We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old mining town hotel experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cripple Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bronco Billy's Hotel
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here in early May. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The rooms were fairly small but very adequate and well appointed. The location is great, right in the middle of Cripple Creek. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midwest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at Bronco Billy's on January 8,2014. When we reserved the room, we asked for the Eat, Stay, Play package. This was the middle of the week and we paid $69 for a very nice king room, with 2 meals at the Home Cafe. When we both earned 250 points at the casino we got $20 back, so the room actually cost $49. You can't beat that anywhere. (We also just about broke even at the casino.)
The room was small, but great. It had everything you could possibly want-microwave, coffee pot, refrigerator, tv, comfortable bed with soft sheets, extremely clean, and good bath amenities.
The person who met us, Sandy, was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed meeting her. She really made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: This hotel is not good for those with trouble climbing stairs. The registration "desk" is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspenbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Bronco Billy's January 4th. The room itself was small, but it was so charming we didn't mind. It was also absolutely spotless! The hotel keeper was very accommodating and so friendly. This place is a hidden gem!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Saladalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We went here to check out the casinos. Now Cripple Creek town where this particular casino is very quaint with great places to eat, shop and grab a drink. The one thing I liked about there casinos, is there is no smoking and the air is so clear. Won a little bit of money on the slots and the people were very nice. Will be coming back next time in the area.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Sumrbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed Saturday night (September 7, 2013) at Bronco Billy's Hotel (room 8 at the end of the hall by the back entrance) and ate at Bronco Billy's Steakhouse Restaurant that night. The hotel has ten charming, upgraded, small (by normal hotel standards) rooms with two nightstands, a side table under a flat screen television and ceiling fan. The queen bed was comfortable, soft upgraded linens topped by a beautiful old time quilt. No closet, but several hooks on the back of the entrance and bathroom doors and a luggage rack and hangers provided enough storage space for clothes. The bathroom had one sink, average sized corner shower, with plenty of hooks and towels bars. Towels were bright white and fluffy soft and the amenities smelled great and worked well (shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, lotion and bar soap). The hotel building is very old (this is one of the original Colorado mining towns after all) and floors are creaky and walls are thin. We could hear the "birthday boy" in room 6 snoring loudly through the bathroom wall in the middle of the night - I guess he had a good night out celebrating. Check in and out was easy and the front desk manager was very friendly, professional and helpful. One of the better hotels in Cripple Creek especially if you're looking for some old time charm and don't mind a few creaky floors. I'll review The Steakhouse in another post, but will say it was very good with just one minor service issue - the timing of the food delivery (too fast).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcmstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This place was fantastic. The staff was fabulous. Yes, the rooms are small but you won't care. The place was so quiet. The beds were comfortable and I liked the wall mounted flat screen tvs. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I went to Cripple Creek again.

Room Tip: Stay in room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMaineac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at Bronco Billy's for two days while exploring what Cripple Creek had to offer. As previously stated, the rooms are quite small and definitely not recommended for more than two people. The bathroom was quite nice and had all of the amenities you would expect. We stayed in 'room 1', located directly across from the managers office and right up against the top of the stairwell. Originally, we were very nervous about noises coming into our room, but, were pleasantly surprised with how quite the hotel was at night.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I asked one manager if there was anywhere I could do laundry in town and she told me that while there was only one place in town that she knew of she wouldn't recommend it due to it being a little dirty. She then offered to do a load of laundry for me, which was really kind.

For one of the two nights we had booked the free dinner for two package at the steakhouse. I would definitely recommend this to anyone considering this option as that was by far the best meal of the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cripple Creek
0.1 mi away
Midnight Rose Hotel and Casino
Midnight Rose Hotel and Casino
#6 of 10 in Cripple Creek
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Casino & Hotel Cripple Creek
0.6 mi away
Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Victor Hotel
The Victor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Victor
70 reviews
16.9 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
226 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronco Billy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronco Billy's Hotel

Address: 151 E Bennett Ave., Cripple Creek, CO 80813 (Formerly Independence Hotel)
Region: United States > Colorado > Cripple Creek
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cripple Creek
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for our incredibly clean rooms and exceptional customer service, we sure hope you are charmed by our newly renovated rooms boasting lots of historic character with modern conveniences. In true Bronco Billy's fashion, you won't leave hungry since all rooms come with a complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing