We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crested Butte Retreat

Crested Butte Retreat
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crested Butte Retreat
massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

My husband and I recently returned from CBR and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Jason made our stay so relaxing, he was attentive to our every need. The retreat is so beautiful in and out. We had a great time in the town, its charm and people made the trip for us. The scenery is breathtaking. We can't wait to go back!
Peggy & Kevin
Massachusetts

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank octoberhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
303 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

We highly recommend the Crested Butte Mountain Retreat for anyone who appreciates a quiet, relaxed, and classy hotel. CB is very laid back and very beautiful; the CBMR reflects the relaxed feel of CB with a very sophisticated yet comfortable atmosphere, decor, and style. We have stayed at the CBMR numerous times over the past few years, including twice in the past two months. The rooms are well appointed and uniquely decorated, with very comfortable bedding and towels. One of the most appealing aspects is the relaxed feel - a la a B&B without the "on demand mass guest groupings"; guests can keep things in the kitchen refrigerator, use the kitchen and living room facilities on their own, and feel the benefit of being in a luxurious private home. One consideration in choosing a room is those with the ability to have open windows for the cool air in the evenings for good sleeping.

The current management team, Jason and Allison Gillette, manage this hotel very professionally and are very helpful to guests as needed.

We particularly like the "no pets" policy.

The fitness equipment is in a small yet organized room; updating and expanding the fitness / workout equipment and facility would further enhance the appeal to those guests who are not skiers.

CBMR is a wonderful option for those who desire both the quiet relaxed enjoyment of Crested Butte and the quiet relaxed comfort of a very unique hotel. It is focused on two target segments: (a) couples getting away for a relaxing weekend; and (b) companies and organizations for a meeting with exercise get away options.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dvorac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

Hiked over to Crested Butte from Aspen and spent two fabulous nights at the retreat! We Mailed a box over with extra stuff (wine and etc.)and they had it waiting for us in our room. We stayed in a standard room and enjoyed the community hot tub right outside our door. We had called ahead and planed a 5 course meal to be prepared by the Private Chef Ian. We had the first couple of courses outside on the deck then moved into one of the two large living rooms living rooms for the Main course and took desert to our room with a movie. A perfect way to complete our day. Fabulous breakfast is included with pretty much what ever you want (delicious omelets). We had booked massages after breakfast at the hotel and then more hot tubs. The Community hot tub stopped working after about 20 minutes so we told the front desk of the problem and went into town for the afternoon and dinner. When we returned after dinner there was a note by our door apologizing that they could not repair the hot tub that day so they left a key to the Vacant Suite above which had a private Hot tub on the deck that we could use. Staff could not have been more thoughtful, even found a water bottle for us to take on our hike back to Aspen. Can't wait to return next year!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MemphisHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We rode our motorcycles to the Crested Butte Retreat and we were welcomed immediately upon arrival. The architecture was very pleasing with high airy, ceilings, all in wood. The furniture was all very high quality and collected from different parts of the world.
Ian cooked breakfast for us and made a blueberry motorcycle pancake for my brother. The host and hostess were the tops. Jason spent time with us and showed us a great route back home over cottonwood pass.
Rooms were very comfortable with great views of the upper mountain. It was quiet.
The buses to the lower village were very handy.
Crested Butte Retreat was first class and would easily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConcoursBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

My husband and I have stayed at all the five star hotels in Colorado and none of them compare to this gem in Crested Butte. We had an amazing time and can not wait to go back. The rooms were fantastic as was the entire hotel. The managers made you feel like you were completely at home and were also a wealth of information. Jason was even kind enough to drive my husband and other guests to the beginning of the trailhead so they did not have ride up the entire way. I can not see the Ritz doing that. This facility is the best Colorado has to offer!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhenehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at the retreat for a week during our summertime honeymoon and could not more highly recommend it. Its location in Mt. Crested Butte really does offer amazing panoramic views of the mountains as well as the town of Crested Butte below. Our hosts, Allison and Jason, were instrumental in creating the perfect get-away for us: always friendly and always willing to help, their expert advice and inside scoop of the area made for an unforgettable stay.

We chose the Maroon Bells suite and found it roomy enough with plenty of sunlight, relaxing fireplace, and over the top, luxurious bathroom. The hot-tub was just outside the room on a semi-private deck and made for a relaxing oasis perfect for hummingbird, sunset, or star watching in the >amazingly< clear skies.

Breakfasts far surpassed any of my expectations. A fine assortment of rolls, fruit, eggs (prepared as you like) and cereal was always available but I was always offered pancakes and bacon/sausage -- which I could not resist. Many mornings Allison and Jason were at the kitchen helm but as a treat would occasionally bring in Chef Ian to lay it on even thicker.

As for Chef Ian...we did splurge to have him prepare us a private dinner. We chose the filet mignon and salmon dishes, I believe, along with numerous appetizers, salads, and desserts. Even though we had never before eaten so much food in one sitting, we could not and did not want to stop. It was exquisite and the memories were priceless.

While there are plenty of things to do in and around the nearby towns of Crested Butte, we found ourselves wanting to return to the graciousness of our hosts and the comfortable setting provided by the retreat.

It's not a question of if we'd return but when.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tep777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

What a treat! Close to skiing and great for relaxing. The rooms are awesome and the shared areas are beautiful. More like a hip B&B - peaceful, calming. The couple that runs the place are wonderful and helpful - Allison even stuck our beer on ice so it would be ready after our day of skiing.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuring2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
0.3 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
WestWall Lodge
WestWall Lodge
#4 of 15 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pioneer Guest Cabins
Pioneer Guest Cabins
#1 of 15 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crested Butte Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crested Butte Retreat

Property: Crested Butte Retreat
Address: 39 Whetstone Road, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retreat sits high on a hillside above the base town, only 300 yards from the ski runs. All rooms are ringed with large windows providing panoramic views of the surrounding aspen and evergreen covered mountains and valleys. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing