We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Louisville, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This was our second visit to the Ruby, and we will keep going back. When we left, Chris asked me what they could do better...and I could not give him one thing to improve on. Charming hosts, wonderful facility, spotless, excellent food, beautiful location...great attention to all the details. Can't say more. Stay here!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeepGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
269
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2010

As usual, Chris and Andrea Greene provided me and my husband with a luxurious, relaxing experience. Breakfast did not disappoint, and the calming, comforting environment that they have fostered makes you want to come back again and again. We are already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, CO
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We loved absolutely EVERYTHING about our stay at the Ruby. The room was immaculate, cozy, quiet and comfortable with luxuriously soft sheets and wonderful bed, flat screen T.V. and environmentally friendly toiletries. The entire place has such a sweet and welcoming feel, reflecting the down-to-earth nature of the innkeepers Chris and Andrea Greene. We were particularly inspired by the young owners who left the lure of big city life to pursue their dreams. Chris and Andrea have transformed this place on their own, room-by-room. No detail is overlooked including the library of books and DVDs, cookies and drinks left out for guests, a huge, clean hot tub, lots of comfy seating areas, beautiful gardens and glorious views out of the many windows, porches and balcony. The coup de grâce was breakfast which included egg drops and Chris's mother's recipe for homemade cinnamon rolls--the best we've ever eaten!!!! Downtown Crested Butte is a short, scenic stroll from the Ruby. We love, love, LOVE this place...can you tell?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Chris and Andrea have created a beautiful B & B. Lovely furnishings and the morning breakfast is a gourmet feast. Both the owners are well versed on the history of the area, the restaurants and the sights to see. Truly Chris and Andrea are what makes their inn the #1 place to stay when in Crested Butte. My wife and I were only staying two nights, but we were having such a wonderful time that we extended for an additional day. Be sure you sample Chris's cinnamon rolls! (His grandmother's recipe). When we return to Crested Butte, we definitely know where we will be staying!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmccarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed here for our anniversary and had a great time! Andrea and Chris are excellent hosts and make fantastic breakfasts. They are always happy to help you make a reservation or help you plan an activity for the day. Highly recommended!
And, the bikes that are available to the guests are a blast to cruise around town on!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebrightc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

The Ruby is truly a gem. Every detail is just perfect. The rooms are charming and oh so very comfortable with every attention paid to cleanliness and special touches. The open areas are warm and inviting. Andrea and Chris are wonderful hosts, offering as much information on hikes and the Crested Butte valley as you would like, making just unbelievably delicious breakfast and delectable homemade cookies, meeting your every need to make sure you have the stay you had hoped for in this incredibly beautiful part of Colorado. The Ruby sets the bar for places to stay, you will not find anywhere better.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWeiss069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

This was our third stay at the Ruby, and it was a treat! The room was very pretty, and everything there is always immaculate. There are three highlights of staying at the Ruby. First, Chris makes the most scrumptious breakfasts in the world! This is a definite diet buster! I would walk ten miles for his French toast! Delicious! Second, you cannot beat the location. Crested Butte is a mountain paradise. We like to go around the time of the Wildflower Festival, and it is absolutely a gorgeous place to hike, shop or just relax. And, finally, the proprietors really make this inn a special place Chris and Andrea always go out of their way to make sure each guest has everything they need (including dietary restrictions honored), they welcome dogs, there are DELICIOUS, fresh-baked cookies set out every day (24-7!). Chris also went above and beyond, helping us find the best and most current wildflower hikes and always taking time to listen to how our visit was going and ask if there was anything they could do to improve our stay. Chris and Andrea are always looking for ways to improve the B and B. They are never content, it is never "good enough," and this is part of what makes the Ruby exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
764 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
264 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B

Property: The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Address: 624 Gothic Avenue, In Historic Downtown, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated #1 Colorado Bed and Breakfast Inn by TripAdvisor, and recommended by Sunset and Southern Living magazines! Colorful. Authentic. Connected. Truly Crested Butte! The Ruby is Crested Butte's premier Bed and Breakfast Inn for the discerning visitor seeking gracious treatment, abundant amenities, and a destination where affordable luxury and environmental responsibility create an exceptional guest experience. The Ruby is located in historic downtown Crested Butte in the heart of the coveted Bed and Breakfast District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing