We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Average Rooms, OK Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Denver
Ranked #55 of 160 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife and I were at this hotel for a romantic getaway and found the some positives about the place. First and foremost, the location can't be beat as it is right next to the 16th street mall and walking distance to all major downtown sights. The lobby is underwhelming and the rooms a little clumsy in terms of layout. For example, the renovations featured an ugly brown color featured in the hallways and doors that just gave the hallways and rooms a dark and dank feel. Then, the bathroom fixtures were awkward as the sinks protruded out making you have to reach over to wash your face and brush teeth, etc. However, on the plus side, the beds were comfortable and the service was OK. Overall, a good value if you can get it on Hotwire or Priceline. Also, the free wi-fi is a good perk. Good solid stay overall.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $30 for the suite upgrade. It comes with another bathroom and living area. It's al...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Raffi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,370 - 1,376 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Terrible... the hotel facilities were nice but they charged us 240 for a room near the convention center new years night. The day we went and checked in the sprung a whole list of extra procedures we needed to follow and agree with or forfeit our room. We had to get wrist bands and register so that only people who are registered can get into the hotel after midnight. I bought the hotel for its location and the fact that we could maybe bring some friends back. We also had to go through 3 different levels of security to get back into the hotel and almost did not get let in because a mix up of wrist bands. This place was awful and I hope everyone sees this and knows it. Two thumbs down.

Room Tip: heard the comfort inn did not pull such things and its only a little bit farther
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPDenver12, Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We were disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay over the New Years holiday. The demand for downtown hotel rooms and extra security measures is unfortunately, necessary to ensure the safety and security of our guests. This is always our number one priority.

Warmest Regards,

The Crowne Plaza Denver Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I was recently in Denver with my son for the Broncos game and stayed at the Crown Plaza Glenarm Place. With Crown Plaza Hotels there is an expectation of what the guest will receive; however the secret of any success is the contribution of the staff. Crown Plaza Denver is blessed with some great team members who made my stay very comfortable and enjoyable. Check in with the front desk Kelly was the best and easiest I have experienced ever. The management should recognise her contribution as the 'face of the hotel'. In fact all the team I engaged with were first class. Also worthy of a special mention was Joe and the entire concierge team who also contributed to making the stay special. My internet booking was very easy and on my arrival was expected, key card ready and the room with the mountain view reserved for me. The room was very very clean and the beds comfortable. I have high expectations and I was very satisfied. My son had a single room which was also very good. Breakfast buffet was perfectly adequate and the serving staff including Patti and Klancy were helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel makes it very easy top access the city centre and the local stores. We had some time and took a trip to Loveland Pass this was arranged by the concierge and was a great afternoon. To sum up a good value hotel with some great staff to make your stay very comfortable. Free internet access in the room was also useful. I have no reservation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are great we were on he 17th floor. Security was good as only those with floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Location, location, location. That's what I look for in a hotel when traveling and this one has it in spades.

It is right in downtown Denver minutes from the convention center and the 16th Street mall. The mall is a big plus with its mix of shops and restaurants from fast food- McDonalds, Subway, Chipotle to mid priced fare like Maggiano's and plenty of local spots, Plus the free shuttle bus that runs the length of the mall makes it easy to get from one end to another in a matter of minutes which can be very helpful during the colder months.

The hotel itself isn't very special from an appearance standpoint and the lobby is very small as it crams in the registration desk, meeting rooms and restaurant and bar into one small floor. The waiting area is close to non-existent so don't count on a lot of seating as compare to other hotels.

I had the good fortune of being upgraded to a suite which was nice but not really necessary since I was traveling alone. Needless to say the room was great with two bathrooms and televisions which I couldn't take full advantage of during my stay.But it was clean and comfortable.

And of course maybe the most important feature is the free wi-fi. Who can live without that these days?

Overall it was a great stay at a great price, just $89 during my stay so it's definitely worth a look if you are traveling to Denver in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4Less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a convention at the Denver Convention Center. It is in a fantastic spot. It literally took me 4 minutes to walk from the lobby of the hotel to the lobby of the convention center. Sure the entrance of the hotel is unappealling, but the gracious staff and comfortable rooms made up for it. I had seen previous complaints about the rooms, but my room on the 16th floor seemed updated. There were nice touches like a bedside kit to make you sleep better, although it was not needed. My room was also closest to the elevator so I was concerned it might be noisy, but it wasn't. The other nice thing is the location, it is in walking distance to all the LoDo restaurants/shops and to the Latimer Square shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudhonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Booked this hotel for a night, as a romantic getaway, but the room looked like something out of the 70s, even tho it was the premier corner suite. living was tiny, with uncomfortable furniture, bed was ok, everything on tv cost money, and parking was outragously expensive. will not rent here again, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sulaiman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPDenver12, Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very sorry that you were not happy with your accomodations. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Warmest Regards,

The Crowne Plaza Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

in mid down town Denver, just 2 minutes walk from 16th street.
very nice stuff, got an upgraded room without even asking....
free connection to the internet which was very helpful for me.
the room was standard and nice.

Room Tip: elevators are quit slow so it is better to choose lower floors maybe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gioraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Downtown
Stapleton
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Denver

Address: 1450 Glenarm Pl, Denver, CO 80202-5030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Denver
#26 Business Hotel in Denver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#38 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £71 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Denver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denver hotel is within walking distance of Denver's downtown attractions Located in the heart of downtown Denver, the Crowne Plaza Denver is the ideal place to base your trip to Colorado's capital. Our Denver hotel was recently renovated to provide you with the most comfortable and convenient stay in the downtown area. Downtown Denver offers many attractions close at hand during your stay. The 16th Street Mall and LoDo, Denver's hip, historic, downtown district, are both just one block from our hotel. Our Denver accommodations are also close to the Denver Museum of Art. Invesco Field at Mile High, the home of the Denver Broncos, is just a few blocks away. Business travelers can enjoy our upscale Denver accommodations and close proximity to several major businesses. The Colorado State Capital, Halliburton and Qwest are all within walking distance of our hotel. The Colorado Convention Center is also only 2 blocks away. Additionally, our Denver hotel offers three floors designed with the business traveler in mind that feature quiet hours and upgraded amenities. Plan a meeting with us at our downtown Denver hotel and take advantage of over 7,000 square feet of meeting space. Our hotel sales team is committed to helping you plan the best possible meeting during your stay. Stay with us in the Mile High City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing