We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much to see”

Cripple Creek District Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So much to see”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We really enjoyed this museum but wish we had more time, we got in a little late. There are also a couple more buildings to view on this museum self guided tour.

We have heard that Cripple Creek is haunted and we did experience a couple of interesting things, one as described below.

We had just gone into this museum and there was a guy in the first room taking pictures of a curio cabinet. He said he was trying to capture a ghost because he had captured one at another time when he and his wife had been there. He showed us the picture (still on his phone) of his wife standing next to the cabinet with an odd face in it. He said maybe it was just a fluke since he wasn't able to do it again. So after he left we were alone in that same room and I was looking at the stuff in the cabinet when my husband took a picture. My reflection is on the right....you be the judge of what else you see. The photo was taken with an Iphone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rychedelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I learned so very much in a couple of hours. Cripple Creek still produces over 1 million dollars in gold per day. Many famous people worked in the mines. A must for history buffs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank U1654FVjohnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McPherson, Kansas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Nice diversion, informative too.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Went through this waiting for the narrow gauge rail trip. The museum was fine. Great service and very informative. I didn't know Cripple Creek was such a rich Gold Strike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalusia, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Museum”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We enjoyed the museum. It was full of interesting facts of the area. I would recommend this to anyon

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Moderately good as these museums go”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Local museums can be hit or miss. Some -- such as the one at Gunnison, Colorado -- are superb. Others are close to being a waste of time. As local museums go, this one is quite good. The displays in the assay office are the least interesting; this needs to be redone. The displays in the main building -- and the building itself (be careful on the stairs) -- are quite good. The docents seem quite knowledgeable and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vinlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cripple Creek District Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cripple Creek District Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing