We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE. Internet is really bad and the building creaks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek
Ranked #32 of 161 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Trying to use their Internet is near impossible other than for some basic emails. This was despite myself and others complaining about it. A real no-no in today's connected world.

Then you have the building creaking all day and night and if that isn't enough the walls are so paper thin you can hear everyone in the other rooms or when people are talking in the passageway.

Rather a pity as the neighbourhood is good and in easy walking distance to food, shops etc. also the staff are great!

With non existent Internet you really are not a good destination I am afraid.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Roy00000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean k, Manager at Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We apologize for the issues you had at our hotel. We are looking for ways to get rid of the creaking noises that you are hearing, It has to do with the temperature change when we go from night to day and vise versa. As for the internet we will look into options to help speed up the connection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Hyatt Place in (outer) Cherry Creek, having previously stayed in Hyatt places in the Atlanta area that we really liked. This place was just okay, bordering on subpar.

The facility looks tired--outside, in the public spaces, and in the room itself. The internet service was free, but you get what you pay for. The complimentary breakfast was also free, and, yes, you get what you pay for. I thought the latter was borderline inedible (I am admittedly picky)--a little bit dirty in and around the dining area, fresh fruit was not so fresh, coffee grounds in the coffee, etc.

One of the elevators was out of service for upgrades and another elevator was broken by service people loading 6000 lb washing machines in it on the evening of our stay. The staff handled this near calamity with grace by escorting guests into the service elevator.

I was expecting more and got less. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RYKan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean k, Manager at Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We are sorry to hear your stay was not up to standards and that you will not be staying with us again. We are making improvements everyday and we take all guest comments and critiques very seriously. I'm sure that if you were to stay with us again your experience would be much different. Thank you for taking the time to comment and review our hotel. You are helping us improve the quality of stay for everyone who stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here one night while we stayed over in Denver on our way to Colorado Springs -- I found a great deal on Expedia for a pre-booked stay and went into the hotel not really knowing what to expect. First and foremost, it's in a good neighborhood -- Sam's No. 3 is nearby, along with a King Sooper. Our room had a mini-fridge, so you can easily stop at King Sooper and grab any snacks or drinks for your room. The staff was very friendly. Our room was clean and I was quite surprised at its quality -- for less than $100 a night, I didn't expect it to be so sharp looking. Our room was very comfortable and the free breakfast was quite tasty, too -- fresh fruit, eggs, sausage, choice of bagels/toast/english muffins, cereal, and assortments of juice. Loved the free wi-fi AND the free parking. Parking wasn't a problem at all. During our stay, they were remodeling the elevators, so one elevator was out of use. However, we barely had to wait. The staff was right on top of everything -- they noticed that someone had dripped water all the way to the elevator and I heard them immediately comment about it while we walked away from checking in. When we came back down to get our bags not 10 minutes later, the water was cleaned up. My boyfriend and I were quite impressed and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: They have bar soap for the bath, so if you prefer body wash, be sure to pick some up. They also do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sarahsitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean k, Manager at Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

thank you for you your review of our establishment and are glad your stay was great one. We long to serve our guest to the best of our ability and provide the best experience possible. We look forward to seeing you again and once again thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The bad first: awkward entry drive, the rooms are not like the photos...I've stayed in half a dozen Hyatt Places and this is the first one that didn't have a larger room with a divider separating the sitting area from where the bed is...the rooms shown in the professional photos, that's not what the one we stayed in looked like at all...it was a hotel room with a couch, more like a Hyatt room with a Hyatt Place lobby...and no room service. Elevator was broken. The service was not the best...it seemed like the bartender was more concerned with getting a lady a discount on her room than making my drinks...also, that same lady was sitting at the bar drinking a beer out of an open twelve pack she brought in herself. It was little things like that.

The good: Clean, new rooms...breakfast was just what I expected and very good. One thing I've noticed over the past couple of years is that they serve Starbucks at the bar but not at breakfast...just something I've noticed. Large parking lot. There is a drug store across the street and a Whole Foods about a block away. I read an earlier review that said they didn't feel safe...I did not experience that feeling in the least...it's on a busy road, in a busy part of town...but I never felt unsafe...the hotel was filled with families and kids. The Mall is a few minute drive, the Zoo is right up the street...the Botanical Center is a 10-15 minute drive. Downtown is a good 20 minutes...but and easy drive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buck2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean k, Manager at Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Apologize that our host could not get to you right away, we actually do not have a dedicated bartender our hosts do everything from check ins to making/serving food and bartending. it allows our staff to interact with every guest and really get to know them and make them feel at home. So we hope you will return and see us again soon and we do have more people on staff at this time so we are able to be more attentive to guest needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed on a busy weekend in Denver, the rooms were clean and modern. As you enter the hotel you get a light smell in the lobby and you can smell it a little bit stronger in the elevator! It was not over powering, it was pleasant and soft! we asked the attendant what smell it was and he said it was not sure, but it was something like mountain mist. He commented that a lot of people like it. The breakfast room was large and served many delightful items that were pleasing to look at and very good to eat. The whole experience was wonderful and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a window, they have 2 shades one that filters light in the room and the other that darkens t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjgrenchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean k, Manager at Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We are glad to here that you enjoyed your stay with us and regarding that signature scent, if you ask a front desk attendant we have misting bottles of that signature scent for guest to take home. Next time you stay we will get you a mount view, it is a gorgeous view especially in the morning and evening. Thank you and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The room are clean, spacious for their price. I love the bathroom it's big with shower. I like the room interior which is modern with clean design, looks like recently updated. There's free breakfast in the lobby, but too bad there's no room service. But this hotel is in Glendale area, which is very close to Colorado blvd, there's many 24hrs chain restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean k, Manager at Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your staying with us again. Thank you for taking the time to do this review of our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we had safety concerns due to the neighborhood and lack of secure access. This property has Cherry Creek in its name, but it is located in Glendale which seemed much less safe. I would not walk around this area after dark. One of the two elevators was broken our entire stay. The room was reasonably clean and the beds comfortable but the sheets had large holes. The last straw for us was when we attempted to leave the hotel and were told both elevators were broken and we would need to take the stairs from our tenth floor room. At ground level doors were propped open to an alley which was an additional security concern. We have since moved to the Hyatt House in Denver which is under significantly better management.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean k, Manager at Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We apologize that our elevator renovations were a nuisance, but they were not pretty to look at and need to be upgraded. While this was an inconvenience it was necessary and both elevators are back up and running. Also during this time we had a dedicated man escorting people to there rooms through our service elevator. If You were to stay with us again I assure you your experience would be much improved. Again we apologize and hope you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denver
Stapleton
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek

Address: 4150 E Mississippi Ave., Denver, CO 80246-3045 (Formerly Loews Denver Hotel)
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
#15 Green Hotel in Denver
#41 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#49 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £82 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek offers 194 well-appointed guestrooms with 42-inch HDTV, plush Grand Hyatt Bed, and sectional cozy sleeper sofa*Complimentary WI-FI access throughout the hotel*A state-of-the-art fitness center*Complimentary breakfast *1480 square feet of flexible, high tech meeting/function space*24/7 Gallery Menu serving made-to-order entrees and appetizers around the clock*Intimate Bakery Café with Starbucks specialty coffees, premium beers, wines, and cocktails ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Denver/Cherry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Denver
Denver Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing