We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good grub” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalanche Bar & Grill

Avalanche Bar & Grill
Ranked #12 of 66 Restaurants in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

It was a basic family-food place, friendly, inexpensive and fast. The atmosphere was a bit stack and could have used a bit of character since it is right at the base of the mountain and has a good opportunity to be a great spot to hang out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank greatfoodandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    106
    34
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florissant, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We enjoyed the food.
Our table was near the door and the draft made it a little uncomfortable.
We asked the waiter to split the bill by couples, he said he would.
When it was time to pay, he acted like it was a big bother! Made a big deal about pulling out his calculator and making a big sigh.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sadly, Not the Same”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We've been Avalanche regulars for at least 6 or 7 years during our annual ski trips. We had nothing but praise in the past but this year we felt terribly let down. The menu had changed, eliminating our favorites, Jack's Sicilian sandwich and the Seared Ahi Salad. Our waitress acknowledged that a lot of people are asking for the Sicilian and she didn't know why it was discontinued. We decided to have appetizers and tried the jalapeno poppers. The menu described the plate as jalapeno peppers, stuffed with cream cheese filling. This is a pretty standard appetizer at many restaurants. When the dish arrived, the poppers just didn't taste quite right. The "cream cheese" was some sort of orange-colored cheesy filling but I failed to identify a cream cheese flavor. The pepper itself was a bland, papery-thin, red-skinned pepper that did not resemble or taste like a jalapeno in any way shape or form. Our pleasant waitress asked the chef about it and reported back that he said the appetizer "wasn't exactly as described on the menu." I wonder how many other items aren't "exactly as described!" We feel very sad that our favorite on-the-mountain restaurant just isn't the same. We, and our more local relatives, are going into town to look for something better. If you bring back "Jack's" we'll come back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kb2923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Right on the mountain, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We ate a breakfast and a dinner here. It's right on the mountain so great location. The breakfast was top notch. Service was a little slow for breakfast, but the food was delicious. They have dinner specials every night, but we just wanted a quick burger which was very good. If you're staying on the mountain it's very convenient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Easy skiing lunch break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Good food and fast service for a beak during skiing. Right off the main mountain making for quick access mid- day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avalanche Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Crested Butte, CO
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to Avalanche Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing