We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Class Act. A+”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
denver, co
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A Class Act. A+”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The difference between just a hotel and a FINE HOTEL can always be measured by its staff- from the front desk, to housekeeping, to maintenance. While we wanted to stay in town, there were no higher quality hotels down there so we stayed in the sleepy ski mountain town up the hill 2 miles away. The giant hotel next door wasn't even open until ski season.

We were so late for a dinner reservation at arrival and rushed into the lobby like a hurricane. They checked us in ahead of another guest and got us going. Unfortunately NONE of our keys worked. From there, we had plenty of key problems- PLENTY! A housekeeper on each floor heard the commotion and got us into the rooms. The staff explained that due to security issues, they just (that week) replaced the key system, and it's screwing up. It was frustrating but I understand- it was dead season up there and the appropriate time to do the work.

My folks had a beautiful one bedroom suite. It was large, well appointed, and immaculate. The balcony and fireplace added to the ambiance. I was sure that I had booked different room than I received. I came back from dinner and repeatedly asked Martin at the front desk where the murphy bed was that I reserved because I wasn't sleeping on the pull-out sofa. He desk didn't seem to know what a murphy bed was and said they didn't have ANY rooms with one. As soon as I became a little frustrated, Martin noticed and promptly resolved the problem by insisting that my bro and I move to a two bedroom suite. It was nearly as large as my house. I later realized that I was thinking about the hotel next door (which I didn't choose) and felt like a complete dope- in my giant suite. I thanked Martin again, of course.

Check out was fast and efficient. The hotel is next to the slopes, has a pool and all the amenities that one would expect from a ski village hotel. I'd love to stay in the oh-so-cool and authentic legendary town of Crested Butte but it would be hard not to look back here first. The staff is trained perfectly which is why The Lodge is a true fine hotel property.

Darn, nothing's perfect. It was the offest of off seasons. They wanted $20/night to park. Are they crazy!!!! Their lot was empty and it was an insult. I parked a block away for free. I understand it in ski season, but early October in an empty ski village? Shame on them.

Room Tip: top floor, best view. Near front desk part of hotel- there can be plenty of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denverroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    29
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
90
111
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Angleton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I stayed at this lodge one night during an 8-day photographic road trip of Colorado in early October. I'd never been to Crested Butte before. I used hotels.com to book my room, which was very reasonable because of it being the off-season out there. This place is located in the Mt. Crested Butte Village resort area, 2 miles up from the funky little town of Crested Butte.

I was greeted by a very friendly and humorous front desk manager who gave me not only a location map, but explained a number of other things like parking, dining, etc. For $20 there is a heated, indoor parking garage to keep your car out of the elements (a good thing since it had snowed the night before and was supposed to snow again that night). To enter the garage, you must stop and push a button which spits out a ticket. You must get that ticket validated by the front desk in order to depart the garage without incurring a $40 fee charged to either your room or a credit card. You are also given little orange tickets to insert immediately after inserting the parking ticket, in case you don't get your ticket validated. For me, it was a little problematic because the staff is available during the off-season from 8AM to 8PM, and I left around 7AM (and the orange ticket didn't work, so I had to wait until 8AM after all to talk to the front desk and make sure I wasn't charged the $40 upon exiting the garage).

My room was 309A and it was huge. And clean. The balcony view was wonderful, looking out and down toward the town and the mountains beyond. There is an elevator to take you and your luggage to your floor from the parking garage. Just around the corner from my room was a little lounge with soda and snack vending machines.

The bed was a King size and quite comfortable. The bathroom was also large with more than enough towels and washcloths to go around, as well as the standard toiletries of soaps, shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, lotion, and shower cap.

The television was not a flat screen, but it was large and served my purposes. To the side of the bed is a small desk and lamp - large enough for a laptop. The lodge also provides free WiFi. And there is a small fridge, coffee/tea maker with coffee, tea, powdered creamer, and sugar. Within the closet is a safe and an iron/ironing board. Robes are also available for use and to purchase.

There is an exercise room, pool, and hot tub available as well - I noticed someone in the hot tub during my stay that evening, so it's not one of those things that is open only during the ski season.

Because it was the off-season, none of the shops/restaurants around the resort area were open, and I had to drive the 2 miles back down to the town.

If I am ever able to return to Crested Butte, I will stay in this lodge again, on- or off-season. I'm sure during the ski season, it is definitely a more active, happening place to be.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed at this property because of ratings, availability, location for our agenda. It was fantastic. We were greeted by a very professional, friendly, efficient front desk group of people. The room was like being in a very nice home with great views, fireplace, balcony, granite countertops, excellent beds and pillow, and very spacious and beautiful. It was very comfortable for 4 adults. The bathrooms were clean and spacious. Robes provided.
We ended up staying a unplanned second night with no hassle whatsoever.
The hot tub was crystal clear and clean and the pool was actually heated and perfect temperature for being cool outside. That is a first.
Housekeeping was superb...I forgot my toothbrush and one appeared not even 5 minutes from the time I called the front desk. Also extremely efficient and helpful.
I have nothing but great things to say. It definitely lives up to the 5 rating. I would definitely stay here any time I was in this area and loved the time at Crested Butte. The only negative thing I will say is that there are resort and parking fees added that some people might not understand but it really didn't bother me. The parking was safe, enclosed, and very close to the elevators. And just about every hotel / resort charges fees so just expect that. Thank you for a memorable stay with my family. Went in the off season but if you are a skier you will love the location and this lodge. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyn106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

will return next summer, first class..........room was very clean and modern, clerks very helpful in suggesting dinner options

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

You know you've come to someplace extraordinary when there is absolutely NOTHING that could be improved upon! That doesn't happen very often. But The Lodge is that kind of place! We'd never stayed there before but were looking for a new and special place to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. The Lodge was IT! The hotel is just beautiful, and we were so impressed by how quiet it was, even though our room looked out over the courtyard. I'm sure it's bustling during ski season, but this time of year, it was really surprisingly peaceful and relaxing.

The room was absolutely gorgeous and beyond compare, and Caroline certainly went out of her way to make our stay very special and memorable! Thank you so much!

The scenery, the town and our night at The Lodge will definitely make this anniversary stand out in our minds!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TajnMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenham, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Have stayed here several times in a 2 bedroom and I am never disappointed. The staff could not be any friendlier and are always there to help. I love having the fireplace.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed a couple of nights while in town for the pro bike race. Very nice hotel and great location on the mountain. First room they put me in was overlooking a plaza. The desk attendant told me that was the best I he could do. After getting to my room I called the front desk and a different attendant put me in a much better room overlooking the mountain. Ample parking underneath the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSU87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
767 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plaza Condominiums
The Plaza Condominiums
#4 of 7 in Crested Butte
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Paradise Crested Butte Condos
#6 of 7 in Crested Butte
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
0.0 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Mountaineer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Property: Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Address: 620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Mountaineer Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the ski lifts, the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in Crested Butte, Colorado features premier studio, one, two, three, and four-bedroom suites with deluxe amenities, including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna and fitness room, bell, valet, concierge services and a full-service front desk. Relax in front of the fireplace and enjoy a drink with friends or associates at the on-site Trackers Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge at Mountaineer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Mountaineer Square Hotel Crested Butte
Hotel At Mountaineer Square
At Mountaineer Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing