We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Always Stay at Grand Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We love the friendly staff at Grand Lodge. The comfortable hotel lobby is a great place to sit on a couch and visit with friends or other guests (and grab fresh baked cookies Apres Ski). We have stayed in the Emmons suites and King Suites. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We love the convenient location to the slopes, the free town shuttle steps from the front door, and that we have been able to bring our dog along on some of our visits. My least favorite part is the bathrooms; although they are clean I wish they were a little more updated and less generic (kind of silly, I know). Our daughter has enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool many times and we like the hot tub and steam room. The hot tub can get a little crowded at times (Apres Ski) so if we didn't get there early we would opt not to go. The breakfast buffet is a good way to fuel up before a day of skiing. Most of all, everyone there is so friendly and gracious, it will keep us coming back on our future visits to Crested Butte.

Room Tip: Great value, friendly service, good location, nice amenities and property! You really can't go w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abarker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed at Grand Lodge in a Whetstone Suite in early March, 2014. Booked it through Vacation Roost, described as as a Whetstone (1BR Suite) King. The price was great. The Murphy bed in the living area was very comfortable for our teenager and elementary school aged kid. The king bed in the bedroom was great as well, and the bedroom had a door and separate bathroom. The living room/kitchen also had a separate bathroom.

The suite was in a newer building of the Grand Lodge. We overlooked the parking lot, but there still was a nice mountain view in the background. The Grand Lodge was quiet and very comfortable.

The indoor/outdoor pool is relatively big and very nice. The pictures you see of it online do not do it justice We are pool snobs and it was great. The pool was nice and warm, and it was great to be able to enter/exit the pool indoors. It was cool enough that the kids did not overheat, yet it was warm enough to almost feel like a hot tub when outdoors. If I had to estimate, the pool was around 85 degrees F, and it was warm enough to be enjoyable when outdoors in the cool spring ski weather. The hot tub looked nice as well - I don't think we used it, but everyone in there appeared to be enjoying it.

The breakfast buffet was not included in our lodging package, but it was pretty good and had eggs, sausage or bacon, potatoes, biscuits, cereal, etc. The Grand Lodge is about a 5 minute walk to the lifts, and one nice feature is that they put your skis for no extra charge at a corral near the base, so you don't have to schlepp them around. One of our kids rented boots only at Flatiron Sports at the base area and they were very friendly and helpful.

The skiing was great the week we were there - lots of fresh snow and virtually no lift lines. They had a nice mix of groomed and ungroomed runs. We stuck to the groomed runs - Paradise Bowl, Treasury were great. If you like extreme skiing it looks like this would be great for you also.

The town of Crested Butte is very nice and eclectic. There is a free town bus that picks up right outside the Grand Lodge and takes you to several stops in town. Lots of good dining in town.

The ride to and from the airport to Crested Butte is nice and scenic. However, one caution is that if you have a short window for your trip, Crested Butte might not be the best place, unless you can fly non-stop or drive, as our first flight got canceled on what would have been our first day, and even on the rebooked flight the second day our flight from Denver to Gunnison was canceled and luckily we were able to fly in that evening. We ended up losing a night of lodging and a day of skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T-RexFromTheVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Family of four stayed in the Emmons suite with kitchenette. One king bed and a murphy bed. Very spacious with a view towards the ski area. Very nice! Friendly staff. There is a breakfast buffet for a cost which was very good. I think it was around $10.00 for the breakfast, you can fuel up before you head out on the slopes or just have breakfast in your room. Right out the front door is a free shuttle you can take down to town to have dinner or just to look around. All in all very nice place, will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Four days in Crested Butte with our canine, and could not have had a better experience.
Stayed in a First Floor King Suite equipped with studio fridge, single burner, microwave, coffee maker and dishwasher with all the needed utensils and cookware to eat-in. Operable window, yeah ! for fresh air, clean, and in great condition.
Inside-Outside Pool, and hot tub, quite nice. Staff was very accomodating, did not enter the room, and provided service only as requested.
Endless snow shoe, cross-country, or hiking trails with you and your dog at the Gothic/Snodgrass trails a mile up the street, with free bus access. or at Peanut Lake worth exploring. Great stay, highly recommended for you and your canine.

Room Tip: King Suites are great value, and provide studio aprtment ammenities for the cost of a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairplay4159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The staff at the Grand Lodge really goes above and beyond! They let us check in at 9:00 am. They bellhop trudged out into the snow to help get all of our luggage. Anytime we had a question or request they were super polite and went out of their way to help.

The location to lifts can't be beat. Plus you can check your skis for free while staying at the lodge (so it saves you carrying your gear about 100 ft).

They offer a breakfast buffet starting pretty early so you get a bite and hit up the powder as quickly as possible.

This is the only three star hot-wire hotel in Crested Butte (at time of review). So if it is available on hot-wire, you can likely save a few bucks. (We got it for $173/night for a Friday night in January, which was ~$50 less than the list price).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mathmagican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We bought the $279 getaway package for CB (2 - two day lift tix plus night lodging for $279) and was that a steal! We payed for an extra night at a reduced rate and I still feel great about what we spent! Since this was part of a package I didn't have high expectations for the lodging, it was convenient and part of the ski deal, so it didn't matter. I was blown away by everything. We stayed in a King Suite on the 2nd floor. The rooms are a great size and the kitchenette amenities are really, really nice. Two tv's and again, just plenty of space. We had a dog friendly room (b/c we brought our little pup). The room was VERY clean and comfortable for all 3 of us. This hotel is a nice short walk to the lifts and parking is free and easy. We took a dip in the hot tub during a snow storm which was really just perfect. The ski valet was a nice perk too. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is the place that my husband and I stay at every time we are visiting Crested Butte. .The location is perfect when skiing at Crested Butte since the lift is just a short walk from the lodge. We do not have to use a car until we are ready to leave. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I like that we can leave our skis with the staff and they will take the equipment to the Outpost. The buses taking you to the city is just a few steps away. And Best of all, so is DJangos. The amenities are wonderful with the hot tub and pool. there is also a spa. I had a wonderful stone massage, which was much needed after a weekend of skiing. The beds are also very comfortable, which is sometimes tricky. There is a small kitchen with microwave, refrigerator, and one burner. We will bring breakfast food with us and then eat out at the many wonderful restaurants nearby. Yes - I love this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
809 reviews
0 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Plaza Condominiums
The Plaza Condominiums
#4 of 7 in Crested Butte
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Paradise Crested Butte Condos
#6 of 7 in Crested Butte
5 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lodge Crested Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Address: 6 Emmons Loop, P.O. Box 1369, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range: £107 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge Crested Butte 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Lodge Crested Butte features 226 oversized hotel rooms and spacious suites to accommodate all types of travelers. Every room is surprisingly affordable and includes comforts and conveniences to make your stay ideal, any time of the year. Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Climate Control Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Consistent with most Colorado mountain resorts, the Grand Lodge does not offer air-conditioning in guest rooms. Pet Friendly Property The Grand Lodge welcomes well-behaved dogs of all shapes and sizes. Pet friendly rooms are limited, so please reserve in advance. A nightly $30 fee for each pet will be charged to your room, and a portion of this fee will be donated to P.A.W.S., a local animal rescue service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Lodge Crested Butte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Resort Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing