We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful surprise in a small town”
Review of The Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Del Norte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

On a southern CO trek, my friend and I stayed in Del Norte for two nights at the completely redone 1874 Windsor Hotel. We can recommend this hotel without exception. Extremely comfortable double beds, nice sized room, small sitting area, good shower, nice furnishings, wifi, large flat screen TV, desk. Everything is new, (except lovely antiques about the property) and done in subdued western period. We were given a tour by event coordinator, Jill, and, as a result, really appreciated all that has been done to save the Windsor, literally hours away from the wrecking ball. (It is now a non-profit, owned by the local historical society.) The restaurant, currently open for lunch and dinner, is excellent. They also have a nice, separate bar area. Complimentary coffee was available in the lounge area. The Management is extremely friendly and helpful. We hope they do well as this historic property deserves to live another hundred and forty years!

Room Tip: The double bed rooms appear to be the largest. However there is also an extra large king bed suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

There are plenty of historic hotels in Colorado (ex: Boulder, Colorado Springs, Aspen etc), but the experience of staying at the Windsor is very special. The furniture in each room is very subdued, well chosen, and the rooms themselves are spacious. The restaurant was well decorated with white table cloths. The food was well presented on hot plates, (varied menu) and delicious (my husband is very picky).
There are 2-3 wonderful shops nearby and the locals are friendly.
Do visit Del Norte.
Chrys and John

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrys81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is unique and we enjoyed reading about the history of the hotel. Would have liked to have had coffee available in individual rooms but the lounge offered a nice variety of drinks. The rooms with queen beds were small, not very spacious and not cleaned well. Bathroom also had a very small sink area. Not big enough for two people to place their toiletries. We were disappointed that breakfast was not available. Our dinner was okay but not outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The Windsor Hotel is recently renovated to its 19th Century charm. Each room is unique and spacious. The restaurant is excellent with great service and reasonable prices. We stayed in Del Norte after visiting the Sand Dunes. It is well worth the drive.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Celebrating our 11th anniversary we decided to try the Windsor restaurant. We were truly blown away. My husband used to be a chef so we enjoy eating good food.
We started with the Windsor wedge salad, goat cheese polenta with pickle onion. Both were so fresh and flavorful. Then came our Rib-eye steaks. The steak is one of the best I have every had. Very tender, flavorful, and cooked perfectly. All ingredients are fresh and local..and you can tell in every bite. Thank you for a fantastic dinner!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jcbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is an historic hotel that has been redone with all of the modern comforts. Comfortable beds, modern bathrooms, tv, wifi, coffee in the morning in the lounge. We stayed two nights and talked with many of the staff members who were genuinely friendly and quick to share their local knowledge of great hikes, food, music, and events. The hotel was first constructed in the mid 1800s and has a Victorian flavor without going over the top. New thick glass windows and thick sound insulation between rooms ensures a quiet nigh. The dining room is outstanding. We loved our stay and will return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

staff were welcoming and helpful, great recommendations for dinner at the hotel.and accurate praise of the offerings! we looked forward to breakfast, but this wasn't available during our mid-week stay.

Bed was comfy, shower was tiny...room very clean. If we go through there again, we would certainly stay there. This was our destination, and getting there through stunning mountains whetted our appetite to go back during fall colors.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyKatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Norte
14.8 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
243 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Movie Manor
Best Western Movie Manor
#1 of 4 in Monte Vista
606 reviews
16 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Sandhill Inn & Suites
Sandhill Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Monte Vista
28 reviews
16.1 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 19 in South Fork
185 reviews
11.8 mi away
Riverside Meadows
Riverside Meadows
#2 of 19 in South Fork
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Hotel

Address: 605 Grand Ave, Del Norte, CO 81132-3251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Del Norte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Del Norte
Price Range: £85 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1874, and one of Colorado's oldest hotels, the Windsor has been the heart of the town of Del Norte for nearly 140 years. Originally known as "The Whitsitt House", this “Grand Dame’s” construction started soon after the town was founded in 1871. In the last quarter of the 1800's, Del Norte was a booming and thriving mining and ranching hub. Once on the short list for the capital of Colorado, Del Norte lost by one vote to Denver as state capital. The Windsor Hotel was the focal point of social and commercial activity in San Luis Valley area and remained a regional gathering spot for over a hundred years. Del Norte, remained a prospering and influential town in south western Colorado until the early 1970's. The Windsor Hotel too, began to reflect the area’s decline. By 1993, the hotel was dilapidated and in a state of ruination. A wrecking ball was literally looming over the decaying and lifeless “Victorian Lady” as she awaited her final fate. With amazing foresight and dedication, a local benefactor and his wife, Doctor Raymond & Mrs. Barbra Culp, stepped in to save the Windsor from demolition, literally at the last minute (the hotel lounge, Bistro Barbara, is named after Mrs. Culp in her honor). Over the past 20 years, several phases of reconstruction, restoration and regeneration have produceded an eloquent lodging and dining establishment. Highlights are a "turn-of-the-century" parlor, elegant dining and event rooms, and a living history interpretive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing