We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our gamble paid off staying here' GREAT small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cripple Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Estes Park, Co
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Our gamble paid off staying here' GREAT small hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2007

I looked at Tripadvisor and local websites to find something out of the ordinary where we could stay, having earned a trip away from our 6 young children after many years. This property looked charming and the unique appeal of being an old hospital was too much to resist. We called the hotel directly and booked a large room with 2 queens for $100/night (but they didn't have anything available for our second night, so planned to move on after 1 nights' stay). When we arrived, we inspected the room- it was Ok to look inside all of the rooms if the doors were open they told us... and decided on a different room that was available both nights (the nursery), but wasn't highly sought after because it was a double bed and small, but did have a private bath. Good choice. The size was fine since we were planning on spending most of the day exploring and just nights sleeping in the room. Each of the rooms is named after its original use (clearly identified on the door in period hand lettering), a walking tour inside the building is neat!

All said and done, this is a very safe bet for someone considering something out of the ordinary. It's very nicely furnished- old wheelchairs from when the place was actually a hospital (1900's) and clean!

We would stay here again if travelling as a couple- but wouldn't as a whole family (remember 6 kids). The quiet hours are 10pm to 8am, and seem well respected. There's a small table of rolls and juice and coffee in the morning, and wireless internet that is best received from the RV area- the antenna is pointed to the RV park. Located behind the main building, the RV park doesn't distract from the appeal of the hotel (RV in the name made me leary).

If you go to Cripple Creek, pick up a book they sell in the lobby- very handsome and underpriced ($6) softcover book that includes driving and walking tours of Cripple Creek with accompanying photos of today and 'in the day' along with brief overviews- I wish we had seen it before spending 2 days here.

  • Liked — The properties' history
  • Disliked — The fist night, the mattress seemed saggy- the second night it was fine. Was it me?
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank bestestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    33
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
77
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2007

This is our third year to spend our summer at he HOSPITALITY HOUSE TRAVEL PARK, in CRIPPLE CREEK COLORADO. When we arrived we were greeted by the owner, Stephen Macklin, saying "WELCOME HOME". We had left our RV here from last season, and all was perfect. With the help of Larry Green,Maintenance Manager, we were settled in about a hour.
When we arrived, May 25th. 2007, we had snow on the ground ,but melted by the next day.We are looking forward to using the HOT TUB tomorrow. Having the WIRELESS INTERNET available free is great too.
We pay $375.00 a month for full hook up. I made them a viideo to show all at HOSPITALTY HOUSE B&B AND TRAVEL PARK. YOU WILL ENJOY YOUR STAY.

  • Liked — The beauty and immaculate location, setting in a peaceful mountain valley.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BILL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2006

I was very pleasantly suprised with the Hospitality House. I really believe it is the best for the money in Cripple Creek. I have stayed at many other B and Bs and hotels in Cripple Creek too.
The rooms are very nicely decorated with antiques, and very clean. The service is good too. I think it may be a 10-15 minute walk at most to the casinos but you can take the shuttle too.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Irishlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2006

This place was advertised as an Inn (old Hotel) with a campground 4 blocks from the Casinos in Cripple Creek. We were tent-camping and wanted to be close to the Casinos so my husband could play poker for hours at a time.
It's not really set-up for tent-camping. Just 4 grassy (some not mowed) meadows with a garbage can in the middle and a couple of picnic tables. Deep ruts were everywhere and there were pieces of metal and wood buried in the ground, could be disastrous on your tires. There were no tent pads or parking areas. The bathroom/showers were basic, I've had better in a state park. This place is basically built for RVers and the tent-camping grounds are an afterthought. $18/night and no refunds. They just shrugged their shoulders when we asked what we were supposed to do after a big rain and we couldn't get the car up the approach to the bridge into the camping area. Also, it's not 4 blocks from the Casinos, more like 10 blocks, and a large uphill section. They did say they'd call the city shuttle for $0.50 a ride.

Helpful?
4 Thank bhedge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 July 2004

After long research of Cripple Creek lodging I choose Hospitality House. I am so glad I did. It is so charming and interesting. We had been traveling for a while and it was so nice to stay somewhere away from the casino noise and crowds.
It seems more like a bed and breakfast. My husband and I would love to return in the near future.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 May 2003

This is the place to stay. Just a few minutes from slot machine sounds into the past. WE stay there after the poker run with the classic car show. We are never disappointed with our room. They are all comfortable and cozy. A real turn of the century treat at a good price.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tx.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2002

This is a charming place to stay. This is the X-Hospital of the town of Cripple Creek. Each room of the hospital has been turned into a hotel room. The operating room, recovery room, etc. Some have bathrooms in the room & some are down the hall. Each one is done with an 1800's decor. There is coffee & danish in the a.m. They have a small restaurant, laundry room, beauty shop, & many other surprises. There is also a R.V. park in the rear of the property. The hotel is run by Cripple Creek born people who have bought the place & made it come alive again. There is also a hot tub. It is located just a few blocks away from the downtown area.
Annette Witherspoon

Helpful?
23 Thank dolly1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cripple Creek
0.6 mi away
Century Casino & Hotel Cripple Creek
0.6 mi away
McGills Hotel and Casino
McGills Hotel and Casino
#5 of 10 in Cripple Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Victor Hotel
The Victor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Victor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel and Restaurant
Imperial Hotel and Restaurant
#4 of 10 in Cripple Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
19.1 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park

Property: Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park
Address: 600 North B Street, P.O. Box 369, Cripple Creek, CO 80813 (Formerly Hospitality House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Cripple Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cripple Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel & Full-service RV Park spans 20+ acres and proudly serves as a historic, recreational, family-oriented destination for anyone traveling to Cripple Creek. Explore victorian charm with modern amenities including: Continental Breakfast; Hotel WiFi; HD Televisions with HD Satellite service; Recreation Room with pool table, card tables, games and music; Convenient gaming and dining shuttle service; Configurable meeting spaces; Hotel self-serve laundry area; Outdoor games - Children's play area, Volleyball, Badminton, Crochet, Horseshoes, Corn Hole; Full RV site hook-ups including water, sewer and electric; Separate Travel Park restrooms, showers and laundry facility; Complimentary gas grills; RV storage; Propane dispenser - RVs/Bottles/Exchange; Gifts and sundries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospitality Hotel Cripple Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing