We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missed the Mark between restored vintage and just plain "old"”
Review of Holiday Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Chalet
Ranked #7 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Missed the Mark between restored vintage and just plain "old"”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband was trying to surprise me with a one night stay at a lovely bed and breakfast. . Unfortunately this is not what happened when we arrived at Holiday Chalet and were forced walk around a line of homeless men with their grocery carts just to get to the front door as they screamed curses across the street at some men who were bunking up on a bench for the evening. The b&bs parking is conveniently shared in the back of a really rough bar and lounge so that you are forced to carry your luggage through the bar parking lot and then through an alley that is almost barred of by a small homeless community that were drunk and irate with each other only to emerge to be greeted by said cursing cart pushers. This was all very disarming for my husband and I as I am 6 months pregnant. The interior was pretty dingy and smelled old and unkept. From the prospective of someone who has been to some out standing vintage b&bs this one fell flat immediately. There is no community sitting area, decor was definitely vintage but either broken unpolished or severely mis matched and mis placed, pets are very welcome. The layout was very crammed and the kitchen area doubles as an eclectic clothing boutique. The rooms were very unsurprising and simple. .. the first one they gave us was down graded from our original purchase without us being informed or discounted and felt like a motel room in a foreign country compete with virtually no decor a ceiling fan from the 80s 10 cent ribbons tying back lace curtains that over looked the back yard and neighbors with NO privacy curtains and an odd waste of space 10x6 back bedroom with a painting of a naked woman on the wall. Needless to say this was unacceptable. . We asked why it wasn't what was in the picture we paid for. . We were informed that our room was down graded because they had given our room to someone else. Uh yeah. So they put us in a "better" room. .. This room at least had a measure of charm but paint was peeling off of the walls Window treatments were barely holding on and the decor didn't know if it wanted to be Victorian or from the 80s. Cobb webs dangled from a beautiful chandelier and the paint was barely applied to the walls. This room also had a microscopic bedroom attached to the main one, mattresses were painfully uncomfortable and there was a single bed right next to our full size mattress taking up all of the floor space. Night time noise was a nightmare. . Every silent shuffle, door slam, toilet flush or screaming sidewalk neighbor resonated through our room. Do not waste your money. ..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jabezmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    63
    30
    22
    19
See reviews for
37
86
34
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We ended up here because of an overbooking at our airport hotel. I mention this, so you understand our frame of mind when we arrived after a long taxi ride. Not happy campers. Even so, we were pleased with the helpful lady at reception who hefted our heavy suitcase up to our second floor room. Under different circumstances, it would have been fun to explore. The neighborhood seemed a bit scary arriving late at night, but the next morning, things seemed fairly normal as we waited for our taxi.

We loved having enough room to spread out our suitcases to re-pack before our international flight the next morning. The kitchen (with coffee maker!) was an unexpected bonus. There were a few pans, utensils and mismatched dishes. Everything was clean, but cosmetic repairs (wallpaper and chipped paint) would make an improvement.

The freshly cooked breakfast was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is our fist experience at a bed and breakfast, and we couldn't have been more happy and content. If you're looking for a resort-type atmosphere, find a resort. This place is historic, quaint, has incredible furnishings and a classic atmosphere whether it be in the rooms, or the hallways, or even on the stair landings, it's hard to take all of the history in on one visit. So...we'll go back! The owner, and personnel are extremely accommodating, and friendly, the breakfast was excellent. The neighborhood surrounding the Holiday Chalet is quite historic and beautiful. Enjoyed walking around. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jophmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This bed and breakfast is charming, clean and friendly and near downtown. There is street parking around the corner. I had far more room than I needed, including a bedroom, a kitchen and a full bath and closet with roll-out bed.
Fellow patrons were interesting breakfast partners. The hotel is located on a main commercial street and I felt secure inside, however I would not wander around Colfax Street late at night alone.
Wifi was sketchy on the third floor, but strong in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Suite with lots of light on third floor has bedroom, bathroom and a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therizuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Crystal, the owner is a delight, as is Mark. Like the review "Think Twice", we were concerned about the area as it is on a noisy street in not a very salubrious part of town. Parking was a block away and not secure. There were a lot of homeless, drunken folk loitering around the liquor store and after the first night we found old needles in the gutter behind our vehicle. Our room was supposed to be quaint and Victorian but was really terribly tired. The bath had a broken plug-hole and a damp, sagging ceiling. Breakfasts were fresh and the table guests entertaining in their alternativeness. If it hadn't been so convenient for our needs and if Crystal hadn't been such a sweetie we would have been out of there like a shot. She dog-sat our pooch when we went to the ball-game for which we were most grateful. I know Crystal can't change the location and it would cost a lot to restore the house to it's original (advertised) Victorian glory so perhaps she could rather advertise it more accurately for what it is - little more than a backpackers' lodge.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street - it's busy and noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyLikesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, CO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

It's difficult to rate this property, because I believe your experience will depend largely on whether you have a room facing extremely noisy Colfax Ave or a room to the rear of the property. My Mom & I stayed in the deluxe suite, which is the only room with 2 beds. Everything was operational & clean - functional, but not pristine. The décor was charming, we loved the sitting room, and our funky kitchenette, but it was hard to enjoy the room due to the traffic noise. I didn't sleep the first night - Colfax has large trucks & constant traffic & people yelling when the bars let out. We considered not staying our planned second night, but breakfast was good, and we met some nice people who were also staying - in rooms at the back of the property- they said they had no noise problem at all. We bought ear plugs & our second night night we entertained ourselves by people watching- there's plenty to watch - out of the sitting room window. With ear plugs, the noise was tolerable, but I wouldn't recommend a Colfax facing room. I think the price is reasonable, and the location is very good for driving to nearby attractions. We felt safe here, and were not bothered by anyone, but do not stay here if you feel uncomfortable sharing the street with homeless folks. This section of Colfax is not a "window shopping" neighborhood, though there are many restaurants within walking distance. We liked Chada Thai at 17th & Race - there are a few other nice eating establishments right on that corner as well.

Room Tip: The 2-bed Deluxe room was charming, but not recommended due to extreme traffic/street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southwestgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Chalet after riding in a Century bike ride in Castle Rock, CO and truly enjoyed our stay. The night we arrived it was getting late, but we were still greeted with a friendly smile and shown to our room. The rooms at the Chalet are very unique because they used to serve as apartments. The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. In the mornings we enjoyed a delicious breakfast and nice conversation with Mark, who prepares the breakfasts at the Inn. I am an avid runner and was able to run in Cheesman Park every morning, which is only a few blocks away from the Holiday Chalet. We truly enjoyed our stay. Thank you Holiday Chalet for a great visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Ramada Denver Downtown
#100 of 157 in Denver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#40 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Chalet

Property: Holiday Chalet
Address: 1820 E Colfax Ave, Denver, CO 80218-2605
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Chalet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a fully-restored Victorian, brownstone mansion originally built in 1896 for prominent Denver jeweler Henry Bohm of Bohm Jewelers. Elegant period décor along with high ceilings, hardwood floors, intricate moldings, private baths and kitchens make us Denver's most alluring and comfortable bed and breakfast. From our eclectic Capitol Hill location visitors enjoy Denver's best sight-seeing, shopping, music, art, and nightlife all within minutes of our front door-the neighborhood described in the Jack Kerouac classic, On the Road. The Holiday Chalet enjoys the benefit of an exciting, high-energy central location within the vibrant heart of the city amid an eclectic mixture of shops, restaurants, and entertainment venues. The creative spirit in our neighborhood appeals to artists, architects, designers, writers and musicians alike. However, enveloping warmth, charm, comfort, and security within the hotel also make The Holiday Chalet a convenient home away from home for business and leisure travelers alike. As a Bed and Breakfast we begin each morning in true style with a full, home-cooked breakfast served from 7:30 to 10:00 am. A variety of delicious homemade offerings are made fresh including Cowboy pancakes, crustless veggie or bacon quiche, French toast, eggs and bacon, fresh fruits, juice, tea, and premium coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Chalet Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing