We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Ruby is aptly named as it is a true gem. I returned this morning from a wonderful stay with 5 friends. I have stayed in all types of lodging in CB and can honestly say that from now on I will only stay at The Ruby. It is rare to find a hotel or B&B that hits a homerun in every area and yet, Chris and Andrea and their staff knock it out of the park every time. Several things among many make this a wonderful experience...
1. Cleanliness...This place is spotless! Not a dust bunny or smudge to be found. It is evident that they take pride in this home, no detail is missed.
2. Friendliness...I would challenge you to find a friendlier staff. They are warm, genuine, and accommodating at a level that is unsurpassed.
3. Comfort...wonderful beds, excellent linens, comfy common areas, beautiful dining area, stocked fridge with microbrews, sodas, and water, wines, hot tea, coffee and specialty coffee drinks, nuts, fresh baked cookies, chocolates by the bed, plush amenities in the bathroom, fluffy towels, beautiful landscaping...I could keep going but just make your reservation and go experience it yourself :-) You won't regret it!
4. Location...The B&B is just a short walk to Elk (the Main street of CB) putting shopping and restaurants just around the corner; it is just up the hill about 5 minutes to horseback riding and skiing and the rec trail and biking and hiking are just up the street. The Ruby provides free cruiser bikes which are fun and super convenient. The views from here are beautiful as well.
5. Food...everyone on TripAdvisor mentions the food, but I'd love to echo it. It is fantastic. A breakfast like this anywhere would be $30-$40 minimum. I am already craving the ham and egg cupcakes.
6. Green...if you want fresh, organic, local food, chemical free cleaners and green products this is the place. I take it as a personal compliment that Chris and Andrea care enough about their guests and the community to go the extra mile in donating to causes that support a healthier environment while living out this philosophy everyday at their own B&B. Thank you for the nontoxic air freshener :-) and all the other earth and people friendly products!
I just can't say enough good things about my experience here. It is truly the best B&B I have visited. Thank you to the entire staff at The Ruby for a wonderful getaway. I can't wait to come back soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Room #6 is wonderful for a large group. It really does comfortably sleep 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

We can't say enough about The Ruby. Everyone raves about the breakfasts for good reason--absolutely outstanding! In a town known for its amazing chefs, Chris ranks right up there. Andrea and Chris' attention to detail is what makes this place special. From the delicious cookies in the hallway, the beer and wine in the fridge, the bikes on the premises, their willingness to suggest hikes, make reservations, or sit down and chat, Chris and Andrea make you feel special and at home the moment you arrive. Our room was so comfortable and clean; the atmosphere was tranquil and restful, and we can't wait to go back. We've recommended The Ruby already to family and friends. Only hoping that we don't make it so popular that we can't get a room when we come back in the Fall :).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We wanted to go to Crested Butte to do some fly fishing and had never been there. I contacted the Ruby via their site and Andrea (owner along with her husband Chris) called within a couple of hours. Long story short, she found two nights where she had availability. It was fairly last minute and we were lucky. It feels like a family member's home when you walk in. Smiles and a tour. Comfortable lovely rooms (we had the smallest one - again, last minute - and it was great). They really do not miss a trick - lovely wines always available along with Colorado beers and soft drinks. The breakfast? The BEST! Chris and Andrea become chefs first thing in the morning. Fabulous food and plenty of it. In addition, we brought out dog, Lyla. They were fabulous with her. In fact, Andrea "dog sat" for us when we went fishing. When we left to go home, I really think they would have preferred to keep our dog.
Will we come back? Absolutely and I we have already told several people about the Ruby. So, if you would like a place to just relax and kick back with great restaurants within walking distance and one of the best breakfasts you will ever have, try staying in Chris and Andrea's home for a couple of nights. On the other hand, if you want ordinary and plain - you should really pass.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely. The top floor has a larger room to accomodate families. The others are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Our family virtually took over The Ruby during my niece's recent Crested Butte wedding. Chris, Andrea and their staff were like a part of the family our whole stay. When the term luxury bed and breakfast was coined it had to have been The Ruby that was being described. Comfortable, extremely clean and homey, The Ruby is the place to stay in Crested Butte. And the breakfasts are "to die for". It is located within an easy walk of everything in town and if you don't like to walk just borrow one of the bikes they provide to explore the whole area. Just read the other reviews and you will see that everyone who has stayed at The Ruby seems to feel the same way we do. No request was ignored and all of us had a great time sharing stories with Chris and Andrea. You can not go wrong in choosing The Ruby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This was our first time staying at The Ruby and thanks to Chris and Andrea, we completely enjoyed ourselves. Their attention to detail, genuine concern, interest in their guests, and love of what they do are noticed right away. The complimentary cookies, beer, and wine are just a couple of the special touches that they provide. Plus, the breakfasts were amazing! This is truly a wonderful place to stay, and we have already recommended it to a number of people. We would like to a go back right now!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StacieScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My fiancee and I planned a trip to the Ruby over a year ago, and when she broke her arm one week before our vacation we were both worried we'd lose our money and the opportunity to stay at such a beautiful place. Naturally, when we called the Ruby they could not have been MORE understanding and accommodating. They allowed us to reschedule because of the extenuating circumstances and we were able to go on this vacation about one month ago.

It was SPECTACULAR!

The Ruby is beautiful and well-appointed. The room that was recommended to us, was romantic, exceptionally clean and extraordinarily comfortable. The Ruby truly feels like coming home, and the owners could not be any nicer. They gave us GREAT recommendations of places to visit and eat in town, and we had a blast using their bikes to tour around.

Chris, Cassie and Andrea also make some of the greatest breakfasts I've ever had. I am not exaggerating in the slightest. From the unique "egg-flowers" to the apple-cinnamon pancakes, amazing cappuccinos and fresh juice selection...the food was superb. I highly recommend their stellar cinnamon rolls as well...unique and delicious!

All-in-all, I cannot say enough good things about the Ruby. It doesn't matter what time of year you're heading to Crested Butte or simply looking for a good Colorado experience, the Ruby IS the right choice and is a place that we'll be visiting again and again.

Our wedding is only one month away and we're planning another trip to the Ruby! Further, we've recommended it to a number of our out-of-town guests and they'll be heading north through the mountains to spend at least one evening (and morning) at the Ruby.

Thank you to Chris, Cassie and Andrea for such a terrific stay!

Room Tip: Simply contact the owners of the Ruby. If you tell them what you're looking for, they'll be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TroyAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We spent a night at The Ruby of Crested Butte in the beginning of June and had a wonderful time. Chris and Andrea have done a great job creating the perfect B&B. There was a wonderful balance of socializing, relaxation, and attention to detail - truly impressive amount of thoughtfulness. Our stay began with an outdoor dog wash, followed by surprise craft beer and massage pairing, a dip in the hot tub, and a tandem bike ride into town for dinner. Chris and Andrea supply everything from cookies/dog treats when you walk in - to a beautifully prepared breakfast made with fresh local ingredients when you wake up. If the scenery isn't enough to make you want to plan a trip to Crested Butte, staying at The Ruby and meeting Chris and Andrea will be!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
808 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crested Butte
252 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#9 of 9 in Crested Butte
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B

Address: 624 Gothic Avenue, In Historic Downtown, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range: £150 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated #1 Colorado Bed and Breakfast Inn by TripAdvisor, and recommended by Sunset and Southern Living magazines! Colorful. Authentic. Connected. Truly Crested Butte! The Ruby is Crested Butte's premier Bed and Breakfast Inn for the discerning visitor seeking gracious treatment, abundant amenities, and a destination where affordable luxury and environmental responsibility create an exceptional guest experience. The Ruby is located in historic downtown Crested Butte in the heart of the coveted Bed and Breakfast District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing