We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colorado hospitality at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Beque
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Colorado hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Kessler Canyon is a small luxury resort located miles from the nearest paved road. The property includes most of the mountain valley in which it sits, but do be prepared for a bit of a trek to reach your destination. You'll get a spacious room (no TV and cell phone coverage is limited at best), a lodge packed with art (much of it for sale), a welcoming staff, and generous meals in the dining room. There is no swimming pool, but the lake is fine for a dip.

Kessler is very much how Coloradans view hospitality: The staff will make sure your needs are met and the rest is up to you. A hunting lodge at heart, you can grab your hiking shoes, a mountain bike, or an ATV and explore the fabulous beauty of this dusty western canyon. As is proper for a hunting spot, shooting ranges are available and the staff will be happy to set up a lesson or two. Or you can just sit on the porch, fish a little in the lake, snooze on a hammock in the old orchard, and wonder what's for dinner.

Meals are not from a menu, but the kitchen and dining staff will be happy to oblige any needs you might have and supply you with between-meal treats, to boot. If you're lucky, the local reprobate known as "The Black Mamba" may show up at the end of the evening meal and sing a cowboy song or two!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unimportant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
38
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 glorious nights here and absolutely loved it. There were only 8 guests here during our stay so the service was very personalized. All staff are friendly and service-oriented and Chef Lenny is Amazing - as a chef, entertainer and host. The art collection is outstanding. It's like being in a gallery. Guests can be very active or very lazy and just enjoy the tranquil setting. My husband surprised me with this trip and I had no idea where we were going. As we headed farther and farther away from the Grand Junction airport into a very remote setting I was beginning to wonder where we were heading! I was delighted when we finally arrived at the lodge and remained delighted during the entire stay. I would highly recommend Kessler Canyon for a special getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I planned a few extra days after my business trip to Denver and chose Kessler Canyon. The natural beauty of canyon is highlighted with covered porches, outdoor fireplaces, and evenings with drinks in the orchard. The staff were all warm, friendly and genuinely took your likes and whims into consideration. The dessert the first night was so good, Chef Lenny brought me two extra servings of the homemade ice cream with wine and balsamic reduction. He made an "extra" course one evening because he overheard my wife mention something she liked. Every need is attended to without needing to ask, leaving you to enjoy the natural surroundings, extensive art collection and each other.

Room Tip: Only the suites have a tv, so choose one if you must get your fix. Better yet, don't spend your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debeque colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

All my friends and family need to check it out. Any of you that live out of town need to make this a place to visit. You could not ask for a better place to have fun in the sun. You need to come meet the team we have here. We will show you a great time while you are here.

Room Tip: All rooms are great some are a little bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaP1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just go to Kessler Canyon. Stop reading this and just go now, you won't regret it. Everything about Kessler Canyon, the location, the property itself, the artwork, the activities, the food, and the service is perfectly thought out and impeccably executed. My wife and I spent 7 nights there last summer and every day provided multiple "I can't believe we're actually in a place this amazing" moments.

The staff does an amazing job of making you feel like you're at home the entire time you are there and they couldn't be more warm, welcoming, helpful, and genuinely fun to spend time with!

The property itself is unlike anything else I've ever seen... 23,000 acres in the middle of the high desert of western Colorado with the perfect mix of rustic and refined.

Finally, the food and entertainment from Chef Lenny and the Black Mamba are both incredibly special and full of heart and humor.

I usually like to travel somewhere once, check it off the list, and try something new the next time around. Kessler Canyon is one of only two places in the world that I know I will have to get back to in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have traveled extensively both international and domestic and Kessler Canyon is the only place that I did not want to leave! Our trip to Kessler Canyon was beyond our expectations. The entire staff was warm, friendly and exuded southern hospitality from the initial welcome to our departure.

You will absolutely LOVE Executive Chef, Lenny, and Sous Chef, Dan! Their breakfast, lunch and dinner are not only tasteful with every bite but beautifully prepared with each place setting. Talented chefs that dhey are so talented and provided great flavors with each culinary creation!

Kessler Canyon provides 5-star service in so many areas: guest rooms, service, attention to detail and to their customers, food, activities that are offered on property. I would highly recommend this property to family, friends, and travelers to Colorado.

I hope to be a regular visitor and can't wait to visit the resort soon!

joyjoyincolorado

Room Tip: any hotel guest room at the property is GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyjoyincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our second visit was just as fabulous as before!! This visit we took the ATV ride up to the Mesa and explored the top of the mountain--it's absolutely beautiful and breathtaking to be up over 8000 feet and hear total silence. The wildlife and nature you get to see is wonderful! Again the staff did an impeccable job of meeting all our expectations...thanks Bob, Cindy, Karrie, Jim and Daniel! We did miss not having the Black Mamba appear--maybe next year!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2xms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Beque
21.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Parachute
21.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Parachute
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection

Property: Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection
Address: 4410 County Road 209, De Beque, CO 81630
Region: United States > Colorado > De Beque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Beque
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kessler Canyon is a Colorado resort located on the western slope of the Colorado Rocky Mountains, the hotel is just 45 minutes east of Grand Junction and two hours west of world-famous ski resorts. This Colorado resort's location provides an unparalleled outdoor sportsman's paradise with a large variety of recreational opportunities, including fishing, wing shooting, big game hunting, hiking, and shooting sports. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing