We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location but sink clogged & no sleep!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Denver Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel and location but sink clogged & no sleep!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Spent a ladies' night here (travelled up from Colorado Springs) for the Josh Groban concert at the Pepsi Center (nice short walk away) and was given a gorgeous renovated corner room on the 2nd floor -#216. We liked the fact that only keycard holders can get on the elevators as 16th St Mall does have the odd shady character! Loved the am breafast at The Rialto Cafe...wished we would have had more sleep though! The only two downsides were: the clogged sink in the bathroom (even just simply brushing our teeth was a hassle) and the A/C (although we tried to adjust it a few times) came on with a clang just about once an hour throughout the night! We would definitely stay here again but without the last two major issues!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anndfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceMgr, Hotel Manager at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this candid feedback. I sincerely apologize that you did not get a full and relaxing night of sleep while staying here at the Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown. I have personally spoken with our Chief Engineer to ensure everything is in working order in room 216. I hope that you will come back and enjoy a future stay with us knowing that you will not experience these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    261
    70
    27
    19
See reviews for
122
209
56
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Overall the location of this hotel is great. The building itself is definitely not sound proof. You can easily here people outside the hotel late at night drinking and socializing only to get awaken by the house keeping vacuuming the room the room next store at 7. Ironically maid service neglected our room and we had to call to get more towels. Overall as a platinum marriott rewards member, I was highly disappointed. Oh, and as far as being in a safe area, be prepared for the panhandlers as you walk out of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceMgr, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for posting your candid feedback about your stay. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced. What you are describing is extremely out of the norm as our housekeeping department does not typically start on rooms until well after 8am and I'm unsure as to why your room was not serviced. While we are located in a safe area, I am excited to share that two additional full time police officers have been hired in Downtown Denver to focus their time specifically on the 16th Street Mall.

We absolutely value your loyalty as a Platinum Elite Marriott Rewards member and I want to ensure these issues do not happen again. Please contact me personally at your earliest convenience so that we can discuss your past visit and hopefully plan your next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Granby
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have stayed in two adjoining rooms for the past 4 summers on our way into or out of Denver for summer vacation. The Courtyard is very convenient for exploring downtown Denver. The hotel overlooks the 16th Street pedestrian walk. You have to pay for parking, but it is safe, off-street private lot. Staff has been friendly and helpful. Our car was warmed up and waiting for a 0400 departure to airport. Rooms are big, recently updated, and clean. Good Indian restaurant and breakfast/diner just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottEmmaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceMgr, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott and for sharing these comments about your stay. I'm so glad we have been able to accommodate your request for adjoining rooms each time you have stayed with us. Denver is such a beautiful city to explore and I'm delighted you were able to take advantage of your time here. We hope to see you again during your next summer vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed during the 4th of July weekend. This was a great place and we were very happy with the accommodations and service. There was a little something for all the family. The rooms were clean and roomy. We had a great view of the 16th street mall. The kids were able to wander about on their own. There was plenty of security on the mall. We were surprised to find an outdoor movie viewing behind the clock tower. Families were sitting in lawn chairs and blankets watching a movie on a big TV screen. In the warm summer evening it was wonderful. There are plenty of restaurants and shops for whatever you may need or feel like enjoying. There was a small mall toward one end and a theater. Coors Field is within walking distance. All the other amenities mentioned by other reviews are there and very convenient. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Denver.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fr8ndly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceMgr, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thank you for sharing comments about your recent stay over the holiday weekend. The Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown has so much to offer our guests traveling with families. If you ask our guest service team, they can provide parents with a list of kid-friendly restaurants and activities within walking distance of our hotel. We also have board games available to borrow in the hotel lobby. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Positioned on the 16th Street Mall, the Courtyard Marriott is in a great central downtown location. Rooms are basic but the bed quality/sleep was excellent. Flat screen TV. Bathrooms are tidy and functional. Lobby provides complimentary coffee in mornings. Starbucks also adjoins hotel, as does a popular local restaurant (great for weekend brunch).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MangoRacin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceMgr, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown. The popular local restaurant you are referring to is the Rialto Café. In addition to their weekend brunch, they serve an excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here on our way out to Manitou Springs. We had a toddler in tow and could only reserve a small room. We borrowed a pack in play, which was well stocked with sheets and blankets. This would be a safety hazzard if we were traveling with an infant, but our one year old tried her best. Unfortunatly, we were located just outside the elevator and many guests were noisy. The hotel room itself was spacious considering and clean. The hotel restaurant has great food!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StinkyPeteOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceMgr, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thank you for providing this feedback to us. I sincerely apologize that being located near our elevator caused so much noise for you and your toddler. I hope this did not cause you to lose any sleep while you were here. Please contact me directly the next time you come to Denver and I will gladly assist you with your reservation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We celebrated a friend coming home from Afghanistan. We got an amazing room and great service. It was a great stay. The second time we have stayed there. If looking for a hotel in downtown Denver I would tell you to pick this one hands down. Best hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceMgr, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and share this wonderful feedback. What your friend is doing oversees in the military is both brave and very much appreciated and it is our pleasure to provide both you and your friend with the "best hotel experience". We hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Central Business District
Aloft Denver Downtown
Aloft Denver Downtown
#50 of 154 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Denver Downtown

Property: Courtyard Denver Downtown
Address: 934 16th St., Denver, CO 80011
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Denver
#16 Family Hotel in Denver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#35 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Denver Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique-style Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown hotel is ideally located on the famed 16th Street Mall, just 4 blocks from the Colorado Convention Center and close to the best restaurants, attractions and shopping in the city. Visit the Pepsi Center, Coors Field, Larimer Square, Denver Pavilions and the Denver Center for the Performing Arts. Our Denver downtown hotel's stylish rooms and suites feature first-rate amenities, including luxury bedding, microwave, and mini refrigerator. We are housed in a beautifully renovated historic building, and offer distinguished meeting space ideal for corporate gatherings. Guests are invited to enjoy our fitness and business centers, and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Be sure to visit our on-site restaurant, Rialto Cafe, offering award-winning cuisine. The Courtyard Denver Downtown hotel delivers comfort, convenience and style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Denver Courtyard
Denver Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing