We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with a top notch restaurant.”
Review of The Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Del Norte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The Windsor Hotel is recently renovated to its 19th Century charm. Each room is unique and spacious. The restaurant is excellent with great service and reasonable prices. We stayed in Del Norte after visiting the Sand Dunes. It is well worth the drive.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Celebrating our 11th anniversary we decided to try the Windsor restaurant. We were truly blown away. My husband used to be a chef so we enjoy eating good food.
We started with the Windsor wedge salad, goat cheese polenta with pickle onion. Both were so fresh and flavorful. Then came our Rib-eye steaks. The steak is one of the best I have every had. Very tender, flavorful, and cooked perfectly. All ingredients are fresh and local..and you can tell in every bite. Thank you for a fantastic dinner!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jcbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is an historic hotel that has been redone with all of the modern comforts. Comfortable beds, modern bathrooms, tv, wifi, coffee in the morning in the lounge. We stayed two nights and talked with many of the staff members who were genuinely friendly and quick to share their local knowledge of great hikes, food, music, and events. The hotel was first constructed in the mid 1800s and has a Victorian flavor without going over the top. New thick glass windows and thick sound insulation between rooms ensures a quiet nigh. The dining room is outstanding. We loved our stay and will return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

staff were welcoming and helpful, great recommendations for dinner at the hotel.and accurate praise of the offerings! we looked forward to breakfast, but this wasn't available during our mid-week stay.

Bed was comfy, shower was tiny...room very clean. If we go through there again, we would certainly stay there. This was our destination, and getting there through stunning mountains whetted our appetite to go back during fall colors.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyKatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 2 nights recently.
The historic hotel was very nice. The rooms were large, well decorated, with very comfy beds! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was awesome.
We stayed there to be near the Great Sand Dunes National Park. Definitely would recommend the Windsor Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in July 2013. Wonderful restoration of an old Colorado Hotel. The owners, and all the staff are exceptionally accommodating and friendly. They are all proud of their establishment and have good reason to be. The rooms are very well appointed. We had a corner room, one of the larger King Bed options. It was on the front directly on Main street. We had no issue with traffic noise. Very comfortable and clean.
The dining experience at the hotel was phenomenal. I had never before ordered Flat Iron Steak, but I decided to try it after seeing it when ordered by someone in the bar (which is also a great feature of the hotel; the bar that is). It was the best steak I have had in a long time. My husband said I should not get my expectations up when I see it on a menu elsewhere. He thought it was exceptional to find a Flat Iron steak that good. The second night I wanted to have that steak again, but I knew I should try another entrée. I chose the short ribs and again was not disappointed. My husband had the trout which was outstanding. Desserts were also exceptional.
Ask any of the staff to tell of the hotel's colorful history!

Room Tip: Large King room option for larger area. Other rooms would be as pleasant and comfy, just a bit smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationeerArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

What a lucky find!!! We were looking for a place to stay between our destinations and Del Norte seemed a likely spot. We chose the Windsor Hotel through Trip Advisor and we could not be more pleased. The Windsor is a historic hotel that has been lovingly and beautifully restored. Steve greeted us, made us feel very welcome, and shared stories about the project to save the old hotel. Our room was lovely and very comfortable. The restaurant was very nicely appointed and the food and beverages were excellent! We would have expected to find a hotel and restaurant of this caliber in a metropolitan area. If we lived near Colorado we would visit again and again. Thank you, Steve, Kodi, and Regan!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Norte
15.8 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
268 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Movie Manor
Best Western Movie Manor
#1 of 4 in Monte Vista
597 reviews
16.0 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
239 reviews
13.3 mi away
Monte Villa Inn
Monte Villa Inn
#4 of 4 in Monte Vista
35 reviews
16.1 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 19 in South Fork
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Hotel

Address: 605 Grand Ave, Del Norte, CO 81132-3251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Del Norte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Del Norte
Price Range: £86 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1874, and one of Colorado's oldest hotels, the Windsor has been the heart of the town of Del Norte for nearly 140 years. Originally known as "The Whitsitt House", this “Grand Dame’s” construction started soon after the town was founded in 1871. In the last quarter of the 1800's, Del Norte was a booming and thriving mining and ranching hub. Once on the short list for the capital of Colorado, Del Norte lost by one vote to Denver as state capital. The Windsor Hotel was the focal point of social and commercial activity in San Luis Valley area and remained a regional gathering spot for over a hundred years. Del Norte, remained a prospering and influential town in south western Colorado until the early 1970's. The Windsor Hotel too, began to reflect the area’s decline. By 1993, the hotel was dilapidated and in a state of ruination. A wrecking ball was literally looming over the decaying and lifeless “Victorian Lady” as she awaited her final fate. With amazing foresight and dedication, a local benefactor and his wife, Doctor Raymond & Mrs. Barbra Culp, stepped in to save the Windsor from demolition, literally at the last minute (the hotel lounge, Bistro Barbara, is named after Mrs. Culp in her honor). Over the past 20 years, several phases of reconstruction, restoration and regeneration have produceded an eloquent lodging and dining establishment. Highlights are a "turn-of-the-century" parlor, elegant dining and event rooms, and a living history interpretive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing