We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Hotel!”
Review of The Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Del Norte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Hotel!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A friend told us we must stay at this hotel while on our trip to the Great Sand Dunes National Park. We said, "really, it's out of our way." He insisted and we finally agreed after he added some details about the amazing restaurant located in this hotel. Other reviewers have accurately described the hotel's history and beautiful renovation. Diners have raved about the delicious and beautifully presented food. We are so glad we listened to our friends advice. Staying at the Windsor was definitely the highlight of our trip. My advice, you MUST stay at the Windsor Hotel, even if it's out of your way!

Room Tip: Loved our king size room on the corner, right above the downstairs entrance. Great view of the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
79
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,534 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 954 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The original hotel was built in 1875 and operated non stop, under different names and different owners, for 100 years. In 1975 family feuds and a major inundation caused it to be closed and left to die. In 1993 the hotel was scheduled to be demolished when a local doctor and his wife stepped in and saved it. A gradual rehabilitation was then began and the final restoration is now in place, open as hotel with its own restaurant and bar.
On a scale of 1 to 5 I'll give them five for effort. You might or might not like the furnishings. However, an enormous effort has been made to modernize the hotel, while preserving and restoring historical features and architectural details, using, whenever possible original elements or replicas based on period photography. Too bad the contractors did not always deliver: our bathroom door would not close no matter how authentically period it looks.
There is no question that the area is particularly poor on good lodging, so this is an oasis. I was going to Summitville (see separate review), a ghost town about an hour mountain drive from Del Norte and could not imagine where I'll find a decent hotel. This is when I discovered the Windsor. Unfortunately, in order to get money for the restoration, a non for profit was formed, where people donated the monies for a room, for example, and had their ancestors names placed on the door of the room. It does not impress me as particularly good taste, but hey, I am guessing the bank turned them down so this was the only way. I definitely did not like the advertisements all over the hotel proclaiming that "there are only eight rooms left for you to create a legacy". Don't know about you, but it sounds tacky to me.
Our room was large and very clean, the high ceilings adding dimension and space. Huge size flat TV with extensive programming, nice crispy white bed and bathroom linen. Period window shades. A cart with fresh fluffy croissants, jam and two types of coffee on our floor in the morning was a nice touch. Added bonus was the restaurant on the premises, Bistro Barbara (see separate review), named after the wife of the doctor who saved it. Reception desk was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Windsor Hotel is an awesome place to stay. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are a perfect blend of modern features with a historic building.

We did not get to try the dining room, but from the smells that were wafting into the lobby will make it someplace we will try in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Windsor Hotel was a wonderful and beautiful place to stay! The overall experience was more than we expected. The rooms were great. The people there were very, very nice and helpful. The restoration that was done to the hotel itself was beautifully done! I would highly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calhan, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is an absolutely marvelous hotel in the middle of the Colorado Mountains. Beautifully restored, immaculate modern rooms, charming secluded court yard topped off with outstanding service.

In the morning we were greeted by a fresh brewed coffee area right out side our room complete with tasty pastries.

The restaurant is to die for!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raylutz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Windsor Hotel was a perfect over-night stay. Great attention to detail. Our room was lovely and quiet. Very friendly staff. Enjoyed the historic building and restoration. We give it our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSB2722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I visited Del Norte to visit our cousins who live in this small town. While we were doing some antique shopping all the towns people were ecstatic about their newly renovated hotel and restaurant called the Windsor Hotel. Well, we decided to visit this historic Hotel Restaurant and Bar. While there we meet Cody and Steve owners of this historic hotel, great father and son team and listened there story of the renovations they had made to this historical place. We decided to enjoy their hospitality and stay the night. That evening with dinned with our cousins in their 5 star restaurant and what a fabulous meal we had. Food preparation, presentation, and taste was worth the stay alone. I've never had a better meal. I highly recommend the trout. After a great meal we decided to settle in for the night and was surprised by conditions and size of our room, recommend room 216 to see over the entire main street. The room was painted in the original color scheme from the early 1800, shower and bathroom all remodel with all modern amenities. Long story short, do yourself a favor and plan to stay in this fabulous hotel restaurant on one of your travels through this Colorado area. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, 216 I believe faces main street hwy 160. Talk to Steve or Cody
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhubb2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Norte
14.8 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
236 reviews
15.8 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
262 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Movie Manor
Best Western Movie Manor
#1 of 4 in Monte Vista
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
157 reviews
13.3 mi away
Monte Villa Inn
Monte Villa Inn
#4 of 4 in Monte Vista
35 reviews
1.0 mi away
AppleLodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Hotel

Property: The Windsor Hotel
Address: 605 Grand Ave, Del Norte, CO 81132-3251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Del Norte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Del Norte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1874, and one of Colorado's oldest hotels, the Windsor has been the heart of the town of Del Norte for nearly 140 years. Originally known as "The Whitsitt House", this “Grand Dame’s” construction started soon after the town was founded in 1871. In the last quarter of the 1800's, Del Norte was a booming and thriving mining and ranching hub. Once on the short list for the capital of Colorado, Del Norte lost by one vote to Denver as state capital. The Windsor Hotel was the focal point of social and commercial activity in San Luis Valley area and remained a regional gathering spot for over a hundred years. Del Norte, remained a prospering and influential town in south western Colorado until the early 1970's. The Windsor Hotel too, began to reflect the area’s decline. By 1993, the hotel was dilapidated and in a state of ruination. A wrecking ball was literally looming over the decaying and lifeless “Victorian Lady” as she awaited her final fate. With amazing foresight and dedication, a local benefactor and his wife, Doctor Raymond & Mrs. Barbra Culp, stepped in to save the Windsor from demolition, literally at the last minute (the hotel lounge, Bistro Barbara, is named after Mrs. Culp in her honor). Over the past 20 years, several phases of reconstruction, restoration and regeneration have produceded an eloquent lodging and dining establishment. Highlights are a "turn-of-the-century" parlor, elegant dining and event rooms, and a living history interpretive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing