We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose another airport option in Denver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Denver - Airport
Ranked #113 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Choose another airport option in Denver”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Motel 6 is usually a reliable choice, especially in an area you don't know well or if you just need somewhere to sleep before an early flight. As a budget traveler, I often look where Tom Bodett "leaves the light on" for me. But if Tom stayed here, he'd be locked in his room with the blinds drawn. This particular Motel 6 is in a not-so-nice area of Denver and clearly attracts a rough crowd. Since it bills itself as an "airport" motel, it attracts travelers on their way to Denver International, but they find themselves in uneasy coexistence with a distinctly unsavory element. I rarely double-lock motel doors and frequently open windows at night, but when I stayed here with my 14-year-old daughter, I wouldn't let her stay in the car while I went to check in and I made sure our curtains were pulled and our windows and doors locked.

Despite this, the staff was friendly and helpful. We were checked in by a very pleasant woman, though she appeared to be training a young man who might have been hired for his ability to deal with the tougher clientele. The room itself was clean enough and comfortable enough, and the walls were thick enough to keep us from hearing our neighbors. So, our one-night stay was OK.

However, besides the atmosphere, there were many things that were not up to Motel 6 standards. Our room (with two double beds) had two bath mats, three bath towels and no hand towels. There was no shampoo. There was no alarm clock and no wake-up call service. The room was non-smoking and didn't smell, but there were smokers outside all over the property, so the whole place had a smoky feel. We had to pay $3 extra for wireless (within the bounds of Motel 6 policy, but most actually offer free wireless).

I expect to be able to book a Motel 6 anywhere and get a safe, comfortable, family friendly place to stay. This is the most notable exception I've yet seen. And, it's not even all that close to the airport - about 12 miles, no shuttle service. There are several other chain hotels that are closer, and while this might be the cheapest, this is one case where Motel 6 was a mistake.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DesDenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Denver - Airport, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
DezDenz, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced due to the absence of expected amenities, unexpected Wi-Fi rate and your annoyance with some of our smoking guests which led to your unpleasant stay. We take the comfort, safety and security of all of our guests has a high priority and would like you to contact our Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 so that we can have a record of your stay, can better address your concerns and offer improved service to our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    29
    22
    34
See reviews for
26
28
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gypsum, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We thought this would be a good motel because it was on the hospital's list for discounted rates. We were soooo wrong. We saw drug deals happen in the daylight, the non-smoking rooms had ashtrays in them with a sticker on the bottom that said No Smoking...HA! The smoke alarm was even covered in a plastic bag so it wouldn't go off. There were stains on the bedding and we ended up spraying an entire bottle of Febreze just to cover up some of the smell! I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy. We felt extremely unsafe.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Keep in mind, I don't expect 5 star rooms from a Motel 6.

My biggest disappointment was that check in is supposed to be at 3, but due to staffing issues, did not get my room until 7:30. We weren't the only ones waiting.
Also, for a non-smoking room, it had an ashtray in it and it smelled like a smoking room.

Otherwise, it worked for the overnight stay we did, and the kids enjoyed the pool. It also had a refrigerator and microwave, but don't expect a tub, it was just a shower.

Close enough to the airport and other restaurants, if you don't mind driving a few minutes to go get something to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

dirty place, strange people are staying there. If you want to feel unsafe stay there !

Housekeeping is not existing, I had to complaint every night to claim for new towels.

Airco was working sometimes, or too cold or too warm...

Last day we had no water , they had troubles with the water heating system, no discount were offered. We stayed 4 hours in the warm without water (airco was out too) and there was nearly a war in the hotel, we even heard an security alert message through the outside loudspeakers... asking us to stay in the room !!! This is not Denver this is Beyruth !

Room Tip: run away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samu41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a non smoking room since we have a little baby and the room was stinging of smoke and bad bad smell . Beds were very dirty, I belive unchanged, floor was dirtier then the Walmart parking lot ! This is beyond anything you'll ever expect . Don't stay at this motel no metter how much money you think you wanna save, better in a tent somewhere .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flaviuxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon, Nebraska
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This motel is a great place to stay; good location, great rate, and great staff. Room was clean and included a fridge and microwave. On-site security cameras and a caring staff made me feel very secure even though I was staying there alone.
Only downside was the AC was not working very well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadron, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Made the mistake of booking in this motel 6, while the room was clean and staff very friendly the room was beyond needing new paint, the rooms need to be gutted and the area is sketchy at best! We moved to another hotel within hours of arriving, again the staff was friendly but i will never stay in this motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
Comfort Inn
#78 of 156 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Timbers Hotel
#101 of 156 in Denver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Denver International Airport
Days Inn & Suites Denver International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Denver - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Denver - Airport

Property: Motel 6 Denver - Airport
Address: 12020 E 39th Ave., Denver, CO 80239
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Stapleton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Denver - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Denver - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Denver - Airport Hotel Denver
Motel Six Denver
Denver Motel 6
Denver Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing