We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They're doing you a favor by letting you stay there....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #103 of 157 Hotels in Denver
denver
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They're doing you a favor by letting you stay there....”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This seemed to be the predominant attitude during my stay at the 11th avenue hotel. No frills but you are in out of the cold. At 8:00 AM they bang on your door to see if you are staying over for another day even though check-out time isn't until 10:00 AM. I also encountered a someone I thought might well be homeless while using the microwave oven. She told me to "stop whistling" and then called me a "BI@CH" when I refused along with some other choice words. Theres also a night supervisor named Frank that is Barney Fiffe incarnate with the personality of an ashtray. Anyway, for the money you can do much better unless of course you don't mind paying both a key and towell deposit and interacting with recent parolees that get a voucher to stay there. Finally, whatever you do, make sure you have shoes or flip-flops on when you go into the lobby; they come unglued about that too. Even if you get locked out of your room and left the key inside. OMG.... If I could get into my room for shoes, I wouldn't be at the front desk. Also, the TV picture quality sucks! My TV was circa 1974.

Room Tip: If you stay in a room facing Broadway, it can get loud because of several late-night clubs nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 990115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write, even the negative response. I would have liked to speak with you, and your situation while you were here. We don't always have the answers, but we do try. Thank you again. Jim Ilg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    39
    40
    29
    33
See reviews for
7
25
65
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

The staff are not very friendly apart from one of the ladies who work on the desk, the owner was extremely rude and obnoxious. The building is old and not well kept, everything creeks and makes annoying sounds which leads to terrible sleep on old mattresses. Very few amenities, ok location, but won't be back there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brucemarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, even though it is not a real swell one. I apologize that your stay was less than what you expected. Yes we are an older building, we have wood floors that creak, and a whole host of other older items that I feel adds to the charm of an older Hotel. In all the chain hotels that I have stayed in, they are all the same. Bland, and no character. We are trying to be different. I hope that we can learn and grow from this. Jim Ilg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Denver hotels

Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Me and my friends stayed here over new years. It was a dirty establishment that didnt provide any necessities such as hand soap. Had to put a deposit down for towels and keys. The room was dirty and loud from noises coming from inside and outside the hotel. No one got a good rest during our stay. The front desk attendants were incompetent to handle any situation. I would not recommend this place even to the economy traveler.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caitlin726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a response, even a negative one. I am truly sorry for your experience at the 11th Avenue Hotel and Hostel. As a budget Hotel/Hostel we do not provide some things that you may be accustomed to in other places, that in downtown Denver are 200-1000 times more expensive than us. We are a budget Hotel and Hostel in the middle of Downtown and can be noisy since it is Downtown. I like the hustle and bustle of downtown, that may not be some peoples cup of tea. If you could e-mail me the incident that you experienced with the front desk so that we could continue to improve, that would be appreciated. It can be found at 11thavenuehotelandhostel.com. Thank you again for taking the time to write. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

This hostel is in a very good location, close to downtown. The hostel has a good size kitchen, slash common room but unfortunately no oven to cook with. The rooms are spacious and I felt comfortable and safe during my time here. It also has one my favourite groceries close by called Tony's Market, you can also eat there in the evening too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiealexander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you! We are considering expanding our community room, good input. Thank you for writing, and have a good rest of your trip. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed here one night while I was visiting Denver. If you remember that it is a hostel, you won't be disappointed. My room was a private one, and was nice and clean. The bathrooms and showers, which are common, were relatively clean. Bring hand sanitizer or soap, since that is not provided. Tenants are an eclectic bunch. The location is great--just a few blocks south of the capitol and within walking distance of almost anything you would want to see in town. However, it is between two night clubs, which might be a problem if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you for writing, and thank you for reminding others that we are a Hostel/Hotel for the budget minded traveler. We have put soap dispensers in the bathrooms because of suggestions like this from guests. Keep the input coming so that we can continue to improve. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I checked in here for a night while driving across country because I needed a cheap place to rest my head. I figured being a hostel it would be a lot of young travelers like myself. I checked in with no issues, got to my room and the door was blocked... The older woman staying in the room had taken all the chairs and pushed them against the door so no one could enter. Then she moved one of them so I could get in and muttered "this is ridiculous". I was so uncomfortable that I just slept and checked out. The rooms themselves were decent and it was nice that the 4 bed dorm had an ensuite bath/shower. They supply lockers free of charge which was much appreciated. The staff seemed helpful but they need more people on the front desk as I had to wait around 20 minutes to check out.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank bsm1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to help us improve by communicating your experience with us. As you know, because you said that you stayed in a dorm room, the others in the dorm setting have there individuality's that add to the human experience. To expedite the front desk process we have remodeled our lobby and front desk area. Thank you for your valued input. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hathersage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2012

we stayed in a private room in this hostel, with our own bath. It was clean and comfortable, with all the facilities we needed. The price was excellent for a place as close to the town centre as this - we easily walked into the downtown area, and were near to all the things we wanted to see. the staff were very helpful, and overall I would rate it as one of the best hostels we've stayed in. Others have said that it was noisy, but we had a room at the back and did not find this a problem. It was warm, but Denver is warm in august, and we had a portable fan in our room which helped.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you for writing about us. I am glad that you had a nice stay in Denver at our Hotel / Hostel. Yes August can be warm as well as July, as for the rest of the year Denver is usually mild weathered. Thank you for choosing us for your stay. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Ramada Denver Downtown
#105 of 157 in Denver
1,411 reviews
Comfort Inn Denver East
#80 of 157 in Denver
187 reviews
The Timbers Hotel
#107 of 157 in Denver
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#57 of 157 in Denver
1,559 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#78 of 157 in Denver
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel

Property: 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
Address: 1112 N Broadway, Denver, CO 80203-2107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 11th Avenue Hotel and Hostel caters to travelers from every corner of the world. We strive to provide a clean, safe and economical place to to stay while visiting Denver. We offer room types for every traveler. From dormitories to private rooms with shared bathrooms and En Suite rooms for a more traditional hotel experience, we can accommodate you! Traveling with friends? Please ask about our group options. Being within walking distance of everything has it's perks. Let our experienced, knowledgeable staff help you experience all Denver has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
11th Avenue Hotel Denver
11th Avenue Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing