We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Success!”
Review of Ocean Pearl

Ocean Pearl
Ranked #30 of 41 Restaurants in Delta
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Western Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Surprise Success!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having a group of ladies visiting who wished to join together for dinner and had already tried a couple of the other best rated restaurants in Delta and wanted something new. Looked at several listings and their ratings but still decided to try this one in spite of an earlier bad review as they all love Chinese...were greeted nicely and given a large round table with a revolving huge round tray in the center as is done in Chinese family style. Each orders a meal that they like which are huge portions and priced inexpensively and then the family can put these plates on the revolving tray and it can turn and turn and each person can take samples of everyone's special dishes. They also provide unending pots of fried and steamed rice for everyone. What a kick and guess what? They liked it! Not always going to happen. and there was so much there was even leftovers!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuddlestheThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

the food is very good and the portions are so large you simply cannot finish your meal. the place is nicely decorated and the staff is attentive

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mikalle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ick. just. Ick.”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

How does one mess up simple fried rice? Dine here and find out. The fried rice had a funny odor, was extremely oily, and tasted rancid. They must re-use the oil from the deep fryer to cook the other food instead of disposing of it correctly. The other food we ordered was not even to the standards of food court in the mall quality Chinese food. I would recommend sending people you don't like to eat here, but otherwise, stay away! If you're in Delta and want good Chinese food, try House of Chin.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDiscerningTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food! Quality Chinese!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Ocean Peal is always a favorite here in Delta. I always enjoy their food. I have never one had a problem with quality. I make a point to visit this place often. A great place to go with friends.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tyler R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawford, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Tasteless food”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Ten years ago this restaurant was known for tasteless Chinese food and locals called it "Ocean Peril". But about five years ago the food improved and although it wasn't the kind of Chinese food you would expect in big cities or on the Pacific Coast, it was the best we could find in western Colorado. It was ok, though we wondered if we had been deculturized. Strangely, we found take out tasted a lot better than eating at the restaurant.

The last three times we've gotten take out, the food has been tasteless and bland. We've had worse—all you have to do is visit the other Chinese restaurants in Delta, Montrose and Grand Junction for bad food. If you do order take out from Ocean Peril, beware that the sauce may leak out of the bag because they overfill the container and pancakes used for mu shu will be stuck together and very hard to separate. No matter how many times we tell them about this, it is very hard to get them to listen. Our desperate search for decent Chinese food on the western slope resumes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CrawfordGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ocean Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing