We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Mollie Kathleen Gold Mine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The only 1,000 foot vertical shaft gold mine tour in the U.S.; the vein was discovered by Mollie Kathleen Gortner in 1891.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Tour!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had a lot of fun. It starts by going into the mine in a double decker elevator. Super cool!!!! Then they show you actual drills and start them for you to hear. We are very lucky to not work in a mine:) Then there is a compressed air operated train that runs through the mine. Loved it!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    82
    11
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

You have to descend in a small crowded elevator, so keep this in mind if dark, crowded places scare you. Other than that, it is a very interesting experience, and you will learn about the difficult conditions the miners experienced.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jasperjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cripple Creek, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Travel back in time”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A good look into the mining industry past. You will have great appreciation and admiration for the miners that trudged away to make a very hard living. An excellent educational experience and unique entertainment. Not for people with fear of tight spaces.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUEBLO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My favorite thing to do in Cripple Creek”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I just love going down the Mollie Kathleen Gold Mine. I have been down the mine 3 times and plan on taking my grand daughter down it next year. As my dad was a miner, when I go down the mine I can get a feeling of what he did for me. I love the mock blast and all the history. I try to go down once every summer. It is a positive must for me.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Rosie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gold mining!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is the best mine tour we've ever been to. It lasts about an hour and, is 1000 ft below the surface, and is led by actual miners and they do an excellent job. Groups of about 10 ride down in the original cages the miners used. You will see the original tools used to dig gold from the rock and newer methods as the process has progressed through the years. They will turn on the pneumatic tools for a few seconds to let you hear how it sounded - LOUD! Learn how they used mules in the mine and how they kept air down there. At the end of the tour you get to keep a piece of gold ore from the mine. Very educational and fun. Don't miss this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mollie Kathleen Gold Mine also viewed

 
Cripple Creek, CO
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Mollie Kathleen Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing