wouldn't be an issue.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor away from elevator and ice machine. No noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FitTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel has a great location on the mountain but reservation information on pricing was very poor. The first agent gave us the wrong pricing but could not reserve the room at the time and told us to call another number the next morning for that night. The price was much higher when talking with the agent but gave us 3 lift tickets. When we arrived at the hotel the room was not ready at almost 4pm. The room was ready an hour later but had the wrong name on the room. Was told that the room was 2 king beds and when we opened the door we only saw 1 king and we left the room to let the desk know. At the desk they tell us that the 2nd king was in the wall. Should have mentioned that at check in. A table & 2 chairs had to be moved before the bed could be used and the 2nd bed was not the same good quality mattress as the regular bed. We were told that is was the same type mattress (not). Upon checked I asked for a copy of the bill and was told that it was not available at the desk but only on an email that was sent at the time the reservation was made. After accessing the email it was discovered there were many hidden charges......resort fees. etc. that we were not informed of at the time of booking. We were informed of the room rate and a very tax rate of over 16%, but not the other charges! The desk clerk said she was sorry but she could not adjusted our bill from there but we could call reservation number to talk to them about it. She did say she would give us 3 free breakfast buffets but we had just eaten! (cost us about $35). Good Grief! The area is beautiful but beware of some of the sloppiness in billing and lack of information.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at Grand Lodge Crested Butte, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry there was confusion regarding our rates, taxes, and fees. To clarify, all of our rates are based on double occupancy, and any additional adults beyond two are subject to a $20 per person fee, which is a standard hotel practice. Children 17 and under always stay free at the Grand Lodge. Since we are part of Crested Butte Mountain Resort, we are able to offer complimentary scenic chair lift rides with summer reservations. However, this promotion is only available when booking through Crested Butte Mountain Resort’s on-site central reservations office. Our tax rate in Mt. Crested Butte is 16.5% as mandated by the State of Colorado, the Town of Mt. Crested Butte, and the Mt. Crested Butte Town Center Community Association. In addition, we have a $9.86 nightly resort fee (inclusive of tax) that provides parking, high-speed wireless internet access, access to the pool, hot tub, and fitness center, in–room coffee and bottled water service, a daily USA Today newspaper, and business center access to every guest. By including all of these amenities in one discounted resort fee, our guests are able to take advantage of all of these great amenities at a reduced rate instead of purchasing them a la carte per use. All of our taxes and fees are outlined clearly on our confirmations, as we pride ourselves on itemizing all charges to avoid hidden fees. Because our central reservations office uses a separate booking system than the property management system used at the hotel front desk, all receipts are emailed directly from our central reservations office. While the front desk cannot print a receipt from our system, we are always happy to contact our reservations office to send an itemized itinerary upon request.

Check-in time at the Grand Lodge begins at 4:00pm daily. We try to accommodate all early check-in requests as often as possible, but there are times when the hotel is at capacity that we cannot accommodate early check-in requests. I apologize that we were not able to check you in prior to our 4:00pm check-in.

The Emmons Studio Suite that you described does have a king bed and a second king Murphy bed that folds from the wall. I am surprised to read that this was not satisfactory, as we typically receive great praise for these accommodations because they provide floor space during the day, and the comfort of an actual mattress instead of a sleeper sofa at night. I am sorry that the room configuration did not fit your needs.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may assist further. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Lodge in the future.

Best regards,

Sarah Burke
Front Office Manager
sburke@cbmr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We got married in August 2013 at Uley's cabin on the mountain and all of our guests including the two of us stayed here. Great hotel, super accommodating and always friendly staff. The rooms are perfect, most are suites so you get a little extra room with a frig and small kitchenette. Great place to stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine_travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
746 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Paradise Crested Butte Condos
#6 of 7 in Crested Butte
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
0.1 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
347 reviews
2.3 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lodge Crested Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Property: Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Address: 6 Emmons Loop, P.O. Box 1369, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge Crested Butte 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Lodge Crested Butte features 226 oversized hotel rooms and spacious suites to accommodate all types of travelers. Every room is surprisingly affordable and includes comforts and conveniences to make your stay ideal, any time of the year. Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Climate Control Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Consistent with most Colorado mountain resorts, the Grand Lodge does not offer air-conditioning in guest rooms. Pet Friendly Property The Grand Lodge welcomes well-behaved dogs of all shapes and sizes. Pet friendly rooms are limited, so please reserve in advance. A nightly $30 fee for each pet will be charged to your room, and a portion of this fee will be donated to P.A.W.S., a local animal rescue service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Lodge Crested Butte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Resort Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing