We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Crested Butte”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Ski Valet was so convenient! The proximity to the lifts was great and loved the free coffee and hot chocolate any time. The spa was very nice and the employees were very friendly. The front desk staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stampngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

We went in late Feb. 2013 for a ski vacation. Had 2 adjacent room - one room with a King bed and sofa, the second with 2 queens. Both had a small kitchen (sink, microwave, small fridge, dishes and utensils, granite counters), a table for 2, and a small bath with tub/shower. Rooms were nicely decorated if rather dark (dark "mahogany" colored wood furnishings, deep/narrow rooms don't allow much light in to the depths of the room). There were windows and a tiny triangular balcony (I did try sitting out on the balcony with the desk chair one day, and this filled the balcony - certainly no room to lounge). Really just enough room for a couple of people to stand and enjoy the view, which is spectacular. Beds were comfortable but the pillows were super puffy - none of the 4 people in our group could sleep on these, who could with your neck at such an unnatural angle? So bring your own pillow. Front desk could not provide us with alternatives so we ended up putting the flatter sofa pillows in our pillow case and using those! There was a large closet in the kitchen with safe, and 2 smaller "modular" wardrobes in the main room so plenty of storage. The bathroom was a bit tiny - when sitting on the throne, your knees are so close to the facing door that you better hope no one walks in and bangs your knees. Tiny and impossible for more than one to occupy at once. Ski valet was great and a short level walk to snow. Not totally ski in-out but very very close and convenient to main base area. There was free coffee at front desk in AM. There was a nightly "cocktail hour" from 5-6 for guests of the lodge with complimentary appetizers, wine and soft drinks (and beer? I don't recall, I like wine). That was nice, and a good way to meet other guests and hotel management who would mingle during this hour. Nice fireplace and comfy chairs in lobby where this was held. The pool was nothing special - indoor, fairly small, but clean. There was one rather shabby hot tub in the pool area that probably seats 8 or so. It was clean but there were parts falling off of it. We heard from a manager at the cocktail party that they are adding outdoor hot tubs this summer, which will be very nice. Hopefully they will update the whole pool area to bring it up to the standards of the rest of the hotel. The common areas were very nicely decorated and cool. My favorite part about this hotel were the drivers - there was a crew of nice young men who were happy to pick us up or drop us off anywhere in town in the hotel's suburban or subaru. They were professional and prompt, and it made it easy to head to town for dinner or shopping without a rental car. One guy even arrived a half hour early to work one day because we needed an early morning ride to the Irwin Cat Skiing operation in town. He got a good tip, but still that was very considerate of him. The restaurant in the hotel lobby was great and reasonably priced for a ski area, we ate breakfast there daily and dinner once. The outdoor seating area was really neat and we especially loved the fire pit, right on the slopes. Fantastic. Overall, I would (and plan to ) stay here again, but bring my own pillow.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ski area for dramatic mountain views - higher levels probably better in terms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milkbonehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at the Elevation Hotel which was excellent.
Best time to go is just before Spring Break - if you are childless.
The staff are excellent, friendly, professional and always ready to help or fulfill any request.
Great time for just you as a couple or to go in a large crowd.

Room Tip: Higher floor with mountain/slope facing is just beautiful when you wake up in the morning and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevebvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This is a fantastic experience. It's a gorgeous hotel right at the base of the mountain. Dogs allowed, free yoga, great food, a spa and business services, gorgeous rooms, and close to everything. I love it here!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We visited Crested Butte a couple of weeks ago to go skiing. I would consider this hotel a ski in-ski out. The lift is just a few feet away from the door. The location could not be more perfect for us.

When we pulled in to the hotel, we pulled in to the "motor lobby." The reception desk is on floor 2, which was just a bit confusing for us, but perhaps we should have paid more attention and look around for signs. The check-in process was very smooth. The receptionist ladies were so helpful and told us about places to eat, the shuttle and suburban to the town, etc. There was a doggie goodie bag waiting for us too. We planned to bring our dog, but decided not to at the last minute. It was a nice touch. We will definitely bring our pet next time as the fee is only $30/night.

Our room was very nice - Apex King with Mountain Valley View. It shows that this hotel has been renovated from the inside. The room looked very modern and very spacious. The only aspect we did not like about our room was the location - right next to the housekeeping room. We heard loud noises (door closing, etc.) quite often. Perhaps we could have requested another room, but we thought it would not be so bad. It was just very loud and annoying at times. We did not find the pillows very comfortable and did not sleep well - however, this is just a personal preference and so it may work better for others. We couldn't find the fridge anywhere, until I opened the closet door. A large cooler was in there and our drinks stayed cold. Overall, we enjoyed the room.

One evening, we waited until 9pm to decide to go get dinner as we had a late lunch. The hotel's restaurant was already closed and since this is the place that also prepares room service, we could not get that either. So we walked around the hotels and did not find anything that was open past 9pm and so we went hungry. It was quite disappointing and we wondered why the restaurants do not stay open later.

We enjoyed the ski valet quite a bit as it was not a hassle to bring the skis up and down to and from the room.

The hotel started to offer a social hour (5-6pm) for the first time while we were there. Wine, sodas, and water were available as well as good appetizers. We enjoyed this extra touch and also appreciated the general manager chatting with the guests.

We did not utilize the spa or the poo/hot tub.

We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luciez29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Spent the weekend at the Elevation Hotel and Spa in Crested Butte. Had a great time. The room was wonderful and the staff was fantastic. You couldn't ask for a staff that was nicer or more attentive to your needs. Highly recommend staying there when in the area. My family and I will stay there when we return this summer for a visit.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard view and next time will choose a mountain side view just to be different. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We travel the state quite a bit and this is one of the best for ski location and comfort!! We upgraded to a Jr Suite since our kids were with us and it gave us just the right amount of room and each our own televisions for relaxing after a great day of skiing! The kitchenettes make this stay so much nicer than a standard 2 bed hotel and you cannot beat the slopeside location! No whining about carrying skis and being able to drop off your skis right as you exit the slopes was more than convenient! Staff was great and they were so helpful shuttling us into town and giving recommendations. The hotel bar and outdoor cocktails were a great way to end the day!!
This was perfect place for families but could be equally perfect for couples or singles.Some people shy away from the 4 hr trip from Denver but we have spent 4 hours on I-70 just sitting in traffic! this was an amazing ski mountain and beautiful drive up. This hotel was easy to get to and you cannot beat the location!

Room Tip: We did not care about the view as much as we did space, so I would go for the upgrade first since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
23.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elevation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elevation Hotel & Spa

Address: 500 Gothic Road, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range: £102 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elevation Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elevation Hotel & Spa is the only full-service ski-in / ski-out hotel at Crested Butte Mountain Resort. The completely renovated property features 262 rooms and spacious suites. Enjoy first-class amenities and services, including swimming pool, hot tub, wireless internet, Spa treatments, Fitness Center, bell and concierge services. The on-site 9380 Prime Restaurant & Bar serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Elevation Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate slopeside luxury and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Elevation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elevation Hotel Crested Butte
The Elevation Hotel And Spa
Elevation Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing