We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - No Cell Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Ranked #56 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location - No Cell Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in Denver for 3 nights in May 2014. The hotel is very conveniently located on the downtown mall, near the convention center, State Capitol, transportation, and businesses. We were blown away by the friendly, attentive service from the desk staff. It's a great choice for business travelers. We'll definitely stay again.

Amenities: The internet connection was lightning fast - even watching videos. The onsite restaurant was convenient, well-priced, and served great food. The free coffee each morning was a nice addition, but you also have Starbucks and Caribou Coffee directly next door. Free valet parking was a nice touch.

Rooms: The rooms were shockingly well appointed, compared to my past Courtyard experiences. High ceilings, tasteful art, and very comfortable beds. There was plenty of work space for business travelers. One downside was the complete lack of cell service in my room (303 - I have AT&T) which sent me scrambling to the lobby to make any calls or receive texts.

Room Tip: If you're an AT&T customer, prepare to be without cell service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abby2992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Guest Services Representative at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in Downtown Denver. Being in a historic building we have the luxury of being able to breaking away from the traditional and new Courtyard designs and provide our guests with a unique boutique hotel experience. It pleases us to know that our rooms surpassed your expectations.

We also appreciate your kind words about our staff. Here at the Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown we do our utmost to provide our guests with exceptional service. It is wonderful to hear that we blew you away.

We look forward to accommodating you again the next time you are in Denver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    261
    72
    27
    19
See reviews for
122
209
56
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were a little dubious about the Courtyard by Marriott brand......but what a surprise!

The hotel is in an old building but once inside your room you would never know it. Good spacious rooms, very clean and the beds were super comfortable.

A bonus was the Paul Mitchell amenities in the bathroom, and for a change there were plenty of towels.

The location is great, walking distance to the shopping area and restaurants.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiWanderlust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Guest Services Representative at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you has such a wonderful experience and that we surpassed your expectation. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Denver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I love staying in this Courtyard. It is one of the best in the country. The service is outstanding, the location is perfect and I always get a great view. Everything you could want or need is within walking distance and the gym is one of the best I have seen in a hotel. ALWAYS enjoy my stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Guest Services Representative at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with exceptional service and we are so pleased that we continue to exceed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Denver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I usually stay at other chains but all were booked for a last min trip. I booked at the CY and was pleasantly surprised by the quietness of the hotel. I also had a large balcony facing the clock tower, amazing perk at sunset. Rooms are very clean. The hotel is old but very well maintained for its size. Rooms service was good, hot and fresh. I enjoyed the parking situation so many people have mentioned. It's a one way in and out lot. So no stragglers wandering around. Safe place. The front desk staff was accommodating to my ten suite cases arriving with me. They found me A bellman (engineer on property, very kind young man) helped haul all my things up with a smile. I later found out luggage service isn't really offered. Lol. Great stay and I will return because of the service and quality of room offered. Great price for being downtown and near everything.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dgojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Guest Services Representative at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind words. As you mentioned, we truly are located in one of the best areas of time city. With the 16th Street Mall right out our front door guests have the whole city is at their figure tips. While we are not a full service property we do try our best to accommodate guests specific needs to the best of our ability, as you experienced with our engineer assisting you with your luggage. We hope that your experience with us has changed your mind about the Courtyard brand and that the next time you are in downtown Denver you will once again book your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed here recently as I had business at the conference centre which was an easy walk from the hotel. Check in was quick and friendly and the room had everything I needed for a comfortable stay.The free wi-fi was fast and easy to access. The room that I had actually looked into the lobby of the hotel, but this wasn't a problem at all, and it was very quiet for the whole stay.
Being a central downtown location there were lots of places to eat within easy walking distance but I had one evening meal and several breakfasts at the restaurant which is annexed on to the hotel. Food was OK, service very patchy (cold food, order wrong) and slow and I can't say I'd recommend this venue. The breakfast was order off the menu only which I don't like...I want to decide my own portions and get food when I want it. that said, I'd be quite happy to stay here again - just be aware that the final bill has state taxes and other taxes added to the price that they tell you at check-in - seems a bit misleading not to tell the customer what the cost of the stay is actually going to come to.

Green Features: Marriott proclaim they are concerned about the environment, but the shower strength cannot be controlled and ran like the Niagara Falls...the water used during a short shower was astounding
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Guest Services Representative at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are grateful for your kind words about our services. We pride ourselves at providing our guests with exceptional service and we are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations. With that being said, we do apologize that your experience in the Rialto Café was not satisfactory. Additionally, we appreciate you bring to our attention the issue with the showers. This information with be passed on to our engineering department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was my third time staying at this property and it is great. The location is prime, close to the Denver arts center, Larmier St. and shopping. It is on 16th Street Mall. The hotel is surprisingly quiet. I have really enjoyed the time I have stayed here.

Room Tip: Room that overlooks the 16th Street Mall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4heffdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Guest Services Representative at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us so much that you keep coming back. We truly appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The front desk staff and lobby layout make this hotel very warm and inviting. The room was clean but the view was of the parking lot. Be sure to ask for a room that overlooks 16th Street Mall. The hotel location is great. You can walk all over downtown Denver from the state capital to lower downtown. There's so much to see and do in this area. I highly recommend this hotel to guests that want to stay in the heart of downtown Denver.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the 16th Street Mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia_TravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Manager at Courtyard Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time you are in Denver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Central Business District
Aloft Denver Downtown
Aloft Denver Downtown
#49 of 156 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#57 of 156 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Denver Downtown

Property: Courtyard Denver Downtown
Address: 934 16th St., Denver, CO 80011
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Denver
#16 Family Hotel in Denver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#35 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Denver Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique-style Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown hotel is ideally located on the famed 16th Street Mall, just 4 blocks from the Colorado Convention Center and close to the best restaurants, attractions and shopping in the city. Visit the Pepsi Center, Coors Field, Larimer Square, Denver Pavilions and the Denver Center for the Performing Arts. Our Denver downtown hotel's stylish rooms and suites feature first-rate amenities, including luxury bedding, microwave, and mini refrigerator. We are housed in a beautifully renovated historic building, and offer distinguished meeting space ideal for corporate gatherings. Guests are invited to enjoy our fitness and business centers, and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Be sure to visit our on-site restaurant, Rialto Cafe, offering award-winning cuisine. The Courtyard Denver Downtown hotel delivers comfort, convenience and style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Denver Courtyard
Denver Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing