We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and very convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice and very convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Stayed two nights in February. Our "studio" room was small, but extremely well appointed with top of the line everything. The king+ bed was wonderful, with its ultra-soft down cover. The gas fireplace was also very nice for the sub-zero nights. To our surprise, the lodge is just steps away from the main lifts. Unfortunately, we disn't get a chance to use the indoor/outdoor heated pool or spa, but they looked very nice. Compared to similar prioerties in Aspen & Vail, the price is a real bargain. However, is was strange to have to pay extra ($20/night) for parking, when there is really nowhere else to park (but, the heated garage was very convenient). There are very few restaurants near the hotel, but there is a free community shuttle bus from the hotel to the town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Elfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    27
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
86
106
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jonesville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

The accomodations were excellent. On the third day of skiing, my wife fell and broke her ankle and the staff was very accommodating in helping to make the rest of her stay as pleasurable as possible. I would like to give a special thanks to John and Nick for all they did after her accident.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatahoulaBlackJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We were there over Valentines weekend and this was the best overall skiing experience that I have ever had. We have skiied many places in the Tahoe area in California, a few places in the Salt Lake City area and one place in North Carolina. The Lodge at Mountaineer had the most exceptional service that I have ever seen at a very reasonable price. I commend all pf the personnel that I had an interaction with!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubagirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

The perfect location for skiing at Mt. Crested Butte. It's about 150 yards from the elevator exit (onto the Courtyard) to the main lifts (Silver Queen and Red Lady) with no roads to cross. As you make the walk, you will pass the lift ticket office, the complimentary ski storage, and several shops where you can buy any gear you forgot at home. There are also several restaurants in easy walking distance. At end of day, you can ski to the ski storage and walk about 50 yards to the hotel's courtyard elevator - easy as it gets without being strictly ski in/out.
This is a very new facility so the room with kitchenette was great but, more importantly, the staff kept things very clean and were very responsive to requests. Fitness center was excellent and pool was fun for the kids. Parking was easy though, since its $20/day and you likely aren't driving anywhere except to and from the airport (free shuttles into town are 30 yards from the hotel's courtyard entrance), you may want to skip a car and use the airport shuttle (not cheap but cheaper than car rental and parking). it was also very quiet, especially after ~7 pm. The only minor drawback was that the bed was very soft for our taste. Just a matter of preference though.
On the whole, one of the best hotels our family has stayed at in the past five years and the best one in a ski town by far. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeW_in_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruitland Park, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Friendly staff, beautiful rooms and close to the slopes!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TurboLax7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Great Trip, so convient. Helpful and friendly. Not the old Crested Butte, we were welcomed and all of the restaurants had great food and a much better service time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbtrip_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We travel frequently, and were very impressed with the facility and service of The Lodge at Mountaineer Square. On crowded days, it was wonderful to be able to walk back to our room for lunch, then quickly return to the slopes.

We especially enjoyed the spacious hot tub after skiing. Also important, our kitchen had the equipment to prepare real meals. The laundry machine and dish washer were life savers.

Finally, from the desk clerk who checked us in at midnight (John) to the the cleaning staff and finally the desk clerk who checked us out early in the morning (Heather), we were treated as though we were their most important guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeRoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
0.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Paradise Crested Butte Condos
#6 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.3 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Mountaineer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Property: Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Address: 620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Mountaineer Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the ski lifts, the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in Crested Butte, Colorado features premier studio, one, two, three, and four-bedroom suites with deluxe amenities, including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna and fitness room, bell, valet, concierge services and a full-service front desk. Relax in front of the fireplace and enjoy a drink with friends or associates at the on-site Trackers Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lodge at Mountaineer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Mountaineer Square Hotel Crested Butte
Hotel At Mountaineer Square
At Mountaineer Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing