We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Denver Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Denver Downtown
Ranked #68 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I will start this review by saying I stayed here in March and had a very pleasant stay. This hotel is great for families. They have 2 bedroom loft type "apartments" that work very well for my family because we have 2 small children. We are able to put them in the bedroom and close the door so it is quiet enough for them to go to sleep without us having to tiptoe around and whisper. However, this stay was very disappointing. As we walked into the room, the first thing we noticed was the overwhelming cigarette smell. We called the front desk to report it and we were not offered another room or any type of compensation. Right by the base of the stairs there was a large dried up spill on the carpet. It looked like something that could have easily cleaned and certainly should have. Another disturbing item we found was dried up toothpaste on the sink. This leads me to believe that the room was not cleaned at all. Dried up white toothpaste on grey marble is pretty easy to see and I don't know how it was missed.

On another note, the breakfast was very good. This is not one of those nasty dry muffin and juice continental breakfasts. They had real hot food: waffles, eggs, potatoes, southwestern hash, etc.

Bottom line, for the price we paid ($320 for one night) I expect a clean room and I am sure I can find a better hotel next time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DCoe33364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey W, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
DCoe33364,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay. We are constantly looking to improve our hotel and hearing feedback from our guests is essential to our improvement process. We apologize for the issues that you experienced and we will work very hard to prevent them from occurring again. As you mentioned you had a pleasant stay with us earlier this year and I can assure you that your experience this time around is not typical of our hotel. We hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you again, I guarantee you you will not be disappointed again. I have reached out to you via your personal email and I hope to hear from you soon. I want to make sure that we do everything possible to let you know we value you as a customer and that we want to see you again.

Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to improve!
Casey and the Residence Inn Denver Downtown Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    169
    48
    31
    18
See reviews for
153
92
18
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Allis, Wi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here from Sept 15-20, 2013. Originally we had a lower room, but the carpeting had just been cleaned and it was very damp, so we asked to switch rooms. We ended up getting a dry, upstairs room which was very nice. The room was spacious and clean. Bed was very comfortable. We had no problems with the tv or wi-fi, both worked well. The breakfast was awesome, they had a lot of choices, so we didn't have to have the same thing twice in our 5 day stay. The fitness center was good, pretty much the same as any other hotel, but more space. The location was very convenient to the freeway or traveling downtown by car. We walked to a Rockies game one night, but to walk downtown (Capitol, 16 Mile Mall) would have been a little too far. The neighborhood was decent, we did not feel weird or scared walking around. There was construction going on across the street and another project was going on behind the hotel, so there was quite a bit of noise after about 7am until about 6 at night, so if you plan on staying in your room during the day the noise could get irritating. There was plenty of parking and the staff was very pleasant. We only had 2 little snafu's during our stay. The first 2 days we put out the "privacy please" magnet on our door. Each of those days we had a note left on the door that housekeeping came but did not enter. The third day we wanted our room cleaned, removed the magnet, but it was not cleaned and no note was left, so we had to call to get new towels. I mentioned that we wanted out room cleaned and housekeeping didn't come, but that was never really addressed. The rest of the days we kept up the privacy sign, since all we really needed was towels. The other small disappointment was that even though they have a full kitchen with a stove, there were no pans to put in the oven, like baking sheets. There were a few pots for stove top cooking though. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superf1y5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey W, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Superf1y5,
Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy that you had a great stay with us and that you were able to enjoy all that Denver has to offer. We will work hard to ensure the housekeeping issues that you experienced do not happen again. We are constantly replacing our kitchen goods and have just completed out fall refresh, so all of our rooms have received the needed supplies so our guests can fully use our large kitchens to the fullest. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Denver!

Thank you again and have a great week!
Casey and the Residence Inn Denver Downtown Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I travel an average of 40 weeks a year all around the world on business. I need internet! The internet connection in my room is absolutely terrible! I have had better internet in hotels in remote towns in Japan! By far the worst internet of any hotel I have stayed in the past several years. I have been here for 2 weeks. I have to go to the lobby to get it to work properly. GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER Denver Marriott! - DL

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey W, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Douglas L,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize about the issues you experienced with our internet service during your stay. We know how important internet access is to all of our guests and because of that we are always trying to improve the service at our hotel. We have recently added extra bandwidth to our system and are currently in the process of upgrading our wireless access points in all of our buildings. It is our goal to ensure all of our guests can have an enjoyable and productive stay. Hopefully the investments we are making in our internet will prevent any issues like yours from occurring in the future. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay.

Safe travels,
Casey and the entire Residence Inn Denver Downtown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We are in and out of Denver quite a bit. After being horribly disappointed with the Marriott property in Cherry Creek on our last visit we decided to give the Residence Inn a try. What a delightful surprise! The suite was quite large with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths a living room complete with fireplace and a kitchen. The kitchen was modern and clean. Appliances spotless. Plenty of towels and maid service every day. They even offered free hot breakfast everyday, which I should also mention had a different menu each day. I believe they had daily happy hour, too, but we were never there for that. The facility also had a swimming pool and laundry. Just having the extra space during our visit and a nice hot breakfast made the experience just delightful. Would highly recommend this Marriott property!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vheckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey W, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Vheckler,
We are so happy that you gave us the opportunity to host you on your recent trip to Denver. I apologize that the other Marriott property did not live up to your expectations. At the Residence Inn Denver Downtown we do have several features that the other properties in Denver do not. We have some of the largest rooms in Denver and we feature the best kitchen set up of any property in the downtown area. Our breakfast and happy hour receptions are also great for any traveler looking for some dinner and a complimentary glass of beer or wine. Thank you again for the great review and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Denver.

Safe Travels,
Casey and the entire Residence Inn Denver Downtown Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our way to Breckenridge the studio room was of a good size and the facilities were modern comfortable and included a good sized kitchen with all the materials you would require. The bed was exceptional for comfort. I want one ! There is a small pool on site and barbecue equipment adjacent to the apartments. The inclusive breakfast had both hot and cold fare which was of good quality. The staff were all friendly and welcoming as well as helpful. There is a shuttle which will take you and return to down town Denver which was easy to recall and ideal. We will definitely use them again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey W, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
sea k,
Thank you so much for your great review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that your time in Breckenridge was great too! Knowing that you slept great on the Sealy Posturepedic mattress in your room, means that we accomplished our goal of providing you with a comfortable stay. The Residence Inn Denver Downtown is a great stopping point for any traveler coming to Colorado to visit the high mountain towns It does take a bit of time to adjust to the high altitude and many doctors recommend that travelers from lower elevations go through the process gradually. We wish you many safe travels and we hope to see you again in the future!

Casey and the entire Residence Inn Denver Downtown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
98 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very nice suites, spacious (with a mezzanine), clean, kitchen, big fridge with ice maker, free wifi, easy parking ...

The breakfast room is, by far, too small with an under staffed team. Not a pleasant experience.

This Residence Inn is located at more than a mile from “Downtown”. A shuttle is available, but it’s not really convenient (and certainly not to come back).

Don’t forget to try the “Little Man Ice Cream” at 0.5 mile.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Citrouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey W, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Citrouille,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Residence Inn Denver Downtown. I am glad that you enjoyed the overall experience and that we were able to provide you with a clean room and a good night's sleep. We are always looking to improve our hotel and services, so thank you for letting us know where we fell short during your stay. Please know that we will work very hard to fix the service issues that you mentioned.

Here is to many more happy and safe travels. Thank you again!
Casey and the entire Residence Inn Denver Downtown Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our room at the Residence Inn was the perfect size for our group of three. The bath was large with the mirror area outside the shower/toilet space- I prefer that so someone can be using the mirror while someone else showers. The kitchen was nice so we could prepare a lot of our own meals. Breakfast selection was good. There was a small porch outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyValentine2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey W, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
MyValentine2004,
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Denver Downtown! Your review is amazing and I love that you posted pictures of our property. We especially appreciate your review because you are a very experienced traveler, who has seen a lot of different hotels. For us to be ranked so highly by you is a great accomplishment. Our property is great for anyone looking to explore Denver and the surrounding areas. The fact that you were able to take advantage of our kitchen is great to hear, and I am sure it helped you save some money too. We hope to see you again!

Thanks again,
Casey and the entire Residence Inn Denver Downtown team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Highland
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver-Speer Boulevard
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Denver Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Denver Downtown
Address: 2777 Zuni St., Denver, CO 80211
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Highland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#40 Family Hotel in Denver
#42 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Denver Downtown hotel is a residential style apartment hotel located at I-25 and Speer in metropolitan Denver. Our spacious suites feature a fully equipped kitchen, living area with sofa, and an ergonomic desk and chair. All guests are treated to a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, social hour Mon-Wed, and wireless high-speed Internet access. The hotel is close to all of Denver's major league sports venues-Invesco Field, Pepsi Center and Coors Field-just a short complimentary shuttle ride away. The Colorado Convention Center is 1.5 miles away. The University of Colorado at Denver, Metro State and Regis University are nearby. Cultural attractions near the hotel include Denver Art Museum, Denver Performing Arts Center, Downtown Aquarium, and Children's Museum of Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Denver Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing