We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property on the 16h Street Mall, Starbucks opens at 5am”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Ranked #57 of 158 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 July 2008

The Courtyard was great. It was the only downtown hotel that would do a "walk in" (I didn't want to make a reservation) and quoted me a great walk-in rate ($109 after the 4th of July holiday--a weekend rate on a Sunday night). I was worried about the noise from the 16th Street Mall but got a quiet room facing the other direction. Room was spotless and in working order. One cup coffee machine an annoyance (can't they limit these machines to the Motel 6?). Staff was friendly and told me where everything was. Starbucks in the lobby opened at 6am,Peets Coffee 4 blocks away. Restaurant in the lobby was so-so but had a great happy hour. In short, despite some of the negative reviews, the property exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Denver Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2008

Just returned from staying at this hotel for 4 nights. My brother chose the hotel and reserved a block of rooms for his wedding party. The hotel is quite nicely finished inside and out. Rooms were average size but felt larger due to tall ceilings. Staff was very pleasant and accomodated any request, especially the valets. A word of warning for light sleepers - if you expect a quiet room make sure to book a high floor on the back side of the building away from the 16th Street Mall. Also, the walls seemed very thin as we could hear any conversations, tv, radio, etc. from the adjacent rooms. Other than that, everything was great. Location was very convenient to anything downtown. I would certainly stay again (in a quieter room location).

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kramerwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

I stayed at the Courtyard for two nights on business. Great location. Able to catch the free bus from the corner. Front desk was friendly offering bottled water upon arrival. Quick check in. Needed to use the room key to access the elevator. Asked for a refrigerator in my room. Went out to lunch and had to call for the refrigerator to be delivered again. It arrived within 5 minutes. Great workout room, with the latest equipment (treadmills with tvs, bikes with tv, etc)

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

The Courtyard Denver Downtown is located in a great area – directly on the 16th Street Mall. An important part of staying in Denver is being centrally located and this is a good spot. Besides the location, the hotel is located in a historic building and is part of Denver’s history. The staff and service they provided was overall very good – we were treated nicely and made to feel welcome upon our arrival. The rooms are fairly standard – if you’re looking for a plush 4-star hotel room, this isn’t your place, but if you’re looking for nice, clean accommodations, then this will be perfect. They have a business center room that may be accessed by any hotel guest and I found this to be a great amenity. My only problem with the hotel is the fact that many of the rooms are inside the hotel building itself and therefore some of the hotel room windows look out onto the inside of the hotel rather than outside – just be sure to ask for a hotel room that faces the outside of the building rather than one that faces the inside of the building (you won’t get any natural sunlight).

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JetSetKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

got a good deal on stay, but was surprised by daily valet fee of $20. very close to all sporting events in denver. right on 16th street mall. lots of restaurants within walking distance. you can take the free mall shuttle up and down 16th street. But did not expect to pay $20 a day to park my car. I did not drive my car at all during my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2008

I am spending my last of 3 nights at this property. I had originally been booked for 4 nights at a rate of $179/night, I had to change my arrival date by 1 day and I was stuck with some sort of Junior Suite at $289/night. I was annoyed as it was a huge price difference for one less night-Iwasn't adding nights. And I didn't need a 2 room suite for 1 person. So however, I need to rate my experience based on $289 a night.

I didn't use the sitting room at all, but there was a second bathroom off it which if I were with family would have been great. The king size bed was comfy and I like that the internet hookup was close to the bed so I could sit there and work rather than at the desk.

Fresh chocolate chip cookies available each night at the front desk were nice, as was complimentary hot beverages each morning from 6am-10am.

Location as described by others was great. I loved being on the 16th Street Mall and went from one end to the other. I never felt unsafe as a woman alone and walked around in daylight and night. It is a very crowded area and many singles were around.

For the negatives, for nearly $300 per night I thought that the hotel info binder in the room should be clean and free of the previous guests food and candy debris (it was not). The coffee cups for the in room coffee maker were stained and chipped. The TV Cable lacked many channels that I consider basic-Bravo, Food Network, Comedy Central etc. 1 remote for 2 tvs (I didn't need two, but had I...), the tub had a broken drain cover so you had to adjust it to keep the tub from filling with water during your shower. As you can see all managable but you can't charge that price without fixing those things. Lastly, the hot tub and excercise room is being renovated but no word of that on their website. I found out after toting my workout clothes and swimsuit for no reason upon checkin. That was disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sdsansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2008

A meeting at the hotel was the reason I chose it, and I'm very pleased our meeting planner selected this hotel. Its location on downtown Denver's 16th Street Mall means that there's easy access to shops (including a branch of Denver's famous Tattered Cover bookstore and a Virgin music store) and restaurants. Free buses run up and down the mall so frequently that (at least when I was there) the wait for a bus seemed shorter than the wait for an elevator in some hotels.

I had arrived by train. The Amtrak station is near one end of the mall. So I wound up walking back from the hotel to the train station (a considerably shorter hotel-to-transit terminal distance than I would have experienced if I had needed to get to the Denver airport).

The hotel itself was typical of a Courtyard by Marriott, for the most part. The staff's attentive service was exceptionally impressive--and made me feel almost as if I were in a boutique hotel. In fixing an error on my bill, they were very prompt and sympathetic. When I picked up luggage I had stored prior to checkout, they made me feel truly like a "guest," not just a customer.

Not everyone may care for this hotel, though. I had a room with a view of an interior atrium, and some may insist on rooms with outside views. To access the public restrooms near our meeting room, we needed to use a key card. Looking at some of the people outside the hotel, I wondered if there might be a homeless population in downtown Denver that the key card requirement is designed to exclude. However, I generally felt safe in the neighborhood; and one of the women in our group did explore the neighborhood (in the daylight) on her own. The hotel is not far from the convention center and the art museum; so there is more than just a shopping/eating district.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidwestBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Central Business District
Aloft Denver Downtown
Aloft Denver Downtown
#43 of 158 in Denver
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Denver Downtown

Address: 934 16th St., Denver, CO 80011
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Denver
#16 Family Hotel in Denver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#35 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: £99 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Denver Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique-style Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown hotel is ideally located on the famed 16th Street Mall, just 4 blocks from the Colorado Convention Center and close to the best restaurants, attractions and shopping in the city. Visit the Pepsi Center, Coors Field, Larimer Square, Denver Pavilions and the Denver Center for the Performing Arts. Our Denver downtown hotel's stylish rooms and suites feature first-rate amenities, including luxury bedding, microwave, and mini refrigerator. We are housed in a beautifully renovated historic building, and offer distinguished meeting space ideal for corporate gatherings. Guests are invited to enjoy our fitness and business centers, and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Be sure to visit our on-site restaurant, Rialto Cafe, offering award-winning cuisine. The Courtyard Denver Downtown hotel delivers comfort, convenience and style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Denver Marriott
Denver Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing