We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and rooms”
Review of Gold Strike Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cripple Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gold Strike Inn
Reviewed 11 August 2013

WE stayed here one night when the house was not full. We chose the Queen size bed with fireplace and Jacuzzi tub. We did not use the tub, but the gas fireplace was a really nice feature.
The room was a little small, but the amenities made up for it. In all honesty, Ophelia tried to switch us to the king size room telling us it was larger, but we were glad we stayed in the room we did. Ophelia gave us coupons for breakfast the next day at Bronco Billy's saying that there would be no breakfast, only coffee, but when we went upstairs to the kitchen she had coffee, tea, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, cereal and juice. We stayed for breakfast there. This is an excellent B&B.

Room Tip: Ophelia told us to visit the Heritage Center up a little ways out of town. We were glad we did. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were satisfied with our host and our room. But this is not a bed and breakfast, in the traditional sense. Our host told us he does not do "breakfast". We are on our own. We could make our own breakfast in his kitchen, or we could get a cheap breakfast with his vouchers from a local restaurant.
We tried his dinner vouchers at the restaurant, and our meals were awful. So..we did not do the breakfast vouchers. We found Maggie's Restaurant to have wonderful food, so we ate there and paid for our own breakfasts (2). (we stayed 2 nights). Would not recommend this to anyone who was looking for a bed and breakfast. It was ok as a hotel room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Made reservations same day as stay and received a great rate. The house is absolutely beautiful, located on a hill overlooking Cripple Creek. There is a shuttle to the casinos, although the walk isn't that far if you don't mind the hill coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lattes4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Had a wonderful one night stay here a few nights ago. The owners are very nice people who make you feel very at home. We stayed in the "Broncos Billy Suite", and it was very clean and presentable. They make cookies that are very good, as well as some homemade breakfast in morning.

Overall, the price was comaprable to any other joint in town, but the Gold Strike Inn is far superior in quality. I always look for Bed and Breakfasts over hotels when I travel, and I look forward to staying here again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

It was great place to stay, bed n breakfast, I Highly Recommend going to this dollhouse so nice.... huge space, big comfy beds, nice overview of the town (the town is haunted from what everyone says, they have a lot of free ghost stories in the town it self) .... morning, breakfast varieties, sit out on the patio, frontroom activities, this place was awesome, we couldn'thave stayed a a more better place, we look forward on staying at this same place again in the near future....

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaguar1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Beautiful place, comfortable room, very pleasant owners! We very much enjoyed our brief stay.
The Gold Strike Inn is an outstanding alternative to staying in any of the regular casino hotels.
The place is quiet and comfy. The furnishings are lovely and we thought the price for our stay was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We only had one day/night to stay in Cripple Creek, which, not being serious gamblers, was enough to give us time to explore the CC- Victor mining district before heading west. We stayed at the Gold Strike Inn, which is a bit of a cross between a hotel and a B&B. Roger and his wife, Ophelia, greeted us with warmth and cookies! The kitchen is open to guests who may wish to make tea, grab a snack or a cold drink, or just hang out. There are sitting rooms scattered inside and outside the property that guests may use to hang out and meet other travelers. The bedrooms have private baths and are clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The breakfast is essentially continental, with the added touch of Ophelia's cinnamon rolls. All in all, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnP001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cripple Creek hotels
0.4 mi away
Century Casino & Hotel Cripple Creek
0.4 mi away
Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park
0.3 mi away
Carr Manor
Carr Manor
#1 of 9 in Cripple Creek
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gold King Mountain Inn
Gold King Mountain Inn
#9 of 9 in Cripple Creek
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Double Eagle Hotel and Casino
Double Eagle Hotel and Casino
#7 of 10 in Cripple Creek
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midnight Rose Hotel and Casino
Midnight Rose Hotel and Casino
#4 of 10 in Cripple Creek
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Strike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Strike Inn

Address: 222 E Placer Street, Cripple Creek, CO 80813
Region: United States > Colorado > Cripple Creek
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cripple Creek
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing